We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Absolute Nightmare: AVOID!”
Review of Hostal Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Antares
Ranked #39 of 97 Granada B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Absolute Nightmare: AVOID!”
Reviewed 7 January 2009

After seeing positive reviews here and in Let's Go Spain and Portugal 2007, I booked a room at the Hostal Antares for two nights in Granada. I was hoping to find a cheap, basic, private hostal room for our stay....
When we arrived, I noticed that the comforter was COVERED with HAIR! I pulled it back hoping that the other layers would be cleaner, but each layer (3 blankets and 2 sheets) were filled with hair (from all parts of the body). I talked to the owner and asked him for new sheets. He went and got a new set, but they were completely full of hairs as well. He started cursing and explained that they had a new cleaning lady who had only been working there for two days and that he was going fire her immediately. He left for a while and came back fuming...He said that he looked through ALL the sheets and blankets and they were ALL FULL OF HAIR! He gave us new sheets out of a plastic bag, but didn't have clean blankets (SO WE HAD TO USE THE HAIRY ONES). He also explained that he had just called the cleaning lady to fire her (which made me feel really uncomfortable! If it were me, I would have talked with her and given her another chance...And although I respect his decision to run his business as he chooses, I don't want to feel responsible for someone losing their job while I'm trying to enjoy my vacation). After giving us the new sheets, he did not even offer to help us make the bed! He just left!

(Also, there were only two other guests in the hostal. I find it hard to believe that the cleaning woman who had been there for two days had washed all of the sheets in a near-empty hostal! In other words, I think the dirtiness goes back farther than her employment.)

Aside from not feeling relaxed in our dirty room with dirty blankets that we tried not to touch, there are a few other terrible things about this hostal:
1. The heater is automatic (controlled by the owner), which means that it is turned on at 10pm (not sooner) and was turned off around 5 am. Personally, I like to turn on the heat when I'm cold, when I'm going to take a shower, etc., which did not fall within his hours of usage.
2. The SHOWERS were ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING. There were two on the floor where we stayed (1st). In one, the piece holding up the shower head was broken, so it pointed directly at the wall and could not be moved. In the other, there were INSECT EGGS!
3. We happened to be alone on our floor, but when he came in and out, it echoed a lot. I can only imagine the noise level if there were more guests!

Really, really, really, DON'T STAY AT THIS HOSTAL! IT'S AWFUL!

  • Disliked — EVERYTHING! THE HAIRS IN THE SHEETS AND BLANKETS! THE DISGUSTING SHOWERS!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    38
    17
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
49
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

We stayed in the Hostal Antares because it was in a nice location and it was a lot cheaper than other hotels in the same location, and it had a private bathroom for 40€ a night.
Indeed, it has an excellent location close to the Moroccan street (full of little shops and nice coffee shops), close to the main plaza, and close to nice neighborhoods that have good views of the Alhambra.
Our room, in a 9th floor with no elevator, was small. The TV didn't work and the bed sheets were not clean. But they changed them.
Overall, for the price and location, I think I would stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esportarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Antares location is excellent, right in the center, close to the cathedral and the Alhambra bus stop. Also the airport bus stop is only a few meters away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are perfectly okay and clean. Only at night it can be pretty noisy. For 5 Euros extra you can have air condition.

  • Liked — staff, room, location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank goffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2006

This hostal is central to all tourist attractions in Granada. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and inexpensive.The Salinas restaurant nearby is one of the few which prohibits smoking.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fleur46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2004

The best thing about Hostal Antares were the tapas across the street at La Nueva Bodega. But the place was fine. The room was clean and the staff, they seemed like college students, were very helpful and accommodating.

It is near Plaza Nueva, with the buses to Alhambra and excellent sidewalk cafes.

Helpful?
10 Thank avramk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#18 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Hostal AB
#71 of 97 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#13 of 97 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Al-Andalus Hostel
Al-Andalus Hostel
#59 of 139 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 97 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
#42 of 139 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Antares? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Antares

Property: Hostal Antares
Address: Calle Cetti Meriem 10, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,810 - ₹ 4,635
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Antares 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal in the best situation, Elvira Street, very near to Alhambra, Albaizin, Plaza Nueva and the Cathedral in the historic center of the town, very lightly rooms with complete bathroom, heater, air conditioner optional, TV, internet Wi-fi and microwave-free area. The Property is situated in the very heart of Historic Town, in front of the district of Tearooms (La Caldereria) and area of Tapas, near to the Alhambra. We've arranged parking 15 euros for day. Advise about arrival time. Reception O8:30 / 22:30 hours. ( No curfew ) Check-in 13:00 // 22:30h. Check-out 12:00 Credit Card Facilities. If you are coming by car, you have to take entry Mendez Nunez to Gran Via- Cathedral. From the Airport you can take the bus just for 3 and getting off close to the Cathedral, From Bus Station: take bus number 3-33 to centro-Cathedral Train Station: take the bus number 4/6/9/11 to Cathedral stop. We are reachable with urban buses, taxis, train stations, right beside the cathedral. The outstanding amount is payable to the property directly upon your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing