We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Ranked #7 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel in Granada”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

On a recent visit to Granada, my husband and I stayed at Casa del Aljarife in the Albaicin, old Arab quarter, of the city. You need to be a walker to stay in this part of town because most of the streets are hilly, cobblestoned and not wide enough for a car, but that's the charm of it. Casa del Aljarife is a small hotel whose lively, energetic owner Christian Mock, made us feel at home and was happy to share his knowledge of Granada with us. Our room, #3, was on the top floor with beamed ceiling and windows on two sides, providing light, fresh air and a view of the Alhambra. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortably and simply furnished and was big enough to use as a sitting room for reading and relaxing. The house also has a lovely courtyard garden. The immediate neighborhood has several little restaurants, a coffee shop and even a couple of tiny 25-seat local music venues. It is possible to get a sense of the neighborhood and its residents, a more personal experience than staying at a traditional tourist hotel. Christian invited us on a sunset hike one evening through the Sacromonte barrio where many houses and restaurants are partially caves dug into the hillside, and where a number of gypsy flamenco venues are located.
We loved staying at Casa del Aljarife, and would unequivocally recommend it.

Room Tip: Room #3 is spacious, airy, and has a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodBruja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    26
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Charming, spotless and beautifully decorated B & B tucked away in the heart of Albaicin. The host, Mr. Most, went out of his way to find us when we arrived in Granada, then assisted parking the car. He recommended local tapas bars & restaurants. He was a very knowledgable & helpful man. Breakfast was delicious and the terrace was beautifully cared for. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation in a fascinating part of Granada, just a 5 minute walk to the cathedral . Superb.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Alhambra. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainloverCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I and our two adult sons stayed here for one night. We had a suite with 2 rooms and one full and one half bath. The rooms were very spacious and had plenty of charm. We found everything to be clean and were happy with the location although lugging our suitcases up the cobblestone path to get there was a little bit of a challenge. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHCTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My family and I stayed here in June 2011, and would definitely return. The proprietor, Mr. Most, is incredibly helpful and accommodating. We really enjoyed talking with him and being his guests. When we arrived, he kindly met us in the easy-to-find Plaza Nueva and guided us to his secure parking space. Then, he helped carry our bags to the hotel. He gave us great restaurant recommendations and site-seeing advice, and served nice breakfasts in the mornings, at whatever time we chose. We stayed in the Senior Suite, which included a spacious bedroom with a king-size bed and A/C, plus another large room with two twin beds at one end and two sofas, a TV and fireplace at the other end, plus 1.5 baths. The whole suite was very clean and comfortable. The only negative was that it did get a little warm in the larger room because there was no A/C there, but Mr. Most did supply a fan. We very pleased to find a computer in the lobby area with free Internet for guests, and a nice enclosed patio where we enjoyed our breakfasts. All in all, it was a nice place to stay in an interesting, colorful part of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSFJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Stayed for two nights during recent vacation trip to Spain. We booked the junior suite, which was very nice. After having driven a rental car in Southern Spain for a few days, I was not looking forward to finding the owner's "difficult to find" parking space, so I opted for a more convenient parking garage a further distance away that he recommended on his website. I called Mr. Most for directrions after exiting the car park in the rain and he proceeded to yell at me for not following his directions. Once we walked 7 blocks to his assigned meeting spot, he led us up steep narrow streets and finally arrived at the Casa. Everything was fine upon check in, however when my wife asked for the pass code to the wireless internet, she was told NO twice, then he gave it to her.. At breakfast on the 2nd day, I killed many ants on the breakfast table that were trying to get into the honey container on the table. I ended up moving the container to a side table. Mr. Most came out of the kitchen and proceeded to put the honey back on the table in front of me. I explained that I moved it to keep the ants off my breakfast and he then told me "Then just kill ze ants", turned around and marched back into the kitchen. We enjoyed the quiet location, however the attitude of the owner was not acceptable. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillerEatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,192 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
758 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Aljarife - Granada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Aljarife - Granada

Property: Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Address: Plaza Cruz Verde, 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,969 - ₹ 9,865
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Aljarife - Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Aljarife Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing