We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic situation”
other traveller has booked this property
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Splash-space for big groups of friends and families in the 17 metre private pool Dine in the atmospheric cobbled courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Splash-space for big groups of friends and families in the 17 metre private pool
Dine in the atmospheric cobbled courtyard
Farmhouse, garden, pool and majestic valley view to mountains
Gardens, bikes, pool and trees great for kids on holiday
Lots of space - large family groups are our speciality
All-day shade for kids on the play-tent and children´s picnic table (plus hammocks for parents !)
Join in the fun and festivities at the local fiestas
Our closest town is the ancient Moorish white village of Iznajar with shops, banks and cafes
Find tapas & dinner at Antonio's Bar, a 20 minute walk through Almond Groves or past the Go
Total privacy set in olive trees and ancient oaks
Aesthetic pergola gives shade on 17m (55ft) pool
Relax on the Italian leather furniture in the Casita
Enjoy the space and atmosphere of 11 metre Gran Sala
Chill out in The Cortijo Kitchen by cooking or sitting on the sofa chatting to the cooks!
Wake up in the Writer's Room and stroll onto its balcony to take in the views of the Sierra Nev
The Blue Room has an ensuite with large shower and a private door leading to the central courtyard
The Yellow Room has an arched doorway to the ensuite with exposed stone wall and bespoke shower
Lots of different options for eating all together
Massive porton gated entrance to central courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Granada, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mark H
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Fantastic situation”
Reviewed 6 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

After what feels like rather a hair-raising drive up from the village, the views that open up after a short descent to El Almendrillo are breathtaking. For miles and miles across a wide valley, there is no more than a scattering of houses until the hills rise again on the far horizon.
The finca is attractive and feels welcoming, with the courtyard and its long yellow table, trailing vine and other plants. The inside is beautifully decorated (to my taste, i.e., mostly white / uncluttered, but with splashes of colour or features such as exposed beams) and well equipped. The casita is a little more modern in style and the main farmhouse more traditional.
It useful to have an outdoor kitchen in the courtyard - and quite fun - and lovely to eat there together as a large family in the evening and to remain outside as the sun goes down.
There are many terraces and other places to sit, in and out of the sun, both of which being required at different times!
The pool is excellent - I have rented many properties such as this one but have not found one as large as this. It has wonderful views and a useful shaded area at one end, as well as sunbeds and a shower on hand. Swimming alone, first thing in the morning, watching the hills across the valley lighting up was a real treat for me!
The facilities are comprehensive: table tennis, pool, bikes, TVs etc. - more than enough to keep a large family party of all ages well-occupied for a week.

Disadvantages?
The ride up and down to the village wasn't to everyone's taste in our group, and our hire car didn't seem to like reversing up the hill to find a passing place! (which is another story...)
It was later than we expected before we could get into some of the rooms because the cleaners were still working and it took a little time to organise what needed to be in each house as things seemed to have been a little unevenly distributed by the previous residents. But, these things were trivial and easily dealt with.

We seem to have participated in the trend for multi-generational birthday celebrations at El Almendrillo - my mother's 80th being the reason for our family gathering in Andalucia. I would have no hesitation in recommending this house for a similar group of people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2011
This reviewer is keen to recommend El Almendrillo for holidays and family get-togethers even though he had a problem with the road up. I suppose that is the price of total seclusion with not a car in sight all day ! Most of our guests see it the other way around and are delighted by the views from the road (mentioned here) and the calmness and 100% quiet and privacy. Normally the locals are very helpful about letting people past on the road - sorry it didn´t happen here. There was a problem on this changeover with guests who overstayed their welcome on departure day but our cleaners were magnificent organising the Finca at record speed. Next year there will be one more cleaner in the team to ensure that they can cope if departing guests leave late or leave the Finca in a mess.

Overall the reviewer leaves a strongly positive five out of five recommendation with disadvantages which he acknowledges are trivial alongside the beautiful decoration, excellent pool and comprehensive facilities. Any five out of five recommendation is a good one and of course we are delighted that his large family enjoyed their swims in our beautiful big pool and their birthday celebration at Finca El Almendrillo.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 22 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruthandcr...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Farmhouse in an amazing rural Andaucian setting. Five stars.”
Reviewed 22 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

A large group of us went to the Farmhouse, including 3 children aged 2, 3 and 4. The adults in the party were all in their mid-late 30's.

The property is well isolated, so there is absolutely no problem with intrusion from others.
The scenery is absolutely breathtaking and the various veranda's and balconies ensure that you get the maximum benefit of the outstanding views.

The accommodation is very clean, well furnished and very versitile, with ability to lock adjoining doors and ensure privacy where necessary. The options however also exist for doors to be opened so that families can have access into oneanother's rooms.

All the facilities you would expect from high end accommodation are there.

The farmhouse has a real rustic feel, which means that children can play openly without the fear they may break or damage something. It also meant the group could properly relax without worrying about the odd spill of wine or beer.

The outside space is huge and again versitile with seperate balconies, various eating areas and a fantastic pool (it is huge).
The pool was more than clean and was warm at the end of May, even though it is not heated.
The pool area is very secure with a high lockable gate so there are no concerns regarding children being unsupervised around the grounds.

Overall the property was first class and we will undoubtedly return again.
Mike and Emma the owners were very helpful, ensuring we were well looked after on our arrival and throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them and there was a genuinely warm family feel to the property, which was augmented by the hospitality of Mike and Emma, who would occasionally pop up to see us.

10 out of 10 in all areas.
I cannot say enough positive words.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2011
approved, your response will appear directly under the original review. It will not be forwarded to the reviewer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frensham
Reviewed 12 April 2011 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jimpknigh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place for a large group to relax, private, stunning views, great pool”
Reviewed 6 April 2011 for a stay in October 2010

This is an extraordinary and brilliant place to stay in rural Spain. Easy to get to from Malaga by hire car, it is at the end of a long track but coming over the hill to see the view that is yours for your stay is an amazing moment. Mike and Emma are keen to make the stay a success without getting in your face. I can't recommend highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing