We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turist Trap”
Review of Bodegas Castaneda

Bodegas Castaneda
Ranked #197 of 1,802 Restaurants in Granada
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 45
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Since 1953, Bodegas Castañeda is an emblematic tavern in the center of Granada. Located in Almireceros St, it's ideal to enjoy wines of Granada, authentic vermouths, the best Iberian hams and cheesses, assorted sausages and the best of the gastronomy of Granada with our hot and cold assortments and Tapas. Be warned, because there's a neighbouring restaurant called Antigua Bodega Castañeda and the proximity of the two often confuses tourist.
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Avoid!
I was invited by some friends, and didn't have a choice... The moment there is a waiter asking everyone that goes by the restaurant to come in, is a red flag, food was really bad.
Filet was hard as a rock, Jabugo came straight from a package, bred was stale, and waiters very unfriendly.
Avoid.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OLIVIER-JOANIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 3,967 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We just stopped for a drink and a plate of a tasty tapas risotto, busy, atmospheric, excellent value. It felt very Spanish. Worth experiencing!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 920JaneJ920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This is a real gem. Tucked away in the old town, the bar is very atmospheric and there are a few tables inside. Plenty of tables outside but you may have to wait for one to be free. Good menu and the portions are enormous - we were 4 friends and the waiter warned us that we should order smaller portions. Good job he did as there was still a lot. Delicious and good value.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

After walking about 8 - 10 miles around the city and the Alhambra, we were ready for some great food and wine. Fortunately, we stumbled upon Bodegas Castaneda and got both. We ordered a sampler platter for two people (9 tapas to split) with four glasses of wine. We could not have been happier. The food was delicious and the total bill for two was $25. Check it out if you are in the area. Then, take a nice evening walk after the dinner.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank geovaughnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

This is as traditional as a tapas bar gets in Granada. Every drink receives a tasty tapa. If you order, try the cheese platter, its fantastic. Or the Ham / cold cut platter, fantastic. Don't expect the waiters to hover over you, its not part of this tradition. We loved the place, returned three times, and the waiters started to recognize us and treat us well. Its a MUST visit if you are in Granada.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodegas Castaneda also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Bodegas Castaneda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing