We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Principe by Melia
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My partner and I have recently landed back from Spain, having stayed in the Sol Principe, and I must say, we were very impressed! The hotel itself is beautiful. It is kept immaculately, very clean and the hotel staff are extremely helpful. Our rooms were spacious, bathroom was a good size and again, was cleaned every day. We were also pleased to find that we'd bagged a room with a pool AND sea view, nice touch! We went for a long weekend and on a half-board basis. The food was excellent! There was always something different to choose and the food was plentiful and piping hot. The drinks in the hotel are a little bit pricey, but which hotel doesn't hike the price of beverages up these days?! There are plenty of bars along the promenade that offer good value for money on drinks. The facilities were excellent. There were two large family pools to the front of the hotel, and a smaller, more quiet one to the rear. There was plenty of sun loungers and space to bathe, however you have to get up EARLY to beat others to a brolly! The hotel entertainment is good too. My only criticism of the hotel is it is quite a distance from the town centre, however in terms of a beach location, you go through a gated door at the rear of the hotel, cross the road, and there's the beach! To sum it up, I think this hotel is excellent value for money and would definitely consider going back in the future. I would recommend paying that little bit extra to go All Inclusive if you were considering the Half Board option, as you would save a small fortune on drinks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hello Aaron P

Thank you very much for share your review. We appreciate your good comments about our room, staff and food.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us. Opinions like yours help us to improve ourselves everyday.

The hotel staff will be so glad to see you again in our facilities; meanwhile you can follow on facebook/solhotels, and remember our slogan ¡Vive la Vida!, and enjoy with Sol hotels.

Kind regards

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,324 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel. Stayed in apartment on a half board basis which again was great with a 2y & 4y old. Hotel is very clean and food was good. There is 2 shallow kids swimming pools which my kids loved met families that had been coming to this hotel for years.
My only complaint this year was the kids baby rock club was not on in May but had been the previous May.We asked the entertainments staff why ? they have a new manager who changed it.My kids missed the club.At the weekend the hotel was busy with Spanish families this was when the hotel had a children's buffet which would have been good to have during the week as well. The Spanish families were bad mannered and very noisy which if the holidaymakers acted in this manner would be spoke to by hotel staff. Had a great holiday

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was probably a nice 4-star hotel 10-15 years ago, but today it is not. Stayed here three nights with my family including 2 kids aged 8 and 9. The service quality was in general low - no one helped us with our luggage or helped us find the room. The hotel was packed with people and it was hard to find space and a sun chair in the pool area. The pool was nice and rather clean, parking was free and the view from our room nice - everything else was average our below average. The restaurant was huge and packed with people - very noisy - like a school canteen. Food was average, but the kids liked it. This is not my idea of a 4-star hotel and I would recommend another place to stay while in Torremolinos.

Detta hotell var säkert fint för 10-15 år sedan, men nu är det tämligen slitet. Servicen var rätt dålig redan från början - ingen som hjälpte till med bagage eller visade oss rummet. Det var rätt fullbokat och massor av folk vid poolerna. Poolområdet var fint, men svårt att hitta plats. Vi hade helpension. Maten var ätbar, men ingen upplevelse. Matsalen var gigantisk och mycket bullrig - som en jättelik skolmatsal ungefär. Välj ett annat hotell...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Kart B,

Thank you for giving us your review, and for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays.

In Sol Príncipe hotel we try to satisfy our guest´s needs, working so hard, sorry if you didn’t like that this time.

We take note about your comments; we will try to improve these aspects for your next time.

Sincerely

José Fermín Gómez. General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

firstly this hotel is advertised as a 5 star and it IS a 4 star and if you book with FALCON they do not service the hotel at all....no rep etc...Ive just returned from a 14 night stay here. The hotel is very clean and the staff are lovely.Towels are changed every day and bed twice a week.and in my opinion thats where the lovely ends!!
Out in the pool area there are not enough loungers and only a couple of parasols and in the intense heat there should be ample parasols available. If you move of your seat/lounger for more then 10 minutes you will find your towel and belongings moved. The hotel has a policy itself that if in an hour you do not return to your longer they remove the towels which is fair enough but the spaniards themselves move them.The food was shocking and so repitive and they cater solely for the andulican and spainish people . They DO NOT cater food wise for other holiday makers. The entertainment was good in the evenings but again not enough seats to sit down and enjoy.. I went to the solutions man (thats what they call him) and he actually agreed with me that the hotel now is more geared towards the spainish because they cannot afford to holiday outside the country.
There was also a huge problem on the 4th floor with the smell of sewerage coming up the pipes in the rooms and once again there was NO solution to this for the people on the 4th floor..which is not good enough.
This hotel has to be the biggest disappointment that i have ever had on a holiday. My expectations were so high and it pains me to say it but it has a lot of problems and with so many people staying here at once im afraid that the management need to work a lot harder to make it a fair 4 star hotel :(

Room Tip: dont stay on the 4thy floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denisetallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hello, Denise tallow, My name is José Fermín Gómez, I am the General Manager of Sol Principe Hotel. I would like to thank you for giving us your review and your good comments about our staff and cleaning service and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe to spend your holidays.

Regarding your comments we would like to point that we have checked the Falcon web page and it is correct, publishing 4 stars category for our hotel. We would appreciate if you could indicate us in which publication appear as 5 stars

We take note about the rest your comments .We will do our best to improve this aspects for your next time

I regret that you didn´t enjoy our restaurant. I would like to inform you that we cater international food in our restaurant to satisfy all our customers, we have some specials days, like Mexican, Asia, and Andalusian.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable two week holiday at the Sol Principe. I booked the holiday with Low Cost Holidays, and went with my twenty-three year old daughter and on arrival at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised on entering the reception area about 10pm on 30 June 2012, there was a warm helpful welcome from the male receptionist, who without us having to ask any questions gave us enough information and maps of Torremolinos to get us started on our holiday. I had requested a high floor with sea views and that's precisely what we got, a room on the sixth floor and sitting on the balcony looking left down over the pools and right over to the sea with the morning sun rising about 7.30am on to our balcony. Couldn't have been better. We were very pleased with our room, it was spotless and cleaned well every day. Our room was 3621 and near to the lift, and there were no disturbances. I requested two extra pillows and as we had noticed a slight hissing noise from the TV I also mentioned this to the receptionist. They were there within half an hour with two pillows and a technician to look at the TV which was exchanged for another very soon afterwards. The staff were always polite, smartly dressed and working hard. Yes, it is a big family hotel and obviously with all the attractions and excitable kids, you have to expect noise!
This is a lively, fun hotel with a good atmosphere.
There was a good selection of everything for breakfast and evening meal. We were half board and had no complaints about the food.
All the surrounding areas of the pools were again as the interior of the hotel up to a very high standard.
A 10-15 min walk to the bus stop and train station. We caught the train to Fuengirola and had a lovely afternoon at the BioPark 500 metres from the railway station, its well worth a visit. You can catch the bus to Marbella, we went to Malaga and visited the Pablo Picasso gallery.That was also well worth the visit. We also went on an excursion to Gibralter, you must do the rock tour if you want to see the monkeys. There are just over 200 up there, we saw probably about 20 but that was enough as they do like to jump on your shoulders and grab what ever they can and you cannot argue with them!
A walk along the front for a good hour will bring you to Benalmadina. The marina is as far as we walked before embarking on a boat trip for an hour. There is so much to do down in Torremolinos, temperatures of 36 degrees, great holiday! Would definitely stay at the Sol Principe again.

Room Tip: Middle to high floor, overlooking sea and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Maureen f,

Thank you for share your good comments about the hotel,. It is a pleasure for us to know you really enjoyed your experience with us, specially the room, staff and food.

The hotel staff will be so glad to see you again in our facilities to have another great holidays. Meanwhile you can follow us on facebook/solhotels.

Kind regards.

José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Príncipe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
4.0 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
1.3 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,107 reviews
0.8 km away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,734 reviews
0.8 km away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#28 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,200 reviews
0.7 km away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe by Melia

Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: ₹ 4,880 - ₹ 19,196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Principe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe
Sol Principe By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing