We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel.”
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Excellent hotel. Rooms were very spacious with fantastic sea view they were cleaned every day. Fantastic variety of food and there was plenty of it. Found staff to be very helpful. Fantastic facilities within the hotel. I would rate this hotel 10 out of 10 and I would definately return there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anderson123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Hello Anderson123456789, thank you very much for your good comments and for having your holidays with us in Sol Principe.
We are so glad that you enjoy in our facilities, and our staff service; opinions such as yours help us to improve ourselves everyday.

We hope to see you very soon in Sol Principe, meanwhile you can follow us on facebook/solhotels.com
Sincerely José Fermín Gómez General Manager Sol Principe Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    1,251
    680
    196
    132
See reviews for
1,773
872
49
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

If you like crowds, then this is the place to go.
If you like your food cooked in large pools of grease then this is the place to go.
If you like queueing for hours to check in or ask question at reception then this is the place to go.
If you like paying for kids club in the afternoon then this is the place to go.
If you like getting up at 630am to reserve a sun lounger at the pool then this is the hotel for you.
If you like shows to start 1/2 hour later than advertised then......
If you like staff that are rude and ignore you then ....

What more can I say, plenty actually but my advice is to change hotel if possible. I have stayed in many Sol/Melia hotels as I worked in the travel industry for years and this is not to the standard that I or many of the other guests there expected. So so dissapointed, especially as we had to eat out most nights as the food was so bad after paying for 1/2 board.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bermac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

After a good few enjoyable visits to Sol Principe it is finally time to say goodbye. I used to enjoy the breakfast and evening meal here but it has really gone down hill. The food is over cooked, greasy and unimaginitive. The theme nights have gone, the plates are slow to be cleared and the general cleanliness in the rooms is terrible, in the two weeks my husband and I stayed in May 12 I don't think the floor was swept once. We cancelled our booking for September - what a shame.

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea are usually quieter the other side over looks large swimming pools - quite noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Here now, probably the first hotel I have said I won't come back,reception is useless,been three times to discuss something 20/30 minutes each time,food choice very poor, not one member of staff has spoken to us at any time unless you are buying something,hotel to big to care

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ipswic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear ipswick. , my name is José Fermín Gómez, I am the General manager of Sol Príncipe Hotel. I would like to apologize for the iconveniences in our hotel. I am sorry if you dind´t enjoy your holidays with us.
I will hope that you decide to give us another opportunity, the hotel staff will try to surprise you, because everyday we work hard to improve ourselves.

Thank you for your review again.
Sincerely José Fermín Gómez, General manager Sol Príncipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just returned today from a 2 week stay and I am not happy. I have stayed in the apartments for many times over the past 6 years but dont think I will stay again. I booked a one bedroom apartment which was fine. Good size. Bedding and towels changed every day. Basic cooking facilities but served a purpose. Kids club is great and the staff that work there are excellent with the children. Pool is great although very cold. So where did it go wrong? Well to start, as nearly every other reviewer has said the check in is ridiculously long and the staff on the reception are most unpleasant. I arrived on a Monday and everything was okay untill Friday arrived with the arrival of a swarm of spanish guests and that is where the fun and games began. I have never come across such a rude people. They arrived at the pool area and removed peoples towels from their beds and put their own down which resulted in many arguments leaving sitting around the pool area very intimidating with young children. Also the pool bar did not open during the week but did at the weekend when the spanish arrived. The bronto burger bar was taken over at the weekend mornings from 8 - 1 by the spanish for breakfast leaving the snack bar and the door to the back of the hotel not accessable. Pool games also only on the weekends. The manager had to be called to sort out a dispute over beds and it was clear he favoured the spanish who where clearly in the wrong. I am so upset at the waste of my money spent on this nightmare and i really can't believe how the place has changed. My children had to witness arguments aroung the childrens pool and where very upset. It was like a cattle market on the weekends and forced us to leave the pool area. I regret to say i won't be visting again.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments much bigger than those on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Sonya D,

First of all to thank you very much for giving us your review and thanks for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays for so long. We appreciate your comments about our activities team and kids club.
I would like to explain that the process we use in the sun terrace is in order to be fair with all the customers. Sorry if you didn´t like that.
In relation with the bar and Bronto Burguer opening in the weekend, we use to increase the service accordance with the high occupancy and the high season.

Thank you very much for your comments again.
Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.3 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,742 reviews
4.0 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.8 km away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,599 reviews
1.0 km away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,319 reviews
0.8 km away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#25 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,716 - ₹ 29,254
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Príncipe Hotel, is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia Hotels APAC and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing