We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Principe
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just had 3 days in Sol Principe. We were pleased that standards were still pretty high. We haven't been here for a few years so didn't know if it had changed. They have done extensive work at the back of the hotel where they have the apartments. It's really made a difference with quite a few different pool areas now. They have renovated the front of he hotel and have covered in the outdoor seating area, which I think could have benefited the sun worshipers if a small area was left uncovered. We went out of season but we didn't mind a bit. The service was good, very nice receptionists. We had a taxi from airport and on our return reception rang a taxi for us which arrived in 2 minutes. The food was fine, obviously the menu was slightly trimmed down because of the reduced numbers of guests as per time of year. We look forward to another break in the future..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaylib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    1,104
    593
    173
    122
See reviews for
1,584
741
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My second visit to this hotel and although off season and some of the flintstone themed activities were not open it was a lovely place to stay with my daughter and granson. Staff were friendly and the food could not be faulted. All areas were clean and well looked after. The location was perfect being right across from the beach and a nice stroll to the centre. Although the hotel has a Flintstone theme there were groups with no children and they were enjoying thier stay too. On one of our days the labour strike was on in Spain but the hotel was well staffed and management appeared to be helping out to ensure the smooth running of things.

Room Tip: We did have a three bedded room and space was a bit tight, I noticed they do have family sized rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn-e-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Arrived in 2nd September 2011 checkin at 12 got in room straight away room was great very great view of beach weather was great when arrived but next day was v hot and sunny entertainment was great a bit too much for kids and not for adults pool was fab very big no problems getting a sunbed drinks very expensive location good for beach but you have to get bus or taxi to get in to town you can walk but very steep hill would go again

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madholidayfan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

After our Andalucian trip, we wanted to spend a couple of days near the beach.

The room & balcony were large, with a nice seaview, quite clean for such an old hotel.

The restaurant was terrible, we had to wait in line for breakfast, no quality food, messy, noisy, clattering crockery, breastfeeding mothers (I'm pro breastfeeding, but a little more decent please), screaming kids and it was a smelly place.

The Flintstones pool area is great for kids, the other pool was quiet, had plenty of sunloungers and is close to the beach.

We did not expect too much of this hotel, but preferred to stay near the beach and not too far away from the airport/city center. The room rate was not expensive, but it is an average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hello STTV, my name is Jose Fermín Gómez and I am the general manager of Sol Principe hotel.
Allow me first of all to thank you for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays last June and for having taken a few minutes in leaving here your opinion about us. Also I would like to thank you for your good feedback about our rooms, cleaning, pool area and location.
I take note about your restaurant comments, opinions such as yours help us to improve day by day.
Thank you again. Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

On checking in at the Hotel the foyer looks very impressive but thats where it ended for me! This 600 room Hotel only had 100 rooms occupied yet we were given a room with a rubbish view, We found the staff rude and cleared your table at diner before fully finished! the restaurant was more like a works canteen layout, the dining chairs seats were solid wood with no padding, the tables had paper napkins at diner ,and the waiting staff were rude and unhelpful, The food was ok as long as you only wanted salads and cold food! the hot food choice was poor with same things on most nights, Book a superb Hotel just minutes walk from this poor Hotel its called RIU BELPLAYER and it was simply wonderful! everything the Sol Principe is not! Both these Hotels are 4 star, but only the Belplayer deserves it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.3 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
4.0 km away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
3.9 km away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 71 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#23 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
0.8 km away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
1.0 km away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 13,542
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sol Principe is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish". 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe, a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43 ", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, Fitness, Live Music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing