We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Too far from centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Principe
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too far from centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Arrived in 2nd September 2011 checkin at 12 got in room straight away room was great very great view of beach weather was great when arrived but next day was v hot and sunny entertainment was great a bit too much for kids and not for adults pool was fab very big no problems getting a sunbed drinks very expensive location good for beach but you have to get bus or taxi to get in to town you can walk but very steep hill would go again

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madholidayfan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    1,115
    600
    176
    123
See reviews for
1,589
758
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Volendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

After our Andalucian trip, we wanted to spend a couple of days near the beach.

The room & balcony were large, with a nice seaview, quite clean for such an old hotel.

The restaurant was terrible, we had to wait in line for breakfast, no quality food, messy, noisy, clattering crockery, breastfeeding mothers (I'm pro breastfeeding, but a little more decent please), screaming kids and it was a smelly place.

The Flintstones pool area is great for kids, the other pool was quiet, had plenty of sunloungers and is close to the beach.

We did not expect too much of this hotel, but preferred to stay near the beach and not too far away from the airport/city center. The room rate was not expensive, but it is an average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Fermín G, General Manager at Sol Principe, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hello STTV, my name is Jose Fermín Gómez and I am the general manager of Sol Principe hotel.
Allow me first of all to thank you for having chosen Sol Príncipe for your holidays last June and for having taken a few minutes in leaving here your opinion about us. Also I would like to thank you for your good feedback about our rooms, cleaning, pool area and location.
I take note about your restaurant comments, opinions such as yours help us to improve day by day.
Thank you again. Sincerely Jose Fermín Gómez, General Manager Sol Príncipe hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

On checking in at the Hotel the foyer looks very impressive but thats where it ended for me! This 600 room Hotel only had 100 rooms occupied yet we were given a room with a rubbish view, We found the staff rude and cleared your table at diner before fully finished! the restaurant was more like a works canteen layout, the dining chairs seats were solid wood with no padding, the tables had paper napkins at diner ,and the waiting staff were rude and unhelpful, The food was ok as long as you only wanted salads and cold food! the hot food choice was poor with same things on most nights, Book a superb Hotel just minutes walk from this poor Hotel its called RIU BELPLAYER and it was simply wonderful! everything the Sol Principe is not! Both these Hotels are 4 star, but only the Belplayer deserves it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Iv been here few times and even though few days ago is def off season,its still a lovely place to stay...gorgeous choice of food,entertainment too...we will check in again here in June!!..

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool definitly quieter off season..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed in Hotel Sol Principe for 4 nights in January.
The hotel has some positive things about it: nice location close to the beach, though not that close to the town center; decent food at breakfasts, lunches and dinners, polite staff at the reception and cleaning rooms.
Maybe the hotel deserves a higher rating, but I would give it a 3-star for the following reasons.
1) I lived on the top 10th floor, and because the heating system was probably going from the ground floor up to the top, it did not quite reach my room, and I was freezing at nights (January nights are quite cold), even with air con turned warm. Same problem with water in the bathroom - most of it was cold. The room itself was quite simple and maybe would look better after some refubrishment
2) I mentioned that hotel staff was polite. It it true, they were helpful and friendly, but they were also sometimes absent-minded. On one occasion a reception manager kindly offered to check available tennis courts in the area and book the time. But she forgot to do it during her shift (!) and it took us some time the next day to explain what we want to the next desk-manager (not everyone at the reception desk is fluent in English). To be fair, the were crowds of people at the hotel at the time, and the staff were really busy all the time. But still the rule is simple: you promise something to the guest - you do it.
It is a decent place, overall, maybe I would not complain much if the room was warmer :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelnice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.3 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
3.9 km away
Sol Timor Apartamentos
Sol Timor Apartamentos
#20 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.7 km away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#22 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.8 km away
Sol Don Pablo
Sol Don Pablo
#10 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.0 km away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#13 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Principe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Principe

Property: Sol Principe
Address: Paseo Colorado 26, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#15 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,108 - ₹ 15,122
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 799
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sol Principe is located in Torremolinos (Malaga) right on the beachfront with direct access to the promenade, to the beautiful Playamar Beach and numerous bars (typical restaurants on the sand) specialized in "fried fish." 27,000 m2 of facilities make Sol Principe a spectacular hotel with day and night activities for children and adults; ideal for family vacations. The rooms of different categories with magnificent views of the sea or to the Spectacular Caribbean lagoon-style swimming pool surrounded by exotic gardens. Air conditioning, LCD TV 43", Safe (*), Mini fridge, hairdryer and a large furnished terrace (table / chairs); 4 swimming pools for adults (1 indoor) and 1 for children, Solarium and hammocks; different dining spaces, beauty salon; Wireless internet access (free) throughout the hotel, fitness, live music. also has 14 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 750 people. (*). Adapted for disabled guests, private car park (*). (*) With charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia Hotels APAC, Ostrovok and Agoda so you can book your Sol Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Principe Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol
Sol Principe Hotel
Hotel Sol Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing