We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sol don pablo”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sol don pablo”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at don pablo from 1july to 10th july. requested a low floor which was quiet on a sunny side. We emailed one week before which was noted and allocated on arrival( room 107 )overlooking the bowls green.
Rooms are clean and the bathroom seem to have been recently renovated and had a spacious walk in shower.
the balcony was large enough and has washing line along with chairs and table and get the sun around midday to sunset.
Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice and never any problems getting seated ,the conservatory was pleasant place to eat but a long way from the food and drink.
we stayed half board so can't comment on lunch .
Dinner has plenty of choice with fish lamb beef pork and also a pasta service and salad bar. I read criticism of the food earlier on but we were very pleased with the standard and choice. The drinks served by the waiters are fairly pricey a bottle of water almost 2 euros whch is one glass per person we just used all the loose change to pay for them.
The pablo is part of three hotels that surround lovely well kept gardens, lit on an evening and even has its own parrakeets that seem to have nested in the palm trees ( noisy devils)
The pools were well kept and there is enough sun beds to go round and the umbrellas seem to be new. there is also shaded areas to lay under which was very useful in the hot sun.
the entertainment wasnt to our liking more for the kids and very noisy .
drinks in the hotel were rather expensive 12 euros for 2 gin and tonics but the bars outside will do the same for 8 to 9 euros.
It was our 1st time to this area of spain so cant comment if its better or worse but were pleasantly surprised by the choice of bars and restaurants, younger folk may need to go up to the town centre for more lively bars which is reached by lift 50 cents or a short but steep climb.
there are lots of supermarkets but if you go out of the hotel towards the beach and turn left then head past the large roundabout and just down a small slope after the irish bar you will find a cheap supermarket that does cold beers and makes fresh baguettes for 2.95 euros.
overall we would definatelly return to the pablo, the staff were friendly,polite and would always try to help you if asked.The public areas were spotless as was the dining room .
thank you don pablo for a great holiday..

Room Tip: low rooms are better if you dont like waiting for the lift . odd numbers for the quiet sunny side wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you jonLeeds for your in-depth and balanced report on the Sol Don Pablo. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel so much and sincerely hope to see you again in the future. Note that most of our guests take half-board but many opt to take lunch instead of dinner if they feel like going out to eat at one of the great Torremolinos restaurants or to have an evening of tapas. The option is available to all guests.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    925
    315
    84
    40
See reviews for
705
1,103
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just returned from 9 nights at the Sol Don Pablo. Great hotel, good food, great spot across from the beach, sun beds [9euros for 2] not bad, good for shopping, nice walk to the harbour.
Many people have had a moan about the food here on trip advisor, i can assure anyone thinking of booking the food is very good and loads of choice, i have stayed at many of the more expensive 4 star hotels along this strip and the Don Pablo is as good as any of them and better than some. GO book it you wont go wrong.. p.s. watch out for the shower as it can get a bit much.

Room Tip: quite room is best as there is less footfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

First time in Torremolinos. Brilliant hotel with excellent facilities. Plenty sunbeds to go round. Food lovely. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. When we got there I requested a room on a low floor and they were very accommodating, not only giving us a room on a low floor, but also with a sea view. Staff very friendly. Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lconroy1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I'm a 27 year old female and my best mate and I stayed here for a week last week and had the most amazing holiday!! The hotel is in a great location - right next to the beach, near all the shops and everything is easily accessible! The hotel was great - room was really clean and a good size with a lovely sea view! The kids running in the corridors was a bit annoying but that is no fault of the hotel - just parents who can't control their kids! :) The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was awesome! There's a lot of choice and had my plate piled high every night because I couldn't decide! The drinks are reasonably priced and you also get BBC1 (for those English folk reading this!). There are lots of nice bars and restaurants in the local area, but we walked up the other end of the promenade (to the left out the back entrance of the hotel) and there are some beach clubs which were excellent! It is quite a Spanish area and didn't meet too many English people which we really liked. Malaga takes no time at all on the train and definitely worth seeing! Overall, had an amazing holiday, perfect weather and hotel was brilliant!! Recommend to anyone thinking about staying here! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwilliamsmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Second year in a row we have been here. The hotel itself is nice however the service is below par and really takes away from what could be a great place to stay.

We arrived on a Thursday morning and all got our room keys. As we got to our room we noticed a couple of wine glasses on the floor in the corridor outside the room. Unpacked and off we went. When we got back to the hotel in the evening the glasses were still there. We decided not to ring reception or say anything as we were curios to see how long they would take to remove them. Only on the 3rd day did they disappear.

Also on the staircase there was a cigarette butt there from the first day and it was still there when we left. That sort of thing makes you wonder about other aspects of the hotel and if all hygine areas are poor.

We stayed full board and were told that with dinner you were intitled to a free glass of wine or bottle of water. So we went into the resteraunt, took a seat and the waitress asked if we would like a drink. We asked for water and went up to the buffet. the waitress brought over a bottle of water each and a receipt for €6. When we said the water is included she said we needed to show her the hotel card when asking for it. What a big scam. Trust me, nobody apart from hotl guests are eating in this place. the food is awful. Thats not just my opinion, a group 40 of us, nearly everybody agreed.

On a positive note I can say that the rooms were a decent size, the Bathrooms were nice and had an excellent shower in them. The location is a stone throw from the beach and there are lots of nice places to eat around the corner. I would recommend Lowrys for breakfast and for nice place to drink A dutch bar called Friendies is lovely.

Oh one final thing that stuck me as strange. I know working girls work in hotel bars but this is the first place i have seen one sitting in reception each night waiting on business. very strange.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishTourist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimefloyer, Manager at Sol Don Pablo, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor opinion. You make mention of a couple of cleaning issues which we will certainly deal with. I am sorry that they should have occurred. As you can see on the majority of opinions on TA, our cleaning staff are generally much appreciated but there is always the possibility inprovement.
I see that you were not happy in the restaurant either. Drinks are not normally included in meals and if they are included as part of a special package then the guest's restaurant card is stamped in Reception and we inform the guest that they must present the card to their waiter (as otherwise the waiter will not know that the guest has drinks included). In your case I do not know whether drinks were included in your group's package or if you had been misinformed. If the poor information was given in the hotel, then I apologise.
I am glad on the other hand that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and newly-renovated bathrooms with rain 2 metre rain showers. It is good to see also that you got out to explore the area.
Kind regards,
Jaime Floyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 km away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,286 reviews
0.5 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#5 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,727 reviews
0.1 km away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 km away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
911 reviews
0.3 km away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#11 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,135 - ₹ 21,701
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing