We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just returned from the latest of many out of season visits to this hotel. When people complain about aspects of this hotel, I think they should ask themselves where else they would get all the Don Pablo offers for £35 per person per night half board in a sunny side room? The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with everything one needs, apart from maybe a kettle. The rain shower is fantastic. The large buffet restaurant has a great range of food - we enjoyed every meal. We didn't take advantage of the activities, but included is bowls, shuffle board, darts, archery, pistol shooting, keep fit etc. and of course entertainment every evening. There is an indoor pool as well as the outdoor pools. The location of the hotel couldn't be better. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Sunny side out of season - shady side during the hot weather. We were happy on 5th floor overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JofNinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,435 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Myself and my sister recently spent 6 nights at the Sol Hotel Don Pablo, Torremolinos. Having moved from its sister hotel Don Pedro the day after arrival, we were extremely happy with the twin room which was spacious with a lovely side view of the sea and mountains. The beds were roomy and comfortable, rooms well cleaned and tidied daily, and the bathroom was very nice with a large shower unit containing 2 separate shower heads, one a monsoon. The restaurant was shared by all three sister hotels, Son Pedro,Pablo and Marco. Food overall was of good quality, if fairly basic. Slight quibble is that there was no tea or coffee available with the evening meals. Hotel location is excellent, backing straight onto the promenade and beach, and the outdoor facilities are good with several pools (one indoor and heated), lots of sunbeds, a large bowling area, tennis plus table tennis, outdoor jacuzzi etc. A minor quibble is that the outdoor pools were unheated and therefore too cold for swimming in in April-it would have been nice to have one of those heated. Indoor facilities are also extensive and include many card tables, several meeting rooms, plus large lounge bars/entertainment areas. However Internet access was pricey-1 euro for 15 minutes. Its facilities render it particularly suitable for Active Retirement group holidays. However there was a good mix of young and old, families, couples, and seniors the week we were there mid April. We would return again to this hotel, though probably a week or two later as it was quite windy most mornings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BanjoAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for four nights in the Don Pablo April '12 and on the whole enjoyed it.
There is no wow factor and the cracks are starting to appear, literally! just look at the balconies. First night couldn't get any more than a trickle of hot water for bath/shower but a quick word at reception solved that.
Room was above average with the bonus of a fridge.
Food was good most nights, breakfasts excellent.
Really good walking along the front into Benalmadena, takes app. 40mins with lots of bars, shops etc.
Weather very good for time of year.
Hotel was far from full so no problems finding sunbeds and a qiuet area to relax in.

One problem was the noise from other guests, tiled floors, high heels and moving furniture is not a great mix, add to that doors slamming and you will need your earplugs.
Entertainment was a major letdown, this time of year most local bars are empty which leaves you with visiting the two hotel bars. Highlight was a pair of drag artists who were just about average, other nights entertainment was poor with duo's and singers who would be paid off at many working mens clubs. The welsh male singer frequently forgetting words just standing there laughing! Oh and be prepared for expensive bar bills, 9.50 Euros for a pint and G&T, enjoy the happy hour from 5:30-6:30 but not all drinks are included on the two for one.

All in all a good break temperatures peaking at 28c but Torremelinos is looking a little tired so won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Paid a little extra for the sunny side but views are not great with a sidesway slant at the sea, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YORKSHIRECOSTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Don Pablo the last week in March 2012, although we found the hotel very nice we thought the food quality had not been as good as the last time we were here three years ago, and feel let down, we will return to Torremolinos but may choose a different hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnm1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just back from a week stay at Don Pablo. We first visited this hotel in 1984, and have never been disappointed. Before we went I e mailed hotel and requested a room on the sunny side (overlooking bowling greens odd numbered rooms ) with walk in shower(rooms with walk in shower have been refurbished) and when we arrived this is exactly what we got. The rooms are spotlessly cleaned every day. Flat screen telly with BBC1, Channel 4 , Sky news and some film channels. A nice touch was that a bottle of local sherry was left complimentarilly for us. There ws a good programme of entertainment during the day archery, shooting, crown green bowls, shuffleboard, boule etc well run by the team.. well done Jonny and Marco. Food was good and varied at breakfast and evening meal. Staff helpful on reception, free late checkout till 2pm when you join MAS loyalty programme. Hotel is directly opposite beach with plenty of bars and cafes in vicinity. This hotel has a bit of class and we look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: sunny side odd numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank celtictravellerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.6 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,139 reviews
3.2 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.1 km away
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
Sol Don Pedro by Melia
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sol Principe by Melia
Sol Principe by Melia
#16 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,566 reviews
0.1 km away
Sol Don Marco by Melia
Sol Don Marco by Melia
#10 of 71 in Torremolinos
996 reviews
3.1 km away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo by Melia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo by Melia

Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: ₹ 4,378 - ₹ 12,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos
Sol Melia Torremolinos
Sol Don Pablo By Melia Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing