We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent gem in the heart of Old Town”
Review of The Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Town House
Ranked #4 of 31 Marbella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent gem in the heart of Old Town”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked as a short break over the Easter weekend and had an excellent time. Right in the heart of the old town, on the edge of one of the hidden squares, this b and b is everything you could want for a short stay. Individually decorated rooms that play to the moorish heritage of the region, the staff were warm, welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast was continental and plenty of it. Rooftop terrace was a delight. The whole place was spotlessly clean and filled with light. Would definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manxgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    40
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
95
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2011.

Location: Excellent. Right in Old Town. Surrounded by shops/restaurants. Only a 10 minute walk to the beach/promenade (beach has loungers with umbrellas to rent for only 5 euros).

Room: Very clean. Antique style furnishings. Had TV, wardrobe, A/C. The showerhead was broken when we arrived and they promptly had it fixed the next morning. The A/C was weak (would not stay cool after about an hour or so) so the nights would get uncomfortably warm a few hours into our sleep.The wardrobe had a giant crack in the mirror - you could argue this added character but I saw it as lack of upkeep.

Breakfast: Great. Fresh bread and cold cuts as well as cereals/fruit/beverages.

Service: Excellent. Gave us a good restaurant recommendation (seafood place around the corner). The welcome drink was a great touch. Always willing to help.

Overall: If I compare the Town House to other places I've stayed in the same price range it fell just a little short. For a beach location the small issues with the showerhead (do they or the cleaners not check each room after guests check-out? - it was obviously broken) and A/C were minor annoyances. And overall the accommodation seems to market itself as higher-end and I think they could use some minor upgrades with the shower for example to give it a more luxe feel while maintaining its charm.

Would I return? I would definitely consider returning the The Town House if I was in Marbella again as we did really enjoy our stay but I'd probably check around first to see if any other options had come up since my last visit in the same price range. Regardless I don't think you'd be disappointed with your stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelandFoodLover06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked the hotel as a last minute special offer (2 nights for the price of 1) in December 2011. This was our second stay here and we rate it highly. The location is excellent with easy parking nearby. The hotel is situated in a quiet, pretty square in the old town. The ambiance is wonderful, really chilled and comfortable. The staff are lovely. Breakfast is served in the bar/communal area and is a simple but perfectly adequate buffet. Our room (Room 4) was a little on the small side (but I'm being picky now!) Having said that the bathroom was pretty large with a big bath. All in all an excellent value hotel in a great location with lovely staff. The decor is also pretty spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building with a (juliet) balcony overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with my friend in early December and thoroughly enjoyed the stay.
We had booked a spacious twin, and, although the room was on the small side, it was bright, clean and lovely.
We were 2 of only 4 guests for the weekend but the 2 staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was a buffet and was really nice...fresh breads and meats etc.
The roof terrace was a great spot to enjoy the gorgeous weather and the "Honesty"fridge is an excellent addition with reasonably priced drinks for after hours.
Great location in the Old Town too. Avoid the impersonal huge hotels and head here instead.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed for two nights. The reception was very welcoming and most helpful. The room was excellent and more than comfortable. The only slight criticism was the timing for breakfast between 9.00am and 11.00am which was a little late for me since I was on a business trip.
A very good boutique style hotel in the centre of Marbella.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treworder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.3 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.2 km away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.7 km away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#23 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: Calle Alderete 7 | Plaza Practicante Manuel Cantos, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,750 - ₹ 11,497
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmingly located in the Old Town of Marbella The Town House is a private intimate pension with a central location in the old town, Marbella, in the antique area, close to Plaza de los Naranjos (the orange square). The Town House is almost like a private town house, with four floors, roof terrace and a welcoming bar at the entrace level. All nine rooms are individually decorated, with a tasteful mixture of antiques and modern design. The Town House has nine rooms, bar for both hostal- and external guests, lounge, possiblities to rent conference room, breakfast room, roof terrace, rooms with TV och internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing