We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Isle of Man
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A really nice hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just returned home from a 10 day stay in a side sea view room. This was our first time in Marbella and we would certainly echo the many positives identified by other reviewers. In particular, the location is great (beachside and close to the Old Town), and we liked the inroom tea/coffee making facility, the free Wi-Fi (mine worked just fine in our room and in the lounge) and the fact you could get breakfast till 11am.

The room was not huge, but was adequate given that you're supposed to be out and about when you're on holiday so not in the room much. Anyway, the hotel has plenty of indoor and outdoor seating areas so there's no need to spend much time in the room. Having said that, if we go again, we'll book a front seaview room as they have larger balconies (we tried to do so on this visit but none were available).

The hotel is quite old, but decoratively in good shape, we thought. If you like ultra modern, don't go there, because it isn't- it's traditional and classical, which we happen to like and we wouldn't have felt so comfortable in an ultra modern environment. We particularly liked the lounge/bar area where you could curl up with a book during the day and be bothered by no-one. Once you told the bar staff you didn't want food or drink, they left you alone.

The lounge/bar area had entertainment several nights we were there, including Flamenco dancers one night who were terrific. The lounge also has a big screen TV which comes down from the ceiling and which showed the 2 Champions League semi finals (first legs) and the Barcelona/Real Madrid games whilst we were there. The area was packed for each game and the atmosphere was great !! OK if you like football I guess!! The entertainment came on afterwards.

We had half board so ate in the restaurant each night. The format is a very extensive buffet, much of which changed each night, and a "grill station" operated by a real character, whose name I don't recall. He would grill to order any of 5 or 6 types of fish or meat together with the veggies you selected such as mushrooms, asparagus, aubergines etc. He also prepared prawns in a spicy garlic sauce which we liked a lot. Normally, we get bored eating in this type of buffet every night, but not here - there was plenty of variety which you could influence by choosing the meat or fish dish you fancied from the grill.

Finally, the staff at the hotel were great. Pretty well all of them acknowledged you with a smile and were only too willing to help us, including helping my wife with her Spanish translation!! Not all of them spoke good English and we spoke little Spanish, but we still got by because the hotel staff had a can-do, helpful attitude. They seem to be well trained.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happycamper565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    510
    114
    41
    31
See reviews for
284
808
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here in December, and we found it very comfortable - even if the room was a little on the small side, it was very nicely furnished, and we had a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens and the sea. Breakfast was excellent, and we found all the staff helpful and very pleasant. The absolute crown in our stay was the flamenco group of dancers and guitar players on the Thursday evening just wonderful. We also had a very nice supper in the bar where the flamenco took place. We had our small dog with us, and our whole stay was great, and very close to shops and all activities, and amenities. We will stay here again without any hesitation in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just stopped here for a night on a road trip through Spain and it was pretty nice. The staff wasn't that nice and the wifi was lackong, but overall quite a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your trip through Spain. We do have free WIFI all through hotel Fuerte Marbella. I would be grateful to know what did not work with it in your case. And also, where was service poor in your experience. Thank you in advance for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Nice hotel, though the service sucked, and the rooms were just average. The breakfast had a superb selection, but still, the people were mean.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you very much for letting us know we did not fullfil your expectations regarding service in Fuerte Marbella Hotel. I should be most thankful if you could give us detailed information about what we did wrong about service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for 7 days. Rooms average size but good bathroom with an excellent powerful shower. We upgraded to double seaview which I would recommend. Excellent breakfast with everything you could wish for and served until 11am which is good. Staff generally friendly. We didn't dine at the hotel so can't comment on evening meals. Close to the old town and Orange square where there are plenty of good places to eat. Our favourite restaurant was Zozoi. We had an early departure so the hotel prepared a packed lunch for us instead of breakfast. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a front seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mortons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.6 km away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
5.7 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.5 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,444 reviews
0.1 km away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,984 - ₹ 29,980
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing