We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels we have been to. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious - we stayed room 244. The only negative was the view wasn't the best from our room, there was a very large tree to the left of our balcony which blocked a lot of the sea view. It was a shame, as it would have been perfect otherwise.
The pool is lovely and huge and the best thing for me was that there was a sunbed for everyone. They also had the cabana's which I would recommend for at least one day, they were E50 for they day but money well spent! They were ridiculously comfortable and the frozen flanels were a nice touch, and you also get a bottle of cava and some fresh fruit thrown in too.
The breakfast was fantastic, something for everyone and the cava was a nice treat each morning too! We were half board and I would definitely recommend it, each day there was the choice of a three course lunch or dinner and there were a selection of meals to choose from, each day they were very different and delicious. We didn't have one bad meal. We generally chose lunch, only had dinner on the first night as we prefer to go out in the evening. The location of the hotel is really good, it was a 15 minute taxi trip to Marbella and 5 minute trip to Puerto Banus. We had a lovely dinner in Benhavis too which I would definitely recommend, its a lovely town and only 10 minutes away in a taxi. There aren't really any places to walk to as the hotel is located in the middle of a residental area, but there are plenty of taxis and we never found it a problem.
There were three weddings there during our stay, they have a party area in the basement of the hotel so there is no noise at all. We never heard anything from our room anyway. In peak season they ususally have three a week, the only difference to us was that breakfast was served in another room on those days as the usual breakfast room is where the wedding breakfast is served, but its not too much of an issue.
There was a lovely chill out area too which was on the outskirts of the hotel and it was a nice place to go and have a few cocktails before we went out. Very relaxing and worth a visit.
My fiance played the golf course North and South and said they were both fantastic, the South course was particularly special apparently! Worth mentioning you can only play these courses if you are a resident at the hotel or a member. As soon as you check out, you aren't allowed to play! Seems like they were missing a trick, as they could have had another round of golf out of us, but they chose to reject it.
Overall though this is a brilliant hotel, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliana8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about our Hotel.

Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.
Regarding your comments about the sunbeds, we would like to inform you that it is not allow to book them; for that reason we will inform our Pool staff to work in this matter that will improve our facilities.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    327
    107
    44
    29
See reviews for
197
419
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koekelberg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We just stayed 5 days at this hotel, and are very pleased. The room was comfortable and quit.
We had a nice bathroom, and also a terras.
The breakfast is ok, coffee served via two machines, but of very good quality (No thermos coffee)
The staff was verry helpfull and polite, nad the bill at the end correct.
Towel service is ok, but you can not change for a dry towel during the day, sunbeds are good. The pool is clean and large enough. We had a good time, and we will go back.
You need a car arround there but it's a quit little place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your nice comments about your stay in our Hotel.

We are happy to know that you had enjoyed our hotel facilities and our staff met your expectations.

Regarding your comments about the pool towel system, we would like to inform you that you can change your used towel at the pool before 7 p.m. After that time, you can change it at the Front desk.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any requirement or in case you want to book again in our Hotel.


Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Hotel Guadalmina is a fantastic hotel with wonderful service. The rooms overlooking the golf course and beach are stunning. The pool is very large and there is a lot of seating on the beach. We upgraded to a junior suite and had a fantastic room overlooking the golf course and ocean. The two rooms and bathroom were beautiful. The service from reception and housekeeping was fantastic. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

The downsides are that people wake up early and put their towels out on the chairs around the pool and then go off and do other things. So we never were able to find a chair by the pool, but found plenty on the beach. The service in the restaurants was very slow. I felt like they were constantly understaffed. The dinner buffet is not very good, but the ala carte is. Lunch near the beach was very good as well. Just be prepared for slow service and requesting your bill multiple times.

The resort is about 45 minutes from the airport. Rather than take a taxi we arranged for pick up for 80 euro each way. It was well worth it. The resort was also about 20 euro taxi from Old Marbella and 10 euro taxi from Puerto Banus. It is also a 5 euro taxi away from the bus stop, where you can take day trips to Ronda, Malaga, Sevilla, etc. While there is construction, every taxi driver knew the hotel. It is set back through a residential neighborhood and not visible from the main road.

This is a fantastic hotel if you are a golfer, looking for a spa, or just want to be by the beach. We really enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelleyMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay in our Hotel. For us it is very important that our guest enjoy our facilities.

We thank you for the acknowledgement and attitude of our staff, in special from our Front Desk and Housekeeping Department. We are very proud of their work.

Regarding your comments about the Restaurant service, we appreciate them as they help us to improve our service every day. We will inform the Food & Beverage Manager about your comments.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you in our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Two friends, we've just returned from a 3 night stay booked through last minute. The hotel is quite hard to find but as I had been to the area before I had a good idea where the hotel was. The brand newly opened underpass makes the hotels directions now irrelevant.

Check in was quick. Some of the staff are a bit abrupt and rude. However our room smelt horribly of drains and it appears it's a common problem but staff did clean it again. Hairs in the bidet from previous occupants that never disappeared during 3 days and very dusty glasses on the mini bar showed cleaning was poor.

Service was painful in the bar and most of the poor waiters looked depressed! I think they seemed very understaffed. Shame plates were left out so long that the friendly local cats took their chance at eating off them on the tables, no interest from the staff in clearing the plates away!

Breakfast was lovely big choice, hot and cold. Lunch fab. Evening buffet looked great and cold dishes were superb but limited choice of hot dishes which were dried out.

Pool and beach areas superb, lovely well maintained gardens, wonderful views and great weather. We spent two of our days out but had time on the beach every evening. Great base for visiting Gibraltar, Ronda.

Chill out bar in the garden looked amazing but was mostly empty and the drinks weren't as good as in the bar but a lovely place to wind down.

Would definitely recommend despite some niggles

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time spent writing us your comments about your stay in our Hotel.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our Chill Out area and Restaurants.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you had during your stay with us in regards with the room and the staff. We have been informed all the departments involved in order to improve our service.

Hopping your impressions will get better in a possible next stay with us and we would like to welcome you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

A group of 8 golfers had a wonderful week at the hotel, great golf. lovely rooms, great pool, staff very friendly. We had to Sunday Brunch a bit expensive but well worth it. My only complaint was that we had valuables stolen from a golf bag whilst playing golf. so if your playing golf, leave all valuables in the room safe, as the golf course was separate from the hotel, we had no help from either hotel or golf clubhouse, very disappointing. But I would go back again one day.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments about your stay in our Hotel and the service received from our Staff.

Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best facilities.

Finally, we would like to show our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you had at the golf course.

Hopping your impressions will get better in a possible next stay; we would like to welcome you in our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
6.2 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
4.0 km away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
10.3 km away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.3 km away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
11.9 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Urb. Guadalmina Baja, s/n, 29678, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,035 - ₹ 21,754
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guadalmina SPA & Golf Resort. MarbellaAn unbeatable location right on the Beach and by two Golf Courses. Located only ten minutes from Marbella and Estepona and only five minutes from Puerto Banus. Restaurants offering International cuisine, Cocktail Bar, Beach Club, Business Centre, WIFI, Outdoor Sea Water Swimming pool, Solarium, Pool Bar, Meeting Rooms for events & Celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Marbella
Hotel Guadalmina Spa And Golf Resort
Guadalmina Hotel Marbella
Golf Hotel Guadalmina
Marbella Guadalmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing