We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and Enjoy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Don Pepe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relax and Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

There's nothing like a luxury break and this hotel ticks most of the boxes !
Easy check in and a porter that welcomes you to your room and explains the facilities Important book a room with a sea view ,open the curtains and you'll be happy to spend your vacation sat on the balcony.
The lobby and the champagne /oyster bar are very inviting and have cool chill out sounds in the background great for an early evening cocktail . Pool service excellent total relaxation , but what makes this Hotel is Cappuccino 's the beach front cafe ! Great music food and people watching this Hotel ticks many boxes but it's what you make it that counts.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike_tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    364
    105
    31
    34
See reviews for
377
783
53
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

When ordering the room we requested a room high up in the seven story building. The room rate then included the right to use the Red Level Club with its free snacks and drinks. This added approx a 100 EUR/day to a room between 1-3 floor, in my opinion the extra service of the Red Level Club did not justify the additional charge. Room was clean and sheets changed on a daily basis. BF was a good Spanish standard, service friendly in the hotel on all levels. For the price, the room was quite small.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are a British Couple travelling from Manchester on Monarch.
We've just come back form a few days in the Gran Melia as Red Level Junior Suite guests.
We were greated fantasticly with bubbles and a tour of the hotel inc the Red Level Lounge. The hotel itself is lovely and all the staff were great.

The Junior Suite itself is very nice but I would say was a little small. The bathroom was narrow and more for one person use, but the two basins suggested otherwise. The wrap around balcony was narrow but useful, great views of the sea at floor 3 or above due to the trees from the garden.
Our TV was hung on the wall at an angle. Being two men we had a look and it was defo the bracket that had been attached wrong rather than the tv not being level. That's poor attention to detail.
The TV picture is really bad and snowy. There is only the News in English (I think). We connected the laptop to it via our own hdmi cable and a walkman via our own phono lead. Note, you have to lift the tv off the wall to connect these (it's not heavy).
In this day and age all these things should be ready for you.

We had a nosey at the Superior/deluxe rooms and they were smaller still (without the lounge) and were defo small.
That style of room at the Ritz Carlton (Gran Melia seem to be alligning themselves with) is twice the size.

We had breakfast in the hotel which was good, they had everything inc a really nice view of the garden. We did have a mis-hap due to over zealous staff clearing the table whilst we were having eggs made but this didn't really matter as the hot drinks were replaced quickly.

We didn't eat dinner here due wanting to explore the town which is literally 10mins walk out the back of the hotel along the prom - which is really very nice.
Friends that we made at the hotel did eat once in the restaurant (off the bar) which is used for the Half Board guests and said the food was dreadful. This agrees with other reviewers on tripadvisor.

However you can get a decent quick meal at the hotels beach bar. We had a Steak and a curry. Both were nice but cold. We were too hungry to complain and wait again so we just ate it. It was very tasty and the cooked to our liking. The cafe made up for it with a free coffee and brandy each.
This cafe is an excellent place for a coffee or a snack/light meal. Really very smart and seems that the locals use it too. The coffee brand is Illy and much nicer than the hotels fairtrade stuff. It's the most popular beach front cafe at lunchtime really speaks volumes to me.

The Red Level lounge always had food of some sort that was very good quality. Although we never saw the afternoon tea/cakes which we did turn up for several times. There is an open bar between 6 and 8pm (9pm in Summer) that consists of bottles to make your own drink (Gin, Vodka, dark rum, whiskey - all premium brands). I asked for a bottle of Dry Martini and a cocktail shaker so we could make vodka-martinis. This didn't go down well with the actual bar staff, so they made us one on the house and said we'd have to purchase them in future.
Not to be beaten I made esspesso or gin martinis instead!
I believe there should have been Cava available all day but only saw this once. That's a shame (like the cake) as it's nice with a splash of vodka in the evening.

The internet is VERY slow. don't bother paying for it in your room. Use your mobile phone and link to a laptop (which you can borrow from the hotel) if you can get a deal/pass with your provider. Mine is Virgin and it works well.

The hotel is very clean. maids helpful, turn down service good.
This is probably the best hotel in the area and would stay here again as it's walking distance from the town where there are many good restaurants especially near Orange Square (bistro paloma 29600 has to be the best we visited).
A cab to Orange Square is about 6 Euro if the 10 min walk is too much for you.

Transfer tip: get a price from the hotel as a taxi is £70 from the airport each way. We hired a car for our trip of 4 nights which was £70, and of course you have the use of it during your stay (parking is free at the hotel). So much cheaper. Check that the car hire company is actually based at the airport, ours wasn't although they claimed to be. It's only a short minibus journey but is another 30 mins to allow for when returning the car. They do take you back to the airport though.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above. Junior Suites have a wrap around balcony as they're on the corners of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CraigManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Luxurious and informal hotel that seemed to cater well for couples and families. Very helpful staff - especially if your spanish is a bit dodgy! Great choice of breakfast and good pool side bar. Main restaurant is a bit pricey and other local restaurants offer equally good food. Plenty of car parking and only a 10 minute walk into Marbella old town with plenty of shops etc. Would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent a week in the one of the penthouse suites at the hotel following an upgrade from a normal suite. We were very happy with the hotel, our son was supplied with a play station and was made to feel very welcome and the room and terrace facilities were excellent. If I have a criticism it would be that the hotel is clearly longlived and this does show a bit, though I understand further refurbishment is en route. There were a few teething problems with the shower- when we arrived it had two settings of 'scalding hot' to 'earth's core' neither of which were bearable. However the hotel fixed it immediately. There was also an occasional 'drain' smell but it was intermittent soci forgot to mention it to reception.

Breakfast is good and plentiful with a wide selection and special children's bar. We ate in the Farrola grill a couple of times. In the evening. The food is ok, but the atmosphere is a bit stuffy and formal. It's a shame that their other restaurants are closed during winter.

The common areas are very pleasant with nice areas to sit. The design is diverse and attractive.

The gym is a bit underwhelming - they could really use some elliptical trainers - they have some cycling and running machines, a multigym and a step machine - could be better. The indoor pool is ok but quite small. If you're into being fit, a better option is to run along the seafront in the direction of puerto banus.

Overall a good enjoyable stay in a friendly unpretentious hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissNomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.6 km away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
4.2 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
1.7 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.7 km away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.0 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Property: Gran Melia Don Pepe
Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,896 - ₹ 52,710
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing