We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views and villa but complicated location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Tranquila

Front Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Terrace
Patio/views Casa Tranquila
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Front Terrace
Patio/views
Casa Tranquila
Ariel view of villa & the coast
Pool and Views
Front of Villa
Terrace
Lounge/Dining
Lounge/Dining
Kitchen
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marbella, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kirsty D
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Each to Their Own Opinion”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This review is based on what we would have wished to know to make an informed choice of our holiday booking and we didn't feel was fully described:
The villa is on two floors; the staircase is fairly narrow and steep. All three bedrooms have apex ceilings and, even at 5’2”, I had to bend double to get to in and out of bed.
The owners are living below you and did come round to the villa on a few occasions and we did not hear them until they were on the patio at the back of the villa. We felt if they needed to check on something they could have when we were out or called up to us beforehand.
There are a number of dogs in the vicinity as you are in rural area, so it's inevitable, and fortunately we are used to barking dogs !! It was nice to see the beautiful horses exercising in their paddock below..
In our opinion, a car is definitely essential not desirable as stated. The drive to the shopping centre and town centre / beaches are somewhat longer, in our experience, than 5 or 10 minutes. Taxis cannot find the villa. Though David did say he would drop us off in town if we wished.
Although there a very few passing vehicles, the willow type fencing did not give the total privacy we want on a holiday and you could see into the villa / pool area.
The garden and pool area were clean and tidy and the pool is adequate for a swim and cooling off.
It is a competitively priced villa for visiting Marbella.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunshine
Liked least: Lack of Privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsobelSto...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and villa but complicated location”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I had an overall extremely enjoyable experience at Casa Tranquila. It was very clean when we arrived and they even had done the small touches of leaving fresh milk, water and juice for us. We were right on the outskirts of the town, but felt remote enough at the same time, only a 5 minute drive to the supermarket and a 10 minute drive to the centre of Marbella. However, sadly, there were a few downsides to our stay that weren’t advertised. Firstly, we had dogs barking pretty much all day and all night, the bedroom ceiling is so low that my 6 ft1 partner could only just about step into the room without bumping his head. Lastly, you are not able to order a taxi to the address as you are very remote in the mountains, but you are able to have a taxi drop you back. Despite that, we had an amazing time and we would definitely still recommend it to our friends and family. Thank you to Dave & Sonya for the accommodation and giving us top advice on the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fancyfree...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was the most peaceful and comfortable holidays I've had! The views are breathtaking and the villa has great views all round. Sonia and David (the owners) are a delight! nothing is too much trouble for them and the villa is spotless and well furnished.
Situated in the real Spanish countryside yet only a few minutes drive to Marbella and beaches.
The pool is great too and kept clean and inviting-in fact, I had such a peaceful and relaxing time I rarely left the villa. Why sunbathe and swim on a crowded beach when you've got a private villa and pool!!
Already booked for next year. Thank you Sonia and David

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevDeb201...
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wrong name for this villa”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was far from "Tranquil".
So many dogs barking all day and night that we walked out after four days.
The owners said it was strays but this is not true.
This was listed as detached but if you include the fact that the owners live under you, then I would say this is not detached.
Some very clever photography does not show that if you are over 5 foot tall, you can only stand up in the center of the roof apex of the bedrooms.
Also the pool looks quite large in the photos. Do not be fooled, this is because the villa is so small.
I am going to complain to Holiday lettings as this villa is not as advertised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The day we walked out
Liked least: Dogs Dogs Dogs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the villa. We wish you had not left without speaking to us before you left as we could at least have discussed your concerns. Living In Spain you discover that the majority of dogs live outside virtually 24/7 & when disturbed can be noisy. Most Spanish people view this as normal & acceptable, its their culture so its something you have to accept & for the majority of our guests has not been a problem. We do live underneath the villa. However the villa has a private entrance is totally walled/fenced & clients are not overlooked or disturbed. Most clients comment that it is an advantage having us close at hand because of our local knowledge & should any problems arise. The general feedback we get is very good in that the bedrooms are satisfactory for there purpose & the pool at 6x4metres is sufficiently large enough to have a relaxing swim & to cool off. They also comment that it would be very hard to find a holiday rental villa so close to Marbella with the facilities it has to offer at a more competitive price. Other reviews mention the photos & description do not do it justice. We really do try to make our clients stay a happy & comfortable one. We are sorry your stay was not all that you hoped for
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn E
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Superb”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Tranquila for three months and enjoyed every single day. On arrival it was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, with a well equipped kitchen and bathroom. The location has to be one of the best in Marbella as it's so close to all that Marbella has to offer but such in a peaceful setting. Once back at the villa it was hard to believe the hustle and bustle of Marbella was so close. David and Sonia (the owners) were just superb. They were always so kind and attentive on the occasions we needed help or advice but never intrusive. This is always a difficult balance to achieve and they have perfected it. We have travelled A LOT over the past few years, and met very nice people, but you would be hard pressed to meet nicer, kinder, more helpful, people.

We spent much more time at the villa than we imagined as it has a superb garden with three terraces and the sun (or shade) is always available. The pool in the summer would be bliss. The views on all sides of the villa were diverse and interesting, we never grew tired of the views. There are lovely walks from the lane outside the villa and the countryside is full of spring flowers and bird-life. Some friends, who were staying in a villa nearby, came for tea one afternoon and didn't want to leave!

Finally, and most importantly for us, the WiFi connection was fast and reliable. We were working during our stay and it was vital. Many (five star) hotels often fail in this area...

We will certainly be back next year, unless our friends book before us!
Thanks David and Sonia. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful views and faultless owners
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing