We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel at a very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel at a very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night on a business trip, it was a perfect hotel in a perfect location. Just around the corner from the main entry of Malaga train station. Also super close to walk anywhere in the center of Malaga, and old town. The modern structure and look is just a great find ! enjoy the big slide that takes you from fhe first floor to the reception hall. I recommend this place to all family or business travelers.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is good, you cannot hear a single thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_traveler_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    1,068
    186
    46
    21
See reviews for
427
1,413
147
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed one night here between flying into Malaga airport and getting a train to Seville. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the hotel's location is fantastic for this kind of stopover and there are a couple of decent neighbourhood bars a very short walk away if you don't want to sit in your room. We didn't, as we could not get the room to anything like a pleasant temperature despite fiddling with the air con and opening the window. This aside, the room was a good size, with a massive and very comfortable bed. The cot provided for our 2 year old was large and had been made up for us, and the shower was excellent. I would stay here again if we needed to do a similar journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsVacationLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We only stayed here 1 night, we flew into Malaga and got a bus from the airport to Granada where we stayed 6 nights, on the way back we stayed here for the night before flying home.We stayed here last year but my last review was'nt very positive, this one is. We both liked the room which was very big with a safe and mini fridge, the bed was huge.The shower had 3 different options,jets,a hand held shower or an over head shower, the towels were a bit rough and need to be renewed.It is about a 15/20 min walk into the town centre.We are going to Nerja in October this year and we will have a couple of nights in Malaga and we will probably stay here then.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tattieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, primarily due to the location as we used it as a base for day trips to Granada and Seville. Incredibly convenient, with a direct connection to the train station and 2 minutes from the bus station. Hotel is very quirky, with some great design features. Staff were friendly enough and the place was spotlessly clean. Excellent selection for breakfast. Walk into the Old Town takes 10-15 minutes. Plenty to do in Malaga, and a good choice of restaurants both in the centre and in the new Port development.

Only downside is the internal soundproofing. No noise from outside but we could hear lots of internal noise, even though the hotel wasn't that busy while we were there. Could be a problem when it's busy. But, all in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woburnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at the Barcelo in March. The hotel is ultra modern but this means it lacks much atmosphere. The hotel is aimed at the business sector & not really suitable for tourists. It is about a 15 min walk into the centre of Malaga & although right next door to a shopping centre there is very little to do at night. The hotel bar is so modern it lacks any comfort so few people used it. There is no outside space to have a relaxing drink. Having said all that the hotel is very clean, the staff are very polite & the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeggieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,455 - ₹ 19,966
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing