We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for train and bus station”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Handy for train and bus station”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We only stayed here 1 night, we flew into Malaga and got a bus from the airport to Granada where we stayed 6 nights, on the way back we stayed here for the night before flying home.We stayed here last year but my last review was'nt very positive, this one is. We both liked the room which was very big with a safe and mini fridge, the bed was huge.The shower had 3 different options,jets,a hand held shower or an over head shower, the towels were a bit rough and need to be renewed.It is about a 15/20 min walk into the town centre.We are going to Nerja in October this year and we will have a couple of nights in Malaga and we will probably stay here then.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tattieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,530
    1,107
    193
    50
    21
See reviews for
443
1,467
149
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, primarily due to the location as we used it as a base for day trips to Granada and Seville. Incredibly convenient, with a direct connection to the train station and 2 minutes from the bus station. Hotel is very quirky, with some great design features. Staff were friendly enough and the place was spotlessly clean. Excellent selection for breakfast. Walk into the Old Town takes 10-15 minutes. Plenty to do in Malaga, and a good choice of restaurants both in the centre and in the new Port development.

Only downside is the internal soundproofing. No noise from outside but we could hear lots of internal noise, even though the hotel wasn't that busy while we were there. Could be a problem when it's busy. But, all in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woburnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at the Barcelo in March. The hotel is ultra modern but this means it lacks much atmosphere. The hotel is aimed at the business sector & not really suitable for tourists. It is about a 15 min walk into the centre of Malaga & although right next door to a shopping centre there is very little to do at night. The hotel bar is so modern it lacks any comfort so few people used it. There is no outside space to have a relaxing drink. Having said all that the hotel is very clean, the staff are very polite & the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeggieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Plus.1 The position. You have a direct access to train station, so if you are on a business journey is fantastic.2 design. It's really a nice hotel, with modern interior design. 3 breakfast is really good. Contra. 1 the position. If you are not on business and you don't need the train there is no reason for sleeping in barceló. There are better solutions in front of the sea or in the city center. 2 beds and rooms are a little a very little bit aged for a 4 star hotel. 3. Parking. It's really expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern irealnd
Level Contributor
207 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here one night as we had an earlyish flighht out from Malaga the next morning. The hotel is located above the main station in Malaga so very handy for the train that goes out to the Airport. We arrived late morning from Cordoba but the room was ready within 15 minutes so we did not have to come back later to check in. The hotel is very modern - minimalist maybe is a better word and very well finished. The room we had was spacious, with large bed. Electronic window shutters can be used to close off daylight. Excellent bathroom with power shower jets.
We had breakfast in the somewhat soulless breakfast area - however there was a huge choice of items that would suit all tastes. The quality was good.
The only drawback to the hotel is it's location. As is common with areas around stations, it would not be somewhere that I would be comfortable in walking late at night - I have no reason to say this except that it just felt that way! It's a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Malaga. I could not find any decent restaurants outside of the station - though the station complex has several that might be OK. Failing that, it's a walk or a taxi ride into town to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pillhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
439 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,058 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 88 in Malaga
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,311 - ₹ 15,203
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing