We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern hotel”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“modern hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is ideal if travelling from the airport by train. You need to get off at Maria Zambrano and keep going right out of station/shopping centre. The hotel has lovely clean modern lines. Reception staff were friendly helpful and efficient. We were on the 6th floor. the room was plenty big enough for a city break. It had the biggest bed I've ever slept in which was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was good with a fantastic shower with powerful jets. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that.
We caught the bus into the centre of Malaga the first time to know the way, but walked there after, which took an enjoyable 10 to 15 mins. A good way to use up the calories from San Miguel and tapas! I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again on future trips to Malaga.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m0untain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    1,096
    187
    49
    21
See reviews for
438
1,447
148
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Clean modern hotel right beside the main train station so it was handy travelling from the airport in only 8 minutes. Room was clean and the bed was very large and comfortable. Extensive choice at the breakfast buffet which we had one day as we wanted to make a very early start, but a bit expensive at €15 per person. Going down the slide is a must and is great fun feature. A couple of minor niggles like a loose plug in the bath and loud noise when others let their doors slam but nothing that spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel location is excellent if you are arriving by train or bus. The hotel can be accessed from the train staion and the bus station is adjacent. You can travel to and from the airport for €1.40. The waterfront is a short walk away. There are lots of eateries in the station which is also a shopping centre.

The puiblic rooms are modern and the decor is a matter of taste. The bedrooms are spacious with excellent showering and bathing facilities. There is wifi in the rooms , a minibar but no tea or coffee facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a smart and modern hotel, which tends to look a little basic in its decor. The room was good and big and we had two large comfortable beds. The train station is adjacent and for a nights stay after travelling it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosomoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A lovely hotel in a very good location - above the railway station, with a shopping centre, bowling alley and a variety of restaurants and only 3 stops from the airport.
We had a really warm welcome (even though we arrived 3 hours early). The rooms were large and clean with very comfortable beds (sheets were a little to well starched, but I'm not going to complain as they were very clean). There was a seperate bathroom with a great power shower, big towels and complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. Decoration throughout the hotel was 'unique' with some great features. However, the highlight of my stay was definately the slide from the first to the ground floor - I was like a child for the day getting the lift from the 6th to the 1st floor then the slide down to the ground - everytime I left the hotel I had a big smile on my face ;0)
All in all we had a very comfortable night in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter - just make sure you only go to the first floor when you exit and take the sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 68sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,492 - ₹ 16,341
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing