We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday treat”

Restaurante Yerbaguena
Ranked #311 of 2,044 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A birthday treat”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It was like approaching a real Spanish Hacienda. We walked in and to the left was a large function room ready for entertainment and dancing and a large log fireplace for those cold winter evenings.There was a small, very nicely decorated bar entrance which was a mixture of little tables and nooks as well as high bar stools. There were some very unique tapas choices .The menu was all in Spanish but the very helpful waitress was charming and if you can't understand Spanish ( we can) she would simply Google translate the items on her bar mounted computer. Easy! The inner restaurant was on three levels and we chose a cosy table for two by the roaring fire. The food was spectacularly presented and very tasty but it is not a place to go if you're really hungry as the portions are more 'fine dining' than 'grub up!' The owner is Spanish but worked and lived in the South of England for many years so knows English and what the tourists like to eat. The menu offers fresh seasonal produce and is very well prepared. Overall, a special place for a special occasion. A little pricey for everydays out but we enjoyed it enormously.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank But2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    28
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“charming and friendly eatery with great produce and service, it just gets the balance just right”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We found this little gem a couple of years ago, and have taken so many friends there. Who similarly have taken other friends there, and it is always a treat.
The balance of excellent well trained and friendly staff make this so pleasant. We always have the menu digustacion, not sure if I spelled that correctly. But this is a sampler plate of fish, meat and other delicacies.
You can also use the bar if you do not want a full meal. It is on the far side of town and on the road to the station, set back on the right. Bit of a bugger to find, but that is the only criticism.
Javier is so welcoming, as is his staff.
It is just a wonderful modern taste of great Spanish food which is out of the norm.
The Hotel Fuente del Sol in La Joya could learn a lot about service by attending this restaurant. Prices are similar but that is where it stops.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime
Warm welcome shown directly to the table
Offered menus with a very helpful member of staff who spoke excellent English
He explained the menu in detail
The experience was very different with wonderful combinations that challenged the taste buds and brain.
The restaurant wine recommendations were brilliant matching the food to perfection and excellent value for money most bottles averaged 12 -15 euros.
Well worth the drive to get there.
I will be returning as often as possible.
A very satisfied customer

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Middlesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A culinary adventure”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Good food is our main target wherever we travel, so right after arriving to Malaga, we opened Tripadvisor to see what the city could offer. Yerbaguena was one of the most recommended restaurants, and although it is not in Malaga (it is in Campillon, a small village an hours drive from the city), we decided to go there for lunch... and later it turned out to be a very good decision.
We left Malaga quite late, and to make things worse, we got lost in Campillon, so we had to ask a local guy to help us. When he heard the name Yerbaguena, he told us the route without thinking. That was a good sign.
When we arrived, we were seated at the bar while our table was being prepared. While drinking our welcome beers, one of the waiters, Javier joined us, and a lot of our questions about Spain in general, and about Yerbaguena had been answered. We went to our table in a very good mood. Both of us chose the tasting menu, and the culinary adventure of southern Spain started. 1 starter, 5 main dishes and 2 desserts, all perfectly made, and in beautiful compositions. For each dish, detailed explanations from Javier, and some really good wines.
When we finished, we were invited to the bar, where we spotted some Hungarian sweet wines with pride (we are from Hungary), and that led to a conversation with Javier about sweet wines, which ended up in another tasting, now sweet Spanish wines, all of them great, again with the help of Javier. When we left (we spent almost 4 hours there), we felt fantastic.
And we just realized now, reading another Tripadvisor-review, that Javier is the owner of the place. We feel even more privileged now, thanks, Javier! :)
Highly recommended restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IstvanGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Forget Michelin stars and chefs who spend more time on TV than in their kitchens. This is exceptional food in a nicely-presented dining and bar area, with an owner who both cares about the food and also speaks excellent English. We had the degustacion memu at lunchtime and it was superb - memorable dishes include home-made pate of the higest quality, and beef cheek with bitter chocolate sauce. The owner suggested a modest local rose wine - no attempt to push his most expensive wines. Trip Advosor readers need to be clear that this restaurant is not in Malaga city (it is in Malaga Province) or on the coast. Campillos is a nice village well inland on the road from Antequera towards Ronda. But this is well worth the trip !!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Yerbaguena also viewed

Campillos, Province of Malaga
Campillos, Province of Malaga
 
Campillos, Province of Malaga
 
Campillos, Province of Malaga
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Yerbaguena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing