We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Having read a few previous reviews of the hotel I was nervous of what to expect. However, I was pleasantly surprised. We arrived before official check in time and was able to gain immediate access to my room. The reception staff were very friendly. The room was a typical HIE standard and experienced absolutely no problems whatsoever - no disturbance by aeroplane noise seeing it is fairly close to the airport. Getting there from the airport was very easy - take the number 19 bus from the arrivals at the airport and it is the first stop. At the bus stop there is a blue bridge crossing the busy main road and then a 200 yard walk. The same bus (and 2 others) can be taken to the city centre which are frequent and only take 20minutes again for 1.20 or 2 Euros dependent on which bus you get. The 'A' bus (stop outside the hotel) takes you back to the airport for 2 Euros so no 20 Euro taxis! Our stay at the hotel was relaxing and the decor is pretty good. The only one improvement I would suggest to the hotel is having better quality towels. Otherwise, a very good experience and nice friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizand30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    465
    436
    114
    68
See reviews for
349
475
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had no difficulty finding this property (as others have reported) using GPS. It is JUST before the exit to the airport and was very convenient to return our car. However, the property does NOT provide shuttle service to the airport so your options are either a) fixed price of E15 for a taxi or b) E2/person for the bus that stops in front of the petrol station next door. As we had an early flight on a Sunday morning and could not get definitive information on the bus schedule, we opted for the taxi. In retrospect, it would have also been an easy, less than 10-minute walk (we had only carry-on-sized rolling bags).

Room was clean and appropriately sized for the cost/class (we used Priority Club points to book). There were only towels for 1 person in a two-bedded room but since the maids were in the hallway when we checked in we were able to grab more. We arrived well before the advertised check-in time and after a wait of only 10 minutes were able to secure our room.

Wifi was NOT included in the price which surprised us. The cost was ~ E12 for 24 hours and 2 devices were able to be connected at the same time. Once connected, service was reliable and fast for both a tablet and Blackberry.

Front desk staff spoke above average English and were helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheSportsPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Good location for an early flight, that is this hotel's ONLY asset.
The man at the front desk during the day was helpful enough, but the woman there at night was extremely surly and rude. We asked for an extra blanket and were told "IF we have one, we won't be able to bring it to you for a couple of hours." What kind of hotel doesn't have an abundance of extra blankets? We ate in the restaurant once, food was good, service was terrible. Wi-fi not free, very expensive. The business center charges by the minute for access.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLG603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Tocane Saint-Apre, France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I had thought that Holiday Inns were of a uniformly high standard - did not realise that the "Express" are so down-market. We thought the hotel was very near the airport and would be easy to find after we had given back our hire car. It was not. We spent an hour driving around the suburbs trying to find it - after asking twice by phone how to find it, and at two garages - and we have University degrees! Part of the trouble is that the hotel does not have a fluorescent sign at a high level, as we expected - we saw Ibis & Novotel - also there are no indications that we could see. Eventually we found it, dropped off our luggage, returned our car and took a bus back. We did not know there was a bridge and were nearly killed crossing the motorway. The next day we took a taxi. It cost 15 euros! As it was New Year's Day we were charged double for our meal! That is to say, the menu was "unavailable", but we were given exactly the same food - at twice the price. Also, breakfast was included but as we had an early flight this was impossible, so we asked if we could have a drink & a cake to take instead. This was refused, even though there was an automatic machine selling these, so it would have been easy for the staff to provide.

It was cheap. The accommodation was adequate. It was possible to have a meal at a fairly late hour (around 9.30 - but of course this is not late in Spain). The staff were friendly. That's the best we can say for it.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, a short way along the corridor - and we were glad of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliannaLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Good hotel for an early flight. It is about a 20 minute walk to the airport. Although we would recommend taking a taxi because if you walk you have to run across some very busy highways. The cost of the taxi for us at 5am was €14. The hotel was equipped with a restaurant and every kind of vending machine possible. The staff spoke English and they were at the desk 24/7. Our biggest complaint was that WiFi was not free. We had to pay €3.50 for an hour of WiFi to check into our flight. The rugs were also quite stained and worn. Our towels in our room were stained and we had to go ask for new ones. The shower was warm but the pressure would go way up and then down to just about a drizzle. The walls are also very thin. Our neighbors kids were yelling and screaming all night. If you have a very early flight this place will work, otherwise look somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silentsnake09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
1.3 km away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#55 of 89 in Malaga
415 reviews
2.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
2.5 km away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#43 of 89 in Malaga
374 reviews
1.6 km away
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#23 of 89 in Malaga
287 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,303 - ₹ 11,172
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing