We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“endorsement of all the previous reviews of this...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chorro

tradional old townhouse living room leads to courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
tradional old townhouse living room leads to courtyard
the traditional castillian front door the street outside our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
tradional old townhouse living room leads to courtyard
the traditional castillian front door
the street outside our house
bridge from master bedroom to sun terrace
sun terrace has sun shade and two sunloungers
the sun terrace
welcome to our house .
original tile in courtyard
original doorknocker
stone lion on courtyard steps
central shaded courtyard
master en suite bedroom opening to sun terrace
single bedroom with balcony overlooking street
downstairs en suite bedroom
upstairs shower
well equipped kitchen
relax on comfortable sofas...dining table is near the kitchen
in living room looking into the courtyard
corner in living room
living room with courtyard door open
courtyard
blue flag beach 3 mins walk from the house
the promenade by the blue flag beach 2 minutes walk
charming street in the old town
al fresco eating in plaza de la flores 5 minutes walk
streets in the old town now mainly pedestrianized
fountain beside the popular ice cream parlour
yachts moored in  the puerto
fishing on our local beach
sunset at the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Estepona, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gillvisic...
Pevensey, United Kingdom
1 review
“endorsement of all the previous reviews of this excellent property”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We visited in October 2013 for one week and liked the property and the location so much that we returned for 5 weeks in Jan/Feb 2014. The house is comfortable and well equipped. There are lots of books and it is possible to get English films on television (channel 24). It is only 5 minutes walk from the sea front and various bars and eating places. The old town is all around and is beautifully decorated with hanging baskets of geraniums and tubs of plants outside every house. The weather at this time of years is variable, one week was cool and windy, but most of the rain was at night and every day there was sunshine for at least part of the time. The temperature , though cool night and morning, was always mid 60s for several hours mid day. We were able to lie out on the loungers on the terrace between 3 and 6 on many days and often sat outside restaurants at lunchtime. Cathy was always attentive and helpful and kept in touch with us during our stay. We will certainly be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the postion of the property in the old town and close to the beach
Liked least: lack of WiFi connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2014
Thank you very much to this guest regarding the english film channel !
Its very helpful to share info like this.....We are also incredibly pleased that they wanted to come back for another stay with family and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scon_13
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full of charm and character! Viva Espana!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Calle Chorro with our 4 children, aged 9-15, and it was absolutely perfect! There was something for everyone and all within a short walk - not an easy holiday to find with teenagers in tow! Exploring the old town, which the house is in, and the nearby port area kept the adults happy; shopping, Wi-Fi cafes and watersports kept the teenagers happy; fabulous beaches (Al Rada beach is 2 mins walk; Cristo beach 10mins walk, and numerous others which are walkable (long walk) or within easy reach in a taxi) kept the little ones happy!
We all loved the house itself - full of character and traditional Spanish charm, well looked after, an internal courtyard and a sun terrace on the roof of what appears to have been the original 'donkey house' - now a lovely, cool, double bedroom! The owners have thought of everything - clear directions, beach towels, sun umbrellas, beach mats, extensive selection of DVDs and books, local information books, take away menus (we had a lovely Chinese meal delivered to the door on a lazy day)... the list goes on .. We enquired beforehand about Wi-Fi, TV etc but in actual fact, we didn't ever switch the TV on or even consider it, nor did we miss WIFI - there was so much to do! When our teenagers wanted wi fi, they simply walked to the end of the road and chose a café, conversing in Spanish the entire time (our reason for going to Spain) with neighbours, in shops and in cafes - which was much more fun than sitting indoors! The old town is beautiful and the house is a minutes walk from Plaza del Flores and the buzz of meandering streets around it - all of which are 'alive' until the small hours; however Calle Chorro itself is a quiet street with friendly (stereotypical old ladies sitting out in the street :) )neighbours - the best of both worlds!
If you hate soul-less hotel rooms and want everything rolled into one - a real taste of Spain, authentic charm, beaches, shopping, endless selection of tapas bars, churinguitos, cafes, restaurants, history, walking, relaxing, watersports all literally around a corner or two - this is the place!
One other important detail - the owner was wonderfully helpful and easy to get hold of from the outset, making booking and the stay itself all run very smoothly!
Can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and location
Liked least: the size of the fridge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Its great that all the different family members liked the area and what Estepona has to offer ...and just as importantly they enjoyed staying in our house.
And we continue to strive for good customer service...thank you for the great feedback !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tradtional spanish charm of the house
Liked least: No television channels to watch and no wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 May 2013
Thank you for great feedback....we can now report we have recently resolved the tv issue. You can now receive local programmes as well as a variety of digital prorammes some of which are transmitted in English.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky layout
Liked least: no tv (husband a news fanatic!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Thank you for a lovely review.....its keeping us on our toes !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LLIJUk
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Casa with Enormous Charisma”
Reviewed 7 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This for me was a return visit to a place that holds many happy memories. I had visited several times before, usually armed with paints and brushes in an attempt to record some of Estepona's loveliness. As it was a few years since my last stay, I had hoped that Estepona would still hold it's magical charm. I wanted my family to join with me and sample the experience. There had been little change. The dear little town was still as authentic, friendly and non touristy as I had remembered. Needless to say the whole family were completely won over.
Booking Cathy's adorable, genuine Spanish Casa, was spot on. The house location could not have been better. It sits unassumingly amidst it's whitewashed neighbours within the maze of hilly, narrow streets that form this beautiful seaside town. Turning corners often reveals 'a little gem of a hidden square' with floral displays or stone monuments. Well kept churches and chiming bells add to the charm.
Shopping is a joy. The many smart shops, often sharing their streets with colourful and lively market stalls, bring additional interest to the vibrant atmosphere.
We enjoyed meandering through all of this lovely liveliness, even at midnight . Finding ourselves amongst scores of Spanish families three, even four generations deep. It was great not being confronted with groups of drunken youths as you might do in some UK towns and cities, a heart warming and unforgettable experience. Family life does seem to have remained a constant and huge priority in this Spanish town.
Although ever watchful and not complacent, it did appear to me, to be one of the safest places I've been in, at that time of night. Having said that, I'm not really a night bird and tend to be under my duvet by ten, so perhaps I'm not the one to judge!
The choice of eating places in town is almost uncountable. The ones we tried were all reasonably priced and gave excellent value and great quality food. A westerly stroll along the child and people friendly prom, with it's playgrounds and sand sculptures, takes you to the busy port with many more restaurants, bars and later still (but long after my bedtime), nightclubs, which are often open until dawn! In an easterly direction, the prom leads you to a great hypermarket which would be an absolute delight to any fish or meat (or cake) eater!

Cathy, from the first communication, was attentive, easily contactable and more than happy to ensure that our requirements, as a family of three generations, were met. The youngest of the family was nine, so therefore quite old enough to negotiate the stairs, in relative safety. As I am only 61 and still (sort of) agile I managed well too!
The house was perfect for us and met with all our needs. Washing machine and hob , although seldom used were a real bonus. As others have said, it really does feel like home. It was perfectly clean and the little imperfections (such as the odd little flake of paint missing) just added to the homeliness and authentic charm. A lovely change and contrast to a soulless 'could be anywhere in the world' hotel room. It's comfortable beds and good quality sheets were appreciated. The neighbours were welcoming and more than happy to pose for a quick photo.
Although quite compact, the layout with it's three bedrooms, each having it's own bathroom, felt spacious and comfortable. Kitchen, lounge and outside space, were all met with great approval from us all. Maybe, if you're bringing children (when it's not beach weather) it could be worth considering taking electronic games for them as there is no TV. The DVD didn't seem to be tuned in (unless it was just that we didn't persevere enough)! Having said that, there were few times when they would have used it, as we were pretty busy throughout our stay and there really is so much to do. My son and his eldest son, enjoyed a couple of scuba diving trips, booked from a diving shop in the port.

Most days were spent enjoying the plentiful 'much needed' summer sunshine. It ranged in temperature from hot to flaming hot! In all that heat, La Rada beach (just a few minutes walk) proved the 'place to be'. The beach gives a broad, soft sanded, greeting to the sometimes gentle and sometimes whopping waves of the Mediterranean. Apart from a few annoying jellyfish encounters, the family had many laughs and great fun during our relaxing times by the sea. Being a Blue Flag beach the facilities were very good (although on our last day there appeared to be no one on duty in the beach patrol area). Maybe it was the end of the summer season. Prior to this, green and yellow flags had been flown to indicate the safety level of the sea. With young children, I think Christo beach (just west of the port) with it's sheltered shallow bay, would be a good choice. Especially on those days when La Rada is a bit too rough for little ones.
On the few occasions we used the local taxis, we found them to be prompt and reasonable in price for local journeys. The airport run is quite expensive but a jolly good bus (better described as a coach) runs from outside the airport to Marbella and then on to Estepona. Much more affordable and quite frequent, although very late flights come in after the service has ceased, for the night.
I have had many memorable holidays in my life, to all sorts of weird and wonderful places. This one certainly rates very highly on my list owing to the super location, the old fashioned family fun and the Cathy's Little Casa with it's enormous charisma.

Thanks Cathy, I do hope that when I wish to book next time all these brilliant reviews .. won't mean it's fully booked!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling welcomed into the Spanish community
Liked least: Jellyfish in the sea!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2012
This is such a glowing and comprehensive review.... Im incredibly appreciative not only of the time and trouble taken to write it but also of the fact that the family loved our house and the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing