We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all bad....”
Review of Hostal Centro Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Centro Sol
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not all bad....”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I booked Centro Sol a couple of days before going to Cadiz and then read all the reviews that said how bad it was.....arrived slightly fearful of what I'd let myself in for, I was pleasantly surprised that the staff were really friendly. Admittedly our room didn't have an outside window (as I said we booked it late, and Cadiz was full) but it had effective air con, a powerful shower and was clean.

The rooms are located around a central patio, but noise wasn't a problem, however only the front rooms have a balcony/windows onto the street. The hostal is very centrally located (close to the Cathedral), so makes a great base for exploring the city, just make sure you get a good map from tourist info.

It may not be the best value but August is high season in Cadiz and this is still one of the cheapest places to stay. I would book here again, but ask for a room with a balcony next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinktoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    21
    17
    30
See reviews for
7
35
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calenzano, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

People at reception were very rude and unhospital. they even didn't say thank you when we paid; once, we were coming back to the hostel from the beach, we entered and the owner, instead of telling us "hi" as he should do, he shouted us: "what do you want, the hostel is complete!" the rooms were small, and the window was overlooking on a horrible, little and dirty atrium. the unique positive side was the ubication in the very center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvia_a83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cadiz hotels

London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Amazingly central location that was completely spoilt by the noise - all the rooms lead off one central atrium that echoed through the flimsy doors and basically prevented me from sleeping for our stay. The owner was unnecessarily grumpy (I hate to think how rude he would have been if we couldn't speak Spanish), and it wasn't particularly good value for money. Only stay here if it's a last resort and you can't find anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everwanderering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Never have I encountered two people less suited to their profession - the concept of hospitality seems lost on the primitive pair of brutes who rule this shabby roost. I have no doubt that sitting all day in this stinking place might affect one’s mood, but that is no excuse for their behaviour. Initial unfriendliness soon descended into rudeness and was verging on the outright hostile by the time of our departure.

If this doesn’t put you off, consider these:

-You will be charged if you check out even a few minutes late;

-The beds are not only five feet long but are also covered with thick plastic incontinence sheets;

-The oppressive stench of human sewage pervades the entire hostel;

-The windows of many rooms open onto a tiny internal air shaft. This means no natural light, no fresh air and having to sleep to the echoes of people’s visits to the lavatory.

Centro Sol is also a particularly poor choice if you happen to hail from England. It was implied that, being English, we deserved bad treatment, as Brute Number 1 had experienced unfriendliness in Britain many years ago. It is unclear whether such grudges are held against citizens of other countries. However, I suggest you only go here if you're the kind of person who pays to be humiliated.

  • Liked — The fact that it's in the centre of an extremely cool city
  • Disliked — The stench, beds, and bad attitude
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LeGrandRoutard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

This so-called 'Hostel' is actually the stomping ground of really scary people who live every day of their lives enraged by the fact that they are still running a hostel when they would actually much prefer to be doing something else, ideally involving the opportunity to berate captive tourists but on some one else's property.

I can wholeheartedly re-inforce the above reviewer's sentiment regarding this hostel. the owners are big and scary and the rooms are small and smelly. the room cleaning lady was actually nice, but she didn't get on with the big guys either. my room also smelt of bad drains (as did the shower water) and the loos are laid out so that almost everyone in rooms around the central area can hear what every one else is 'getting up to' on their loo.

further, the owners like to shout and play radio and argue amongst themselves (when there aren't any tourists around to pick on), especially early in the morning. and be careful not to answer back in spanish if they speak to you in english. apparently this is a well-renowned sign of dis-respect.

However, Cadiz is AWESOME so do go, but whatever you do don't stay here.....unless you are into being intimidated by your hosts.

  • Liked — Leaving it, knowing that i would never have to go back, ever!!
  • Disliked — Having to go back to it at the end of the day, and waking up in it in the morning.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AAGillLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
102.6 km away
Hotel Meson Fuente del Pino
0.2 km away
Bahia Hotel
Bahia Hotel
#18 of 28 in Cadiz
55 reviews
11.4 km away
H2 Salymar
H2 Salymar
#15 of 28 in Cadiz
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
318 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Las Cortes De Cadiz
0.4 km away
Francia y Paris
Francia y Paris
#20 of 28 in Cadiz
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Centro Sol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Centro Sol

Property: Hostal Centro Sol
Address: Calle Manzanares 7, 11005 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cadiz
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,941 - ₹ 9,304
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Centro Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Centro Sol cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing