We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
30
30
14
13
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
30
14
13
50
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We stayed, because we were desperately hungry, but witnessed three other tables get up and leave after waiting for service. We waited over an hour to get our undercooked food, wrong drink orders all despite advance reservations and a 2/3 empty terrace. The waiter looked at us like we were aliens when we enquired about menus, he studiously ignored us and other tables, pretending to be busy, carrying one glass or dirty napkin away from an empty table one at a time. Totally Bizarre experience. I actually thought it was an act and a hidden camera crew might jump out. Food was ordinary at best, and ridiculously undercooked in one case.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

I have to start by saying that, regretfully, I did not stay here. However I fell in love with Isla del Moro and had two wonderful meals at the Isleta Restaurant. Must tries: cuajadera de pescado and the calamar en aceite. These dishes will take about 45 minutes to cook so in the meantime enjoy the views and the wine.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eos16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We arrived today at 3.45pm. There were 3/4 empty tables on the sea front side set up for food, so we chose a table not set up. Waiter arrives and he asked if we were eating or drinking, we said just some wine please. Wrong reply, we were told to go and sit at the back of the hotel. I don't think so! At 4.00pm who is going to eat at this time of year? We were with friends who have just bought in this area, never been to Isaleta before and now will not return. So we drove onto Agua Amarga and found a lovely bar who wanted our trade. We have lived here for 10 years and never experienced this attitude here before, perhaps if the Hostal read this then they might have a talk to the waiter?

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gralorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I can't imagine anybody having a negative thing to say about this beautiful place. The location is straight out of Captain Correli's Maldolin or Mama Mia - more Greek pension in terms of look and feel than Spanish. The hotel/restaurant is set in the heart of the Cabo de Gata so it is as far from the maddening crowd as you can imagine - but this is its charm. The restaurant is hugely authentic, a pretty indoor area with whitewashed natural walls, fishnet decor and rustic furniture. Outside is the most magnificent terrace overlooking the most breathtaking natural harbor. The fresh fish plate jumps from the sea to your platter in a matter of hours and it is beyond delicious. As you eat on the terrace watch fishermen bring the catch home - or watch them sell squid from a bucket for a pittance on the shore. Throw a few crumbs into the water to see a feeding frenzy of teeny fish demolish the feast in a vortex of water. Sit beside brightly painted boats and marvel at how lucky you are to be in such a stunning place.

This is a very popular location in summer (even though in the middle of nowhere) so terrace tables must be booked. Yes it can be a little hectic when busy but this is not the kind of experience you want to hurry. If you want ship shape and polish then stick with the resorts. If you want flavors to die for in a dream location that will stay with you long after the experience itself, then welcome to one of Andalucia's hidden gems.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here but I hear the rooms overlook the water, only €50 b&b in stunning location; rooms basic but adequate
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishP_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were tempted by an outside table on the terrace overlooking the sea. On location it delivers but it was chaotic, not enough staff for the number of tables.The food was average and very expensive, lunch was 51 euros and we only had one wine and one beer. All side dishes are extra and afterwards we realise we had been charged for a salad that never arrived!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingGirl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews