We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat here - Poor service and overpriced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almeria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Restaurante Isleta Del Moro
Reviewed 18 February 2016

My wife and I visited this restaurant with two friends for lunch today. Two of us ordered the Sea Bass which, on the menu was priced at 18 euros. The sea bass orders took so long to be served that the other two meals were more or less finished by the time they eventually arrived. When we were finally presented with the bill we were charged 54 euros each for the sea bass and, on querying this, were told that the price varied with the weight. We argued that this had not been explained and that we had ordered meals at 18 euros. On asking to speak with the owner or manager the waiter said there had been a mistake and off he went with the bill. He returned some minutes later with a new bill on which the sea bass was priced at 27 euros. Eventually, we gave up arguing and paid the bill. Will never go here again.

Room Tip: Don't know about the accommodation, only had experience of their restaurant service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mikejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2015

We stayed, because we were desperately hungry, but witnessed three other tables get up and leave after waiting for service. We waited over an hour to get our undercooked food, wrong drink orders all despite advance reservations and a 2/3 empty terrace. The waiter looked at us like we were aliens when we enquired about menus, he studiously ignored us and other tables, pretending to be busy, carrying one glass or dirty napkin away from an empty table one at a time. Totally Bizarre experience. I actually thought it was an act and a hidden camera crew might jump out. Food was ordinary at best, and ridiculously undercooked in one case.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

I have to start by saying that, regretfully, I did not stay here. However I fell in love with Isla del Moro and had two wonderful meals at the Isleta Restaurant. Must tries: cuajadera de pescado and the calamar en aceite. These dishes will take about 45 minutes to cook so in the meantime enjoy the views and the wine.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eos16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We arrived today at 3.45pm. There were 3/4 empty tables on the sea front side set up for food, so we chose a table not set up. Waiter arrives and he asked if we were eating or drinking, we said just some wine please. Wrong reply, we were told to go and sit at the back of the hotel. I don't think so! At 4.00pm who is going to eat at this time of year? We were with friends who have just bought in this area, never been to Isaleta before and now will not return. So we drove onto Agua Amarga and found a lovely bar who wanted our trade. We have lived here for 10 years and never experienced this attitude here before, perhaps if the Hostal read this then they might have a talk to the waiter?

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gralorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I can't imagine anybody having a negative thing to say about this beautiful place. The location is straight out of Captain Correli's Maldolin or Mama Mia - more Greek pension in terms of look and feel than Spanish. The hotel/restaurant is set in the heart of the Cabo de Gata so it is as far from the maddening crowd as you can imagine - but this is its charm. The restaurant is hugely authentic, a pretty indoor area with whitewashed natural walls, fishnet decor and rustic furniture. Outside is the most magnificent terrace overlooking the most breathtaking natural harbor. The fresh fish plate jumps from the sea to your platter in a matter of hours and it is beyond delicious. As you eat on the terrace watch fishermen bring the catch home - or watch them sell squid from a bucket for a pittance on the shore. Throw a few crumbs into the water to see a feeding frenzy of teeny fish demolish the feast in a vortex of water. Sit beside brightly painted boats and marvel at how lucky you are to be in such a stunning place.

This is a very popular location in summer (even though in the middle of nowhere) so terrace tables must be booked. Yes it can be a little hectic when busy but this is not the kind of experience you want to hurry. If you want ship shape and polish then stick with the resorts. If you want flavors to die for in a dream location that will stay with you long after the experience itself, then welcome to one of Andalucia's hidden gems.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here but I hear the rooms overlook the water, only €50 b&b in stunning location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishP_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almeria
36.9 km away
AC Hotel Almeria
AC Hotel Almeria
#6 of 31 in Almeria
588 reviews
0.1 km away
Pension La Isleta del Moro
Pension La Isleta del Moro
#2 of 2 in La Isleta
78 reviews
35.4 km away
Tryp Indalo Almeria
Tryp Indalo Almeria
#8 of 31 in Almeria
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Elba Almeria Hotel
Elba Almeria Hotel
#2 of 31 in Almeria
341 reviews
50.6 km away
Vincci Hotel Envia Almeria Wellness & Golf
36.0 km away
NH Ciudad de Almeria
NH Ciudad de Almeria
#1 of 31 in Almeria
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Restaurante Isleta Del Moro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Restaurante Isleta Del Moro

Address: Calle Isleta del Moro, 04118 Almeria, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Almeria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Almeria
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing