We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
110
107
33
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
107
33
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral square tapas delightful hotel rooftop terrace fantastic location plunge pool plaza de la catedral what the hell mid day breakfast staff upgraded to a junior suite beautiful cathedral wi fi sunday night great shower breakfast included excellent value
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to this lovely hotel.
Location amazing
Breakfast good although does get a little boring after 10 nights but all you need including eggs and bacon, omelet of choice and nice buffet,
I agree staff could be a little friendlier,
Waiting staff great especially breakfast staff but reception staff can’t be bothered to even speak!!!
We stated in Junior suite, Very spacious with all we needed.
Only problem was noise in room 11
A consumer unit makes a drumming noise on and off all night!
We had 4 night with very poor sleep with clubbers coming home shouting and singing! This continued until 6am
I was quite annoyed on our last night Sunday 5th November when the hotel had a function! Didn’t mind being awake with loud voices and laughter until 12 but this then continued until 2am in the bar area directly below our room and had another sleepless night!!!
I asked reception if they had quieter rooms as in future we would love to return but was told a stern “no quiet rooms in hotel”
Oh that’s a shame as we love this hotel but will have to think again.
I would give this hotel 5 but because of noise and unfriendly reception only 4

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Soo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Me and my girlfriend drove up from malaga for a few nights to visit the spaghetti western filming locations and stayed at this lovely hotel. The hotel was easy to find as its signposted as you enter the town, 2 car parks are a few streets away. The room are really nice and though we didn't have much of a view they were comfy and very clean and modern. The towns easy to explore and the beach is about 25 minute walk away. The breakfast was very very good and we really enjoyed our stay. One word of warning.....watch you don't bang your head on the wall alcove above the bed,,,, we did it 4 times and it hurts ????????

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We booked a junior suite direct with the hotel, this was a very big room, but with no balcony or view we opted to down grade to a double room with a terrace. However when we asked for the reduced room rate we had real problems getting any joy. We were told by two separate staff ”the prices are similar” and only on requesting to see the manager did a third member of staff (Carmen) actually agree to a 22Euro night reduction.
This hotel is in a great location for visiting historic Almeria and all the best tapas bars, and has fantastic views of the cathedral, however the roof top terrace with plunge pool has seen better days. The only sun beds were 3 old recliners (one broken) there were some retro metal chairs and tables which in the mid day summer sun would be red hot. Additionally the only two rooms with a terrace (50 & 53) have sparsely furnished terraces with just two old chairs and a table, so if you come to this hotel for some sun bathing you are out of luck. On a plus side there are towels are freely available for the roof top terrace.
We didn’t have any water pressure for a shower one morning (quickly fixed) and also the bath in the room was patched with duct tape. The kitchen also had a problem Sunday night and couldn’t offer any hot food, which was disappointing as this was the night we had our free tapas tasting session (part of the offer for booking direct along with cava and chocolates) but on a high note the manchego cheese was the best I have ever tasted.
We came back to the hotel one evening to find a private party had been arranged on the roof terrace next to our room. This party had a planned late finish but the management didn’t think to communicate with the guests, especially those heavily impacted. Luckily there was a spare room available and we were allowed to move rooms for the night.
This hotel needs a little investment to really make the roof top terrace a comfortable place to chill-out and sun bath. Each room appears to have a PC linked to the television, flashing lights around the room during the night and need removing to give more space in the smaller rooms. WI-FI was a decent speed, the safety deposit box was large and complementary.
Breakfast was good value, quiet and serene, with coffee and cooked meals made fresh on request but if you don’t have breakfast included you can buy a tostado con tomato with a coffee for about 3 Euro.
Please also note that if you book direct with the hotel they will check your card is valid before you arrive by taking a days room rate and then refunding it.

Room Tip: Junior suite (rooms 11,31 & 51) they are nice big rooms but no view or balcony. Only two rooms have a terrace (rooms 50 & 53)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a great location next door to the beautiful Cathedral. The staff are friendly and helpful. The terrace in from of the hotel is a lovely relaxing area to have relaxing drinks and excellent Tapas. The hotel is good value for money. ( Breakfast is average not outstanding) Due to the popularity of the hotel we could only reserve an interior room. (Room 32) It was a very basic room with inferior furnishings - nothing like the pictures on the web. The room reminded me of staying in a youth hostel. There were black out curtains but the actual window curtains didn't even meet. It is a great shame that this room is offered to guests in what is otherwise a very lovely hotel in a great location. I would return to this hotel but never to room 32.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We had a junior suite in a modern style and spacious. Bed a little hard but okey. Not much of a view. Nice area next to the cathedral. Unfortunately the reception lady did not speak English and therefore we did not get any information about the hotel facilities. Parking in co-operation with a garage, but still hard to find out due to language problems. Breakfast was good with a menu for some hot egg dishes.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yvonneojorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews