We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
133
79
30
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
79
30
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room no air conditioning your luggage superb views auf der old world star rating two nights breakfast buffet history castle luther wartburg hill valley fireplace steps
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

The service is very top-notch, entirely pleasant, welcoming, helpful and efficient. The setting is entirely delightful.

But there's no lift, so climbing the two floors, and hiking the long corridors to our room was tedious and the room was not a sufficient reward; it did have delightful views from its small windows, but it was in the attic, with beams and intrusive pillars.

The dining room has glorious views and service was good. Breakfast was entirely satisfactory, but dinner was not.

Given its setting, its history and its prices, this place should be memorable; our memories, alas, are of disappointment. We wish we'd stayed in a good hotel in town at half the price.

Room tip: We did not like the attic room we were allocated; a lower floor would probably still have the views, but with fewer inconveniences.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rassrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Rassrass,
we thank you for your visit at the "Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg" and your rating on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased that you liked the service and the location of the hotel.

Due to the monument protection, it was not possible to install a lift yet. However, there are already plans for the future. The beams in the rooms make up the historic flair of the house. Too bad that you did not like it.

We are very sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled and we could not convince you of our house.

Very kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Always enjoy visiting the Wartburg. Old world hotel next to the Wartburg Castle, which is a must see. The trip up mountain to hotel can be confusing so highly recommend determining regimen before arriving. Restaurant was good with traditional German fare. The rooms were nice and recommend requesting view of valley.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 38lamarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U6292XP, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Lamar J,
we thank you very much for your visit at the Romantik Hotel on the Wartburg and for your very good rating on tripadvisor.com as well as for your valuable hints for other travelers.

We hope to welcome you again soon as our guest.

Very kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

For us, the visit to the Wartburg and Eisenach was for the historical experience. Little did we know on our first trip that the hotel would be a destination in and of itself.

Our room - a suite actually - overlooked the cobblestone courtyard and valley below. Living area and bedroom were warm and comforting. We would have loved to have spent more time simply in quarters, but history called and we walked out the door into the historic castle itself.

The dining rooms are spectacular with great views of the valley. The food was excellent, although heavy on the game meats. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we experienced. And the staff couldn't have been friendlier and helpful.

Two tips: If you arrive by train, get to Eisenach early, check your luggage into one of the large lockers in the station, and walk through the town - to the Luther House, the Bach House and the church in the main square. Have lunch in the café by the church. Then head back to the station and get a taxi to the hotel.

The hotel does not have an elevator if I remember correctly. So inquire if that may be a problem up and down stairs.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U6292XP, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Richard,
we thank you very much for your visit at Wartburg castle and our Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Eisenach and that your expectations were met. Thank you for your kind words.

Regards the elevator - we do not have a lift in our hotel. However, we very much hope to be able to offer our guests this additional service in the future.

Dear Richard, thanks again for your visit and all the best for 2018.

Very kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

The Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg was built about 100 years ago and is adjacent to the Wartburg Castle, This is a 5-star luxury hotel with well appointed rooms. The rooms are not terribly large but the are large enough and have a sitting area plus an entrance room with a desk. The hotel is just steps away from the entrance to the Wartburg and presents the opportunity to walk around the castle at night when it is illuminated. It takes more than a day to see the entire Wartburg well, so spending the night places you within easy reach to begin touring the next morning. The hotel has a restaurant to match its 5-star rating where an extensive breakfast buffet is offered each morning. There is a bar and an adjacent plush lounge with a fireplace and leather furniture where drinks may be enjoyed. The staff is extremely helpful.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view and pay in advance on-line for a significant discount.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BnCrXplorerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U6292XP, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Bruce W,
we thank you very much for your stay with us as well as for your rating and very nice feedback on tripadvisor.com. We are very happy and thankful about your nice words and the detailed description of your stay.

Maybe you will visit us again soon in the future?

Very kind regards,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We had that hotels lunch special Wartburgvesper and shared for two. The beer and the view made up for the walk from the town centre as we walk the long route.. I suggest you book as we were lucky to get a table.

Room tip: We had lunch
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U6292XP, Guest Relations Manager at Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear John,
thank you for your visit at Wartburg castle and our restaurant.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and the Wartburgvesper as well.

Very kind regards and all the best,
Daniela Darr
Customer Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews