We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Czech food in Magdeburg”

Wenzel Prager Bierstuben
Ranked #10 of 285 Restaurants in Magdeburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Wenzel Prager Bierstuben are a unique gastronomy concept that offers its guests the tasty Czech cuisine and the classic Bohemian beers in an authentic, warm and social location. All our restaurants are modeled after the beer houses of Prague and are given its typical charm by a Georgian artist. Our aim is to spoil you with high standards in service and food and offer you a great experience in a unique surrounding. Try our huge pork knuckles, enjoy a fresh beer or indulge in our tempting Czech sweets. Whatever you are looking for - whether it is for a date for two or a big party - we hope to welcome you soon in one of our six locations
Reviewed 24 June 2017

I arrived for lunch time in Magdeburg and saw this Czech Restaurant, I lived in Czech Republic some years ago and loved the food so I had to try, I first sat on the nice terrasse before being chased inside by a thunder storm. The waitress was super nice, the names of the dishes were in Czech which made it sound authentic, I had the smazeny syr (fried cheesed) and it was delicious, then since the rain continued I had a lovely desert with palacinka (Czech crepes) and a shot of slivovice. All tasty, prices are OK.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CecileBln83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WenzelPrager, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wenzel Prager Bierstuben, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hi Cecile, if everything was tasty and the waitress nice - what else can we improve to gain the two missing stars? We're always striving to geht better. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2017

Good beer and nice venue , BUT , staff have difficulty in coping with bigger groups and some need some training in how to behave towards customers. . Food not well suited to British palate and over priced in relation to the food quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WenzelPrager, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wenzel Prager Bierstuben, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Rob, we are sorry to disappoint you, but please know that this was an exception, not the rule. Our staff is constantly trained and trying its best but then again they are human and might make mistakes. Of course those mistakes should never influence your visit negatively and we will continue working on that.
The prices are fair and thought-through well, as we only use regional products and support German farmers by only buying here. But then again, maybe the Czech cuisine is not for everyone - just as Fish & Chips is nothing for us :-) But again, we are sorry, if you were not 100% happy. This is our top goal and we'll work hard on achieving that in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We had a time after the working. There are delicious Czech snacks and nice brewery with clean friendly service, liked it!

Thank Erokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Not often in MD town, but a visit to Wenzel is a must and we enjoyed it again. Appreciated the long list of Czech special beers and this time the super king size porch knuckle. I am a good eater but there it was hard work not to leave anything on the plate

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and good selection of beers. However the night that I visited they certainly required more staff. The two waitresses were rushed off their feet.

Didn't hang around to try the food, due to the length of time it was taking to get served.

Hopefully this was a one off.

Thank gbpublishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WenzelPrager, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Wenzel Prager Bierstuben, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Hey there,
sadly we have to say: WE KNOW! It is close to impossible to find good, professional staff in the restaurant industry right now and we are very sorry that this affected your visit. Our team is doing its best and they are very passionate and motivated about their job. If you give us another chance next time you will see the food is worth the wait! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wenzel Prager Bierstuben also viewed

Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt
 
Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt
Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt
 

Been to Wenzel Prager Bierstuben? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing