We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
369
508
159
36
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
508
159
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town train station main shopping area boiled eggs sightseeing places walking distance public parking hotel is located included in the room rate wifi signal electric kettle clean rooms your luggage christmas market nice stay cold cuts
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights...really nice location just next to alstadt and within walking distance of all the major attractions ...rooms were also very nice...but 2 major issues which forces me 2 give less rating is ...
1) delayed check in ..v reached at 3 pm ..but still rooms were not ready...not acceptable
2) wi fi was non existent in the room ..another major disappointment
Still wouldn't mind staying here again but request the hotel to improve the wi fi connection

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gauticob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Gautam,
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel a few days ago and for taking the time to fill in our survey.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are very happy that you were so much satisfied with the service provided by our team and the overall appearance of our hotel.

Regrettably you were facing problems with our WiFi system and we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had due to the lack of signal strength in your room.
We are already planning for a WiFi system upgrade for the entire hotel a long time and finally the work has started this week.
With this upgrade we are sure to provide a very satisfying Internet service for our guests in future and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel at your next visit to Dresden.
We also regret that you were not able to check in at 3 pm. Please be sure that this is not our standard and will for sure be different next time.

We’re looking forward welcoming you back soon. Kind regards,

Your team from the Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel booked using my rewards point. The rooms are advertised to accommodate up to 4 pax, which I doubt will be at all comfortable.

The wifi connection is horrible with frequent disconnection or intermittent connection lost for a couple of minutes, and the internet speed is relatively slow too.

The website advertises that Iron/Ironing Board is part of the room feature but was missing in our room. When we called to the reception for one, they do not have any available, and we got the try again the next day.

Housekeeping can be drastically improved. We could have done it better ourselves! They pretty much only replaced the towels and dried the toilet only. We got the same 1 bottle of complimentary still water for all 3 nights, never replenished or removed.

Breakfast seems to be included for all guest. It's a continental breakfast, so the spread is sufficient but not as fantastic as most have reviewed.

While this is a smoke-free facility, the entrance is almost always crowded with smokers, especially in the evenings. Right at the hotel entrance.

The hotel has a secure car park (garage), but the entrance is not obvious. So if you are travelling by car, it’s ok to stop in front of the hotel lobby, check-in and find out more from the front desk. The demand for the limited lots seems to be quite high, and we were lucky to get the last available lot for that evening. That's however, an open-air parking available just opposite the hotel entrance (at a cheaper rate too), however, there may be a bit of queue into the parking space, especially on weekends.

The good thing I like is perhaps the location of the hotel. Well situated to all the attractions of Dresden. There’s a couple of enormous shopping malls surrounding the properties, so there is plenty of options for meals etc.

I can only give credits to ONE front office staff who was exemplary in her service, despite the horrible staffing arrangement. It may not be an extremely busy hotel, but can you imagine the same staff tending to you at the front desk is also the only staff at the bar counter? But really kudos to her for always keeping her smile on, and the excellent service provided.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steven_teo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your detailed review. Kindly accept our apologies for any inconvenience you had to face during your stay at our property. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.
Many best regards, Stefanie Glanemann, Management Trainee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We went there with good German friends. Aside the city which is absolutely gorgeous, to select the Holiday Inn Express was a true success since this hotel is extremely clean, rooms are very spacious, and the breakfast is pretty good. Staff is also very kind and resfy to help.
Good hotel to stay and wonderful place to visit indeed.
Juan.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank juanwslfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Stefanie Glanemann, Management Trainee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

For a chain hotel, we were not disappointed.... Except for the malfunctioning WiFi. The room was large; the bed comfortable. Large well-equipped bathroom. Breakfast was busy , but very good, and the staff did a great job of keeping everything re-stocked. The location was mid-way between Old Town and the Train Station. Easy walk to both.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maryfG4520SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Mary F, thank you for your excellent review. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Stefanie Glanemann, Management Trainee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

When we reported no WiFi. the staff knew some rooms have absolutely no WiFi and we were in one of the upgraded IHG platinum rooms ! They also told us on checking in that the beds were French doubles so only 1.4 ms so we ended up with two singles.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank carolyned466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_DD, Management Trainee at Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Sincerely, Stefanie Glanemann, Management Trainee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews