We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and snobby”
Review of Palais Bistro

Palais Bistro
Ranked #133 of 1,051 Restaurants in Dresden
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Innere Altstadt
Description: Enjoy authentic French Cuisine served in the Palais Bistro, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden - a beautiful ambience with the flair of a real Paris bistro.
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

We had a pre-booked Christmas Eve dinner here which we had been looking forward to for months. The meal got off to a bad start when the maître d’ gave us a filthy look because she didn’t see our surname on the booking form at first.
We were seated next to a couple who couldn’t have been more obvious in their judging if they’d tried. The woman repeatedly stared at us as though we were worse than the dirt on her shoes, simply because I have tattoos and we weren’t dressed formally. Disgusting behaviour and made for a very uncomfortable experience.
The waitress we were allocated was contemptuous in her service as it became apparent we were not going to purchase the whole five course Christmas menu, in stark contrast to the special attention she gave to the snobby couple. Lots of nasty looks and we were treated as an afterthought. We ordered the main course, which was veal with root vegetables, and a drink each, with the intention of ordering the dessert afterwards. I was given a different type of beer to what I ordered, but decided not to protest.
The veal came out and while it was nice, it was not worth the price tag, the potatoes were powdery, the meat wasn’t hot, and the serving size was barely above that of an entree.
With the combination of the food, the service and the snobby clientele making for a horrible experience, we decided to skip the dessert and walked to the counter to pay, where we were again given looks of contempt by our waitress. It was almost as though serving us was an inconvenience. At the end of the night we paid €73 for what was essentially two mediocre entree size dishes and two drinks. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Cameron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Booked in here because there was hardly any options for Chrismas dinner (24th).
The Christmas dinner we had looked forward to for several months wasn't to be.
Menu was set and was a special 'Christmas menu'. Maybe we do things differently in the west but there wasn't anything remotely Chrismas like about it and there was no alternative.

We opted to just have the main based on the unappetizing appearance of the entrees and starters. It was the most underwhelming meal I have ever had. Flavorless meat, sides were ok and overall lukewarm temperature at best.

To top it off the waitress although prompt and efficient in service was contemptuous. It seemed that although it was ok to order only parts of the menu as far as she was concerned it wasn't good enough. The other waitresses seemed a little better.

We didn't stick around for another course - one expensive bland course was enough.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 3doggopatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

The food was just OK, but the service was very poor. Also, we were alarmed by some of the practices we saw at the restaurant in terms of cleanliness. For example, the bread baskets in the restaurant were lined with cloth napkins. When the waitresses cleared a table, they would dump the excess bread in a basket, shake out the napkin, and then re-use it for the next table. Not exactly the level of cleanliness one expects in a fairly expensive restaurant in a luxury hotel.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

The interior was very nice. You feel happy when you come into a place like this. The food was also very good and tasty. We enjoyed it very much.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank ahfeurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Had twice dinner during the week we spent in Dresden both times we enjoyed the exquisite quality of the food, very fine service and atmosphere.both the meat and the vegetable dishes perfectly cooked(superb asparagus with hollandaise sauce). A place not to be missed in Dresden, for dinner reservation a must.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Michaela12G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palais Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Palais Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing