We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian place in Mainz. There is not many.”
Review of Al Cortile

Al Cortile
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Italian place in Mainz. There is not many.”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

If you are in Mainz city centre and are looking for a decent Italian restaurant, then this place certainly is the best shot.
Food is relatively authentic for Germany. Tried both the pasta and the pizzas. Pasta was truly delicious, pizza was not all too Italian looking, too small and the pastry was a bit hard, probably not really oven baked but still very tasty. Just do not expect it to be like down in Napoli, but won't find any better in the city centre. Portions could be bigger and they are a bit pricey, they just know what they are in Mainz.
In summer they have a very nice garden that gives you some Italian touch. Crowded place so prepare to wait or reserve in advance.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    134
    39
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner outside! Couldn't be better unless i could speak German”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Colleague had to order for me but the sicilian grilled swordfish was amazingly tasty....not thick and dry...thin and tasty...i love capers!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foster001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a Wait”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Packed since its opening, Al Cortile is the best no-frills Italian restaurant in Mainz. Don't expect fancy deluxe cuisine, the food is solid Italian cooking, some dishes more creative than others - but always fresh and very tasty. We have been there more than a dozen times and haven't even tried half the menue. Pizza (from the woodfire oven) and homemade pasta are delicious, so are meat and fish. Also many appetizers are worth a try. A seasonal specials menue makes the choice even harder. It doesn't stop with the food - the wine list is fairly extensive as well.

Pizza and pasta are not expensive at all, other maine courses are above average, yet portions are generous.

Here comes the downside: You have to have a reservation if you want to have dinner before 9 pm. It slows down later in the evening. But even on weekdays the place is packed between 6 and 8.30 pm and the service does not necessarily do everything it can to accomodate the spontaneous guest since the restaurant is full anyway. Chances are better in summer when the nice patio is open.

Tables stand very close together and the maine room is usually fairly noisy. When looking for a romantic dinner with your date, ask for a table in the historic cellar with the fireplace.

Service has always been friendly although you sometimes have to bother to ask for another drink or even the next course when it is very busy.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oli-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurendavis
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere with good food”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

If you want to eat here, make sure you have reservations or go a little later in the evening. It is a very busy place. The wait staff is a bit snooty, but that didn't stop me from enjoying my meal. The prices are good and the food is very enjoyable. Some of the tables are a bit snug (NYC style, very close together), but on a cold winter night, it added to the charm. I had a home made pasta and my husband a pizza. Mine was good but his was great. We also shared a bruschetta appetizer which was fabulous. We ordered a bottle of wine from their recommendations and were very happy with it. Would definitely return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurendavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Very good food but service is soo bad that I recommend to order the food and eat at home (they do take away!). The...”
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Very good food but service is soo bad that I recommend to order the food and eat at home (they do take away!). The pizza is the best you can get in and around Mainz but waiters are unbelievable arrogant. Last time we ate there one waitress ran into my pregnant friend and dropped the drinks, she was carrying. When we payed, we found the drinks dropped by the waitress on our check and discussed like 15 minutes with the restaurant manager about it (we refused to pay the drinks). As good as the food is, it is not worth the annoyance you have to go through with the staff.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Al Cortile also viewed

Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Al Cortile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing