We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average, good location, rooms need updating”
Review of Hilton Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Mainz City
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“average, good location, rooms need updating”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

located walking distance to great shopping district, university,dozen of restaurants,tram(metro train)lines, & buses.hotel itself in a semi-residential district. i would not have selected this location if it was myself paying.This location was selected by my company for myself & colleagues.Other than the new LCD flat panel t.v., the rooms looked outdated.Mine had a horrible smell due to a mildewed shower curtain...ugh! Typical low euro-style bed...linens were crisp & clean...double duvets nice touch...feather pillows - FLAT!!!
Large breakfast buffet and ok bar food in the evening...Ordered the salad w/fried king prawns,what i received were 4 large grilled shrimp on a bed of iceberg lettuce for $16Euro...drinks were not too bad...lil cafe adjacent to hotel had better drinks though.
During the day, I felt completely safe walking to/from hotel...after dark, I didn't feel as safe as there is a VERY, VERY dark corridor you must pass through however short it may be, that just didn't feel safe.
Rooms has instant coffee as well as a mini-bar...my room faced apartments, however my friend's room resembled a cute studio w/a view of the front courtyard...window opened to allowed fresh air in as well to his room...adequate for our short stay, but nothing exciting to rave about.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front of hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDivaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    235
    82
    21
    6
See reviews for
65
144
54
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Hilton Mainz city is located in Mainz City central. You can walk to many shops and resturants. The staff is plesant and attentive. My room was clean and comfortable. There is a cost for internet service. Buffet Breakfast was plentiful and very good. You can arrange tours from the front desk. I was there during the end of the holidays so tours were not avaliable. Hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for the Holidays.
From Frankfurt airport you can take the train to the Mainz station and a taxi to the Hotel. The cost for a taxi to the hotel from the Frankfurt airport is about 45-50 euros.
I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Lady_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This presented as a clean and comfortable hotel as per previous Trip Advisor reports and is indeed only about 10 minutes walk from the Mainz Hbf. The reports of considerable nighttime and early morning noise are true and this is not the fault of the hotel. The worst racket is the garbage pick up at 0700 so if you are a light sleeper it would be best to ask for a room in the back. Check in staff very professional, well groomed and helpful. If you need internet though it is very expensive via Swiss Com. If the hotel was looking for a small improvement here they could at least provide a less expensive alternative although I do recognize that this is not really a tourist property. We stayed here on our last two days before flying home. We have stayed in both Hiltons, the Novotel and the TOP Hammer and we would probably go for the Hammer if we came back as it is very convenient to the train station and has internet included.

Room Tip: get a room facing the back as per previous reports
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiplanesdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. It is very comfortable but I do not advise to take a smoking room. It is too smelly. The staff was very friendly, helpful and took care of my preferences during booking process. Wifi in the room is charged. It is also very well located at walking distance from the river, the train station and downtown. A good rest is ensured.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are too smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMainzCity, Manager at Hilton Mainz City, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear User,
Thank you for your time, took to post a comment regarding our hotel.
Your comments are very important to us, because it helps us to improve our quality and service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and trust that you had a great time in our region.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the HILTON Mainz City or any other HILTON hotel in near future.
If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sascha von Zabern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I was recently in Frankfurt for a three day convention and due to circumstances stayed in the adjacent city of Mainz. The hotel was suitable enough. There is no exercise facilities on site but they have a deal with a local gym. For Mainz it is well located in this picturesque German town, walking distance to the train station and to the downtown area. For Frankfurt it is practical but far and I would not recommend it as a viable option if you have the chance to stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrosen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.9 km away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,053 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
1.1 km away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
297 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
703 reviews
7.2 km away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mainz City

Property: Hilton Mainz City
Address: Muensterstr. 11, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#5 Business Hotel in Mainz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,710 - ₹ 17,678
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Mainz City 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mainz City Hotel Mainz
Mainz Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing