We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Mitre Inn(Witheridge)
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
125
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolgames roomlarge familysoft play areafunction roompool tablefamily and friendsall agesgreat holidayadults and childrenlovely cottageget togetherclimbing framecommunal areassky tva lovely stayhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We stayed for two nights while we were trialling our vintage cars in Exmoor. Beautiful barn with brilliant facilities. Great for children and adults. Having a pool for a quick dip was a bonus too. Lovely welcome, and all we needed for a perfect break. Thank you Debbie.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith J, Owner at Newhouse Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Many thanks for your review. We're pleased to know that you had a lovely weekend in Elm Barn and we hope to see you again! Kind regards Keith Doreen Stuart and Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Just returned home after a lovely family Christmas.
It was the first holiday for my 87 year old Dad in many years and Debbie and Keith went out of their way to make sure everything went smoothly. Thanks to Debbie we were able to hire a wheelchair and walking aid from Tiverton..thank you Debbie for collecting and returning them for us.
The cottages and communal areas were all beautifully decorated for Christmas, creating a lovely homely feel. We had the use of 3 cottages but spent most of the time together in Larch which had plenty of room for 6 of us to dine and enjoy cosy evenings in front of the log stove.
We enjoyed watching all the daily visits from the birds and squirrels in the courtyard. We had regular sightings of a beautiful woodpecker. The nut feeders were topped up daily.
The pool sauna and games rooms were a great addition, and the lads in our group enjoyed getting involved in the annual Boxing Day ping ping comp!
We enjoyed supper and drinks in the local Mitre Inn and took trips to nearby Tiverton and Barnstaple.
We were sad to leave our cosy Christmas Home and will be planning a return trip so that we can explore more of the beautiful surrounding area.
Thanks again to you all for your help in making sure that we had a great Christmas☺xx

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank janeychurches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith J, Owner at Newhouse Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you! It was wonderful to meet you all and to be able to help make your Christmas with us a special one. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back here in the future. Kind regards Keith Doreen Stuart and Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We reserved two cottages back in September and have to say that all communication from Stuart and Debbie was prompt, efficient and friendly. Having enquired on a lot of other properties who were less prompt and helpful their professionalism filled me with confidence.
It is never easy to be 100% sure of what you're getting from internet pictures but Newhouse Farm exceeded all expectations. The cottages were clean, spacious and well equipped catering for a group of 11 adults and 4 dogs in 2 cottages. The games room, swimming pool and sauna were great and the scenery and local walks were fantastic. We had a issue with our oven on Christmas day but Doreen and Keith came to the rescue and resolved the problem quickly. Lovely people, great location - Will go back in the summer.

Room Tip: 9 cottages catering for different sized groups
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith J, Owner at Newhouse Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Many thanks for your glowing review, it's really appreciated. It's great to know that the cottages worked well for you and that you enjoyed our facilities and local area. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Kind regards Keith Doreen Stuart and Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Stayed a week here at the end of summer 2017 in a 3 bed cottage, it was a comfortable stay. It was a last minute booking so the newer no step cottage wasn't available but the one we got worked out ok. A few steps on a slight hill though to and from the carpark, which for some might be an issue.

Pros : very clean, furniture whilst not fancy was suitablely hardy to cater to family needs, good bed, good water, lovely and peaceful, pleasant and welcoming owners. Plenty of space. Lovely green outlook.

Cons : nowhere to put your soap (no soap dish or shower shelf) in the shower cubicle downstairs everything had to stay on the floor of the shower soap, shampoo etc, whilst a minor issue, it is annoying because it's so easy to fix. And not enough storage space for toiletries in the bathroom. Difficulty using mirror and hairdryer with plug in bedroom to dry hair easy. No clothes dryer for drying clothing which meant drying in the evening using the central heating which took you away from relaxing. We also felt that the TV system is outdated and not as good as we'd had elsewhere. Nothing Super wrong here but could do with a little freshen up in the bathrooms to modernise a bit.

Please note that the cons are overall mentioned because they are small issues that we think is easy to fix. We were a couple and not a family and this is perfect family accommodation, they are not trying to be posh and upmarket, the price point on a last minute booking was excellent. The owners communication was also one of the best, as was the cleanliness, this is a big deal to us. They also were kind enough to thank us for leaving the place clean via email on our departure which it was, but awfully appreciated that they acknowledged this.

And we slept really well, so overall a lovely stay.

We believe that they are spot on their target market, and their price point, so long as your not expecting luxury, you'll have a fab stay.

Room Tip: They do have a cabin without steps if accessibility is an issue.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sealeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith J, Owner at Newhouse Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for your review; it was a pleasure to meet you both and we're so pleased to know that you had a lovely stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and will do all we can to rectify the points raised. Thanks again and kind regards, Keith Doreen Stuart and Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

We stayed as a group of 10 (spread across 3 cottages) for a weekend this December. It was cosy and idyllic.
Great to have the indoor pool (though shame that there were no floats or working jets), and the Christmas decorations were a really nice touch.
The local pub (the mitre) is a 20 minute walk away and was really good.
The beds were warm and comfy and all appliances worked fine.
Some salt/pepper would have been great to keep as staples in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 312svh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith J, Owner at Newhouse Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased to know that you had a good weekend here and that the cottages were comfy and cosy. We hope to see you again in the future. Happy New Year! Kind regards Keith Doreen Stuart and Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews