We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cafe”
Review of Cafe Werrmann

Cafe Werrmann
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Koblenz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We came with a friend who pointed out this café as the best in Koblenz for coffee and cake. It is certainly upmarket and has a lovely location and the quality did not disappoint. It is quite expensive though.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely table setting, coffee service and meal presentation. The bread, croissants, cheeses and cold cuts were all so fresh tasting!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We were out for a jog through the historic part of Koblenz and decided to stop for coffee. Instead, we sat down at this sidewalk cafe and had a truly wonderful (and healthy) breakfast. The cafe is in a beautiful setting in an historic square. The food was VERY fresh and flavorful, and the service was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NetAmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Lovely place in the city center of Koblenz with a beautiful interior and also a nice outdoor seating area.
We went here for 'Kaffee mit Kuchen' (coffee with cake) in the afternoon.
They offer a wide variety of coffees and cakes.
Service is friendly, although you have to wait a little while when it's a bit crowdy.
Prices are average.
Value for money is good.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant with my partner at least twice; once for Breakfast and again for the Breakfast Buffet. This restaurant is location in Koblenz-Altstadt on Marktstraße 11-13, 56068 Koblenz.
A few days before our visit, we made a telephone reservation. As we arrived on Sunday, 12 Nov 2017, before 10:00 am, we were friendly greeted as we entered the restaurant and our reserved table was ready as requested; near the front windows.
As we were seated the waitress came to our table, to light the candle and ask us what we wanted to drink. When asked, she explained about what was included in the Buffet and the cost of the Breakfast Buffet. In the Menu, the Sunday Breakfast Buffet is advertised but no price is posted. There is also no one-page flyer or any other explanation of what is included in the price of the Buffet; it is all verbal. So, listen and understand, the first time, because there is nothing provided for those that cannot hear on the other end of the table. In addition, I do not know if there was another price for ‘Small Guest’ or not, because it was not posted. So, if you want to know the price for children, you must ask.
The appeal of a Breakfast Buffet is that it easier for the cook to prepare and faster for the customer to be served. However, the goal of any restaurant should be to ensure that each customer has a terrific eating experience and then that they tell their friends how good it was, so that the establishment receives repeat and additional business. The goal is NOT to make the experience more difficult than it should be.
An explanation in the Menu or a one-page flyer would help to provide the frame work to the customers about the buffet, would make the customers dining experience much better, and the workers job easier. With a Breakfast Buffet there is low customer maintenance, while the customers help themselves. The staff must only take the orders, bring the drinks, and insure that the Breakfast Buffett line is replenished and kept clean.
The Breakfast Buffet is located along left side as you enter and the counter opposite of the restaurant’s entrance. So, since there is no published information about the Breakfast Buffet, if you want to know what there is on the Breakfast Buffet it is best to walk the buffet line and look for yourself to see what is available. Also, since the Buffet is located in the main aisle, where everyone coming and going travels through, since the area is very tight, it quickly fills up and becomes hard to maneuver due to the small space.
Unlike other Breakfast Buffets, the Buffet price includes some drinks: water, coffee, hot and cold milk, hot chocolate, sekt, tomato juice, and orange juice. Both the water, juices, milk, and sekt at the Buffet where served cold and the coffee, hot milk, and hot chocolate, that we ordered, were served hot, as they should be.
The buffet has a large selection of food: various fresh breads, pretzels, butter, margarine, cheese slices, sliced meats, salmon, shrimp, cereals, eggs to order, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, frikadellen, various fruits, soup, etc. What I did not find was mustard or ketchup. I like mustard on my cheese and cold sliced meat sandwiches.
What I liked was that the waitress asked each time before she took away any empty or semi-empty plates, as to whether one was done with their plate or not. There is nothing worse than to get a plate of food, stand up again to get your drink or something else you want at the buffet and return to find that your first plate of food plate has been taken away by the waiter/waitress.
For my Breakfast, I had a pretzel, 2x fresh bread rolls with cheese and sliced meat; scrambled eggs; 2x sausages; 2x frikadellen, shrimps, 1x slice of cake, and 1x bowl of soup. My partner had the salmon, shrimps, croissant with butter, fresh bread rolls, fruit (melon, pineapple, and kiwi), pudding, and a bowl of soup. All of the food at the Buffet was hot, semi-hot or cold, respectively, as it should be. And my order of scrambled eggs was not runny or fluid eggs but scrambled hard, as I had requested and hot enough, as I like them. At 17, 50 €, the Breakfast Buffet with drinks is a fair price and the portions are also fair.
For most of this Restaurant the space between tables and chairs is OK, such that one does not have to disturb or push past others to get to their table. Only a few tables, such as those in the corners are not ideal for the Breakfast Buffet. Those sitting at these tables have to ask others to move, each time they wish to get something at the Buffet and it is chairs back on chair back, with no way to get through . This may cause some guests to take more food than they can eat, so they do not have to get out of their chair so often, disturbing others in their party each time.
The tables are 2 or 4 person tables. And the tables can be push together for parties or gatherings of more than 4. As we were there, there was one party of approx.6 people. However, this is not a good place for really large groups or gatherings of more than 8 persons.
Some may say that the inside surroundings are a little old fashion looking but, I found it the decorations pleasant and while the decorations may be old fashion they were classy.
I cannot remember if there was music playing in the back ground or not. There is a wall mounted TV that was turned off as we had breakfast. I am sure that the TV is used for special events, which thankfully was not during our Sunday Brunch. But the TV is available, if needed, for those special events or times.
The tables are sturdy solid wood and the wooden chairs with or without arms that are nicely cushioned. The noise level inside the restaurant was somewhat loud, once the place was full. However, the high ceiling and carpeted floor keeps the noise level down so that is not terrible.
The lighting inside is just right. Either natural light through the large front windows or the electric lighting in the room is fine. Whether the electric lights were near each table, on the wall and/or above on the ceiling, I had no problem seeing what I was eating with the light provided, even on this rainy day.
The temperature in the room was fine. While the one heavy front door is a problem for the disabled, the door system does keep in the heat and keeps out some of the cold autumn air. The room air circulation and ventilation was also, fine.
The table decorations are simple with both a salt and pepper mill, a lit candle, silverware and a decorative folded paper napkin. On the table, for each place setting there was a knife, fork, and a paper napkin. And if you need another knife, fork, napkin or a spoon, you do not have to go hunting for one, they can be found at the beginning on the Breakfast Buffet. Plates are also provided at the beginning of the Buffet line, but not throughout the line. Which means that one has to fight their way to the front of the buffet line just for a plate, silverware, etc? And bowls for the cereal are not next to the cereal but are also next to the plates at the beginning of the Breakfast Buffet.
Unfortunately, there is only one place to hang coats, jackets, and hats and this is between the two dining rooms, where it is hard to see your belongings. And sometimes there is not enough space for coats, jackets, and hats for such a large restaurant.
Parking is available on several side streets near the restaurant. There are some non-pay and some pay to park slots.
The restrooms are in the basement. The restrooms were clean, which means the kitchen is also clean!
Since I did not see anyone with their dog in the restaurant, I cannot report whether dogs are welcome or not.
I do not know if they have take-out or not, so I cannot report on this either. However, normally for an ‘All you can eat” Breakfasts Buffet, one cannot take food out.
Disabled: As I stated parking is available on several side streets within about a 300 meter radius of the restaurant. While there are not steps to overcome for the disabled, there is the problem of opening the one heavy front door and entering the establishment when others are standing in the main aisle at the Breakfast Buffet. And once inside moving around in a wheelchair to and from the buffet is impossible. Plus, for those in a wheel chair it is impossible to reach all the items on the Breakfast Buffet. The restrooms are downstairs and unfortunately inaccessible for anyone disabled in a wheelchair.
This Restaurant has its own Internet Site only in German. Their internet page has some useful information. E.g. restaurant opening hours; the restaurant’s address and telephone number; No Map showing its location; some pictures of the Restaurant; No an On-line Menu; the email address; but No internet contact page.
While, there are only a few Breakfast Buffets in the Koblenz area, this Breakfast Buffet is above average, has a good selection of food, and accept for the slightly above average price, most likely we will be back to eat here again.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Werrmann also viewed

Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Cafe Werrmann? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing