We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”
Review of Ibis Wuppertal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Wuppertal
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Wuppertal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Very friendly staff and the hotel is close to everything. A short walk to the shopping centres in either direction and even closer to the Schwebebahn which is worth going on for the experience alone. Received helpful advice about Schwebebahn from hotel staff. Breakfast was very good, but I didn’t find the food available at night very nice. Should have taken advise of staff and gone to local restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms at front a little noisy, but Wi-fi free and a strong signal when you're close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookie2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    156
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
37
91
61
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We just stayed one night while visiting a friend nearby. The hotel served its purpose for this.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. We were allocated a room on the first floor facing the front. the room was spotlessly clean, and perfectly functional. The lift was a good size so there was no struggle to fit in luggage and people.

We had two problems that affected our sleep. Firstly the room was too hot. Even with the AC on minimum and its fan on maximum, we found it difficult to sleep. We opened a window but it was too noisy on the road. Secondly, the pillows were like a brick. We both had difficulty getting comfortable. Might be just a personal thing, others might find them perfect.

The shower was good, although it tended to spill out on to the floor.

The bar areas was basic, and a little pricey. It lacked atmosphere, but we were not there for that.

the location is good. it is central. We walked in less than 10 minutes to the Christmas markets.

Parking is in the multi-storey carpark opposite, at the rear of Cinemaxx. A bit tricky to find first time, as the main street has a central reservation so you have to go round the world to get back to the opposite of the road. It worked out well for us at €6 for overnight. However, if you wanted to use your car repeatedly during the day and use/park it as you go, then the system would not suit, as you get a ticket from reception that you need to get out of the carpark. Once its gone, its gone. Also, be aware that the carpark is closed in the morning until 7:30 am, so if you have an early flight to catch you cannot use it. We had a 10:30 flight from Dusseldorf, so we were fine (40 minute trip), but had we had a 9am flight, we would have had a problem.

Overall, I would use it again for a trip such as this, but not for a longer stay. For the price paid (€49), it was reasonable value.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osulljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I used to stay in this hotel for business trips due to its good location in wuppertal, near the train station wich takes you to cologne or other cities around.

the bad behavior of its attendants made me decide to never again stay in this hotel.
there is always surprises in terms of costs appearing. I wanted to make a phone call and the lady on the other side of the line said I would have to pay 22 euros to release the telephone comunication!!!!!!! I use to stay in other ibis hotels around the world and never had such issue (this is just one of the many I had during my stay). besides that, you speak english to them and they seem to make you feel you don't speak english well (I work in the international business segment.........) BYE BYE IBIS WUPPERTAL!!!!!!!!!! next time will stay in the intercontinental, wich is just across the wuppertal hbf.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvarodabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekibrush
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed for another convention in town.
This hotel is in one of the areas of Wuppertal. I don't really know if it is close to the centre since I haven't figured out Wuppertal at all .
The hotel is right next to a busy street where cars are driving all day and all night. If you can't take much noise you'll have to ask them for a room at the backside of the hotel. Especially if you like to have your windows open at night to get fresh air. There's a traffic light almost at the entrance of the hotel so cars are stopping and pulling up the entire time.
The hotel has a very small lobby , in fact the smallest I've seen on any Ibis so far. Still there's a TV on at night and they have a bar. No restaurant at night. Breakfast is the usual decent Ibis breakfast.
Parking is a bit of a nightmare. You need to book a spot in the underground hotel garage. The spots to park are really tiny. Now I don't mind that but some people can't park their cars correct which means there's hardly any space in the next spot than. Plus the fact they didn't have space for us for about half the stay. If you want a space call the hotel ahead and book it . I didn't know and it meant I had to search for a space on the street which took me quite a while. At night around the hotels area there's hardly any free space around. I ended up parking quite a way and had to walk 10 minutes to get to my car in the morning.
Rooms are the usual Ibis type of rooms. No surprises and the quality is good , like usual at Ibis.
Wireless internet is for free in the lobby areas.
This hotel has decent rates and it's good value for money. But keep in mind the parking problems ( call before leaving home ! ) and the noisy street . ( again , call for a room at the backside )...or simply take a pair of good earplugs ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekibrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuppertal hotels
Elberfeld-Mitte
Vienna House Easy Wuppertal
Vienna House Easy Wuppertal
#4 of 26 in Wuppertal
23 reviews
Elberfeld-Mitte
Hotel Astor Wuppertal
Hotel Astor Wuppertal
#8 of 26 in Wuppertal
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Wuppertal
#16 of 26 in Wuppertal
190 reviews
TRYP by Wyndham Wuppertal
#7 of 26 in Wuppertal
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Wuppertal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wuppertal

Property: Ibis Wuppertal
Address: Hofaue 4, 42103 Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Wuppertal > Elberfeld-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Wuppertal
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,996 - ₹ 8,896
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Wuppertal 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Wuppertal hotel is located in the city centre, 500 m from the central railway station. 25 km from the Messezentrum Duesseldorf Exhibition Centre, it is ideal for business stays. Close to very numerous restaurants, it has 82 air-conditioned rooms, including 2 adapted for disabled guests, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24/7 and private covered pay parking. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the Wifi wireless Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ibis Wuppertal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing