We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frid.Ex for a completely different eating experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Hounslow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Frid.Ex for a completely different eating experience”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed in the Sheraton Essen for a long weekend on going to see a concert in the Grugerhalle. The staff were extremely helpful, and the room was very good and clean. Shower was amazing! As we were there on Friday night, we decided to eat in the Park am restraunt and accepted the offer to try the Frid.ex. and what an experience it was!!! Superb food and wonderful choice. I won't give too much away except to say, pick a card, and keep picking!! All in all a wonderful stay, and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear tatts10,
Great to hear from you!

We love to see that you had a memorable stay in Essen enjoying a phenomenal concert and of course, a great stay at our Sheraton Essen Hotel.

Also, we were impressed by your comments referring to our associates and our Friday’s experience. We think so, too! The event provides each and every guest a wide range of culinary dishes to choose from.

We hope to see you again when you are back in Essen.

Best regards and great journeys,

Katrin Kitel
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    153
    81
    24
    11
See reviews for
25
69
34
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is a convenient hotel with two faces. The lobby and adjacent areas are absolutely beautiful, relaxing and well designed. I spent some time there during my business meetings and found it very enjoyable. Even though there is a bar, there is enough space to have a quiet conversation.
The room however (and I stayed on the SPG floor) are a different deal. The hotel is not newly built and it shows. The design of the rooms is just old fashioned and the bath room is outdated with horrific tiles on the wall. Of course it i always a matter of taste, but I dare to say that this design will not find many admirers.
Also, the technical standard of the rooms is not up to date. No individual temperature settings on the a/c.
Internet is a steep € 19.00 per night. Many hotels offer high speed internet for free these days as well it should be.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had breakfast served in my room which was of excellent quality.
The bath room was not very clean. I found hairs sticking to the wall behind the bath tub.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecoraljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear capecoraljay,
Thank you very much for your time and thoughts shared.

We appreciate your positive comments the same way we do for the critical parts.
As you mentioned we re-designed our public spaces over the years, opened it to create a modern and communicative area where to sit, have business talks and enjoy good company.

It is good to hear you enjoyed our room service breakfast and our friendly and helpful associates you had interacted to.

We understand that room interior is always a matter of taste and certainly varies.
As far as the bathrooms concern we currently work on a refurbishment plan to upgrade all bathrooms. Besides the bathroom, the Sheraton offers free high speed Internet access in the Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft wired as well as wireless. It is easy to use – simply plug in your reservation details and you are online. It is correct that in-room wifi is available by T-mobile hotspot.

Definitely not acceptable is you had to find a hair in your bathroom. We are going to address this issue with our housekeeping team and sensitize all of our employees. We would like to stay in touch with you as we want to learn from your experience. Without knowing the exact dates and circumstances we cannot get track of addressed issues.

Please feel free to reach out at essen@sheraton.com.

We always do our very best to make you feel at home whenever you stay with us and hope you will continue to travel that often to Germany.

Hope to see you again at the SHERATON ESSEN HOTEL.

Always a safe travel,

Katrin Kitel
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for a brilliant value rate and spent the weekend on the culture tour taking in Essen Zollverein etc near by. Rooms are good and clean, centrally located, right next to the tram stop and some great local restaurants. It's a little bit traditional in feel - so those of your who are just too cool may struggle with the decor. The restaurant was over priced and a touch on the Fawlty Towers side when we were there but may well have changed. All in all we had a good value weekend - Cardiff, to Schipol by air, linked train straight to Essen and lots of culture; UNESCO sites and the European Industrial Heritage Trail. This hotel made for a very good value central base.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CADCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear CADCardiff,
Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Essen and its cultural highlights and thank you for the detailed feedback.

It is a great feeling to read your comment and we are so happy to share it with all our associates.

Dear CADCardiff, we would be very happy to welcome you again when travelling brings you back to Essen!

Best regards

Katrin Kitel
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Had a three night stay. Location is fine - about a five/ten minute walk to the main city area. Also there is an underground tram station right in front of the hotel.

Room was a good size and in excellent condition. Decor - not really to my taste.

SPG Platinum recognition was fairly poor - but was given access to the executive lounge. The lounge is very small but never overcrowded.

Staff were also very friendly.

However my main problem was noise - a lot of loud door slamming could be clearly heard, as well as noise from adjourning rooms. Maybe I just had noisy neighbours.

I'd be happy to stay here again but also just as happy to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crb412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear crb412,
Thank very much you for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic that our staff took good care of you during your three nights stay with us!

We are sorry to see that our decor did not meet your taste and that you were disturbed by the loud door slamming and from adjourning rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please be assured that we will take this opportunity to discuss this issue with our technical department.

Hopefully you will have the chance to return to Essen some time soon and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Katrin Kitel
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
245 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we spent there a night at a weekend in january.
Good clean-rooms; restaurant ok - nothing special. good located while integrated in the philarmonic saalbau theatre

Preis was ok. Not cheap - but fair

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertpeters2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear albertomagno,

Thank you very much for taking the time and providing us your personal review of your stay at our hotel. We are sad to hear that we did not manage to fully satisfy you having a memorable and enjoyable stay at our Sheraton hotel.

Especially for weekend travelers we work hard to create various culinary and cultural highlights with local partners and enhance our restaurant offers, such as Frid*ex. Every Friday guests create their own menu by selecting from sixteen different dishes from starters like soups and salads followed by main dishes and finally a great assortment of delicious deserts. The best, you choose the way you want to have it.

We would love to introduce it to you the next time you’re in Essen.
Always great journeys!

Kind regards,
Katrin Kitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Stadtkern
InterCityHotel Essen
InterCityHotel Essen
#15 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Essen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Essen Hotel

Property: Sheraton Essen Hotel
Address: Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Essen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#6 Business Hotel in Essen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,096 - ₹ 19,305
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Essen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Essen Hotel is located at the edge of the quiet Stadtgarten, only a five-minute walk away from the city center and the central station. The Underground station is located in front of the hotel, and just three stops from the fairground Essen and Grugahalle. The Sheraton Essen Hotel is 29 kilometers from Dusseldorf International Airport (20 minutes by car). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Essen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Essen
Essen Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing