We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
141
164
88
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
164
88
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeplatinum memberfree wifi in the lobbybeautiful parknice hotelsuper breakfastluxury hotel chainbig parklobby areaconcert halltv channelstrain stationdecent coffeenice barbusiness meetingupgraded roomrooms are fine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is a convenient hotel with two faces. The lobby and adjacent areas are absolutely beautiful, relaxing and well designed. I spent some time there during my business meetings and found it very enjoyable. Even though there is a bar, there is enough space to have a quiet conversation.
The room however (and I stayed on the SPG floor) are a different deal. The hotel is not newly built and it shows. The design of the rooms is just old fashioned and the bath room is outdated with horrific tiles on the wall. Of course it i always a matter of taste, but I dare to say that this design will not find many admirers.
Also, the technical standard of the rooms is not up to date. No individual temperature settings on the a/c.
Internet is a steep € 19.00 per night. Many hotels offer high speed internet for free these days as well it should be.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had breakfast served in my room which was of excellent quality.
The bath room was not very clean. I found hairs sticking to the wall behind the bath tub.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecoraljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear capecoraljay,
Thank you very much for your time and thoughts shared.

We appreciate your positive comments the same way we do for the critical parts.
As you mentioned we re-designed our public spaces over the years, opened it to create a modern and communicative area where to sit, have business talks and enjoy good company.

It is good to hear you enjoyed our room service breakfast and our friendly and helpful associates you had interacted to.

We understand that room interior is always a matter of taste and certainly varies.
As far as the bathrooms concern we currently work on a refurbishment plan to upgrade all bathrooms. Besides the bathroom, the Sheraton offers free high speed Internet access in the Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft wired as well as wireless. It is easy to use – simply plug in your reservation details and you are online. It is correct that in-room wifi is available by T-mobile hotspot.

Definitely not acceptable is you had to find a hair in your bathroom. We are going to address this issue with our housekeeping team and sensitize all of our employees. We would like to stay in touch with you as we want to learn from your experience. Without knowing the exact dates and circumstances we cannot get track of addressed issues.

Please feel free to reach out at essen@sheraton.com.

We always do our very best to make you feel at home whenever you stay with us and hope you will continue to travel that often to Germany.

Hope to see you again at the SHERATON ESSEN HOTEL.

Always a safe travel,

Katrin Kitel
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for a brilliant value rate and spent the weekend on the culture tour taking in Essen Zollverein etc near by. Rooms are good and clean, centrally located, right next to the tram stop and some great local restaurants. It's a little bit traditional in feel - so those of your who are just too cool may struggle with the decor. The restaurant was over priced and a touch on the Fawlty Towers side when we were there but may well have changed. All in all we had a good value weekend - Cardiff, to Schipol by air, linked train straight to Essen and lots of culture; UNESCO sites and the European Industrial Heritage Trail. This hotel made for a very good value central base.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CADCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear CADCardiff,
Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Essen and its cultural highlights and thank you for the detailed feedback.

It is a great feeling to read your comment and we are so happy to share it with all our associates.

Dear CADCardiff, we would be very happy to welcome you again when travelling brings you back to Essen!

Best regards

Katrin Kitel
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Had a three night stay. Location is fine - about a five/ten minute walk to the main city area. Also there is an underground tram station right in front of the hotel.

Room was a good size and in excellent condition. Decor - not really to my taste.

SPG Platinum recognition was fairly poor - but was given access to the executive lounge. The lounge is very small but never overcrowded.

Staff were also very friendly.

However my main problem was noise - a lot of loud door slamming could be clearly heard, as well as noise from adjourning rooms. Maybe I just had noisy neighbours.

I'd be happy to stay here again but also just as happy to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crb412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear crb412,
Thank very much you for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic that our staff took good care of you during your three nights stay with us!

We are sorry to see that our decor did not meet your taste and that you were disturbed by the loud door slamming and from adjourning rooms. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please be assured that we will take this opportunity to discuss this issue with our technical department.

Hopefully you will have the chance to return to Essen some time soon and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Katrin Kitel
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we spent there a night at a weekend in january.
Good clean-rooms; restaurant ok - nothing special. good located while integrated in the philarmonic saalbau theatre

Preis was ok. Not cheap - but fair

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertpeters2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear albertomagno,

Thank you very much for taking the time and providing us your personal review of your stay at our hotel. We are sad to hear that we did not manage to fully satisfy you having a memorable and enjoyable stay at our Sheraton hotel.

Especially for weekend travelers we work hard to create various culinary and cultural highlights with local partners and enhance our restaurant offers, such as Frid*ex. Every Friday guests create their own menu by selecting from sixteen different dishes from starters like soups and salads followed by main dishes and finally a great assortment of delicious deserts. The best, you choose the way you want to have it.

We would love to introduce it to you the next time you’re in Essen.
Always great journeys!

Kind regards,
Katrin Kitel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Sheraton was a very comfortable place to stay. The service was good, though there was a little mix up with our room, and we ended up switching twice. Other than that, our stay at the Sheraton was nice.
There was internet access, which was good, and somewhat rare, but it is only available in the lobby.
Our room was quite nice, and had a beautiful view of the park behind the hotel.
The hotel restaurant was interesting. It had a strange system that was a little difficult to figure out (we'd been awake for 40 hours, so I'm sure this made a difference), but the food was good, and the staff was friendly.
Would recommend.
Oh, and I think something said this hotel had a pool, but it does not.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonEssen, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Laura M.

Thank you very much for taking the time and letting us know about your previous stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback giving us the opportunity to keep improving our services. Once again, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the room move. Glad to hear you liked the room with view overlooking the park area.

Also, thank you for your kind recommendation of our restaurant. Don't know when you experienced our services; I think you probably used it on a Friday. On Friday we offer our Frid*ex program when you had the chance to eat from a sixteen menu selection. You could have chosen any item on the card how often would wanted and when. There are no strict courses to follow.

The Sheraton Essen hotel does not have a pool facility. If you could get in touch with us and would advise where you had found that information we would sort it out.

We hope you had a safe trip back home.
Greetings to sunny California!

Kind regards,
Katrin Kitel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews