We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
34
90
31
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
90
31
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We stayed as a family at this hotel for three nights in August. The service at reception and in the breakfast room was excellent. Very professional. The reception staff spoke very good English which was helpful because our German was limited. They were happy to organise taxis and direct us to local places to eat. The breakfast buffet had a huge variety of food and was excellent quality. The staff were happy to find something else for us that wasn't there. We ate in the piano bar one evening and the food and service there was good. All areas of the hotel very clean. The only downside was that the rooms were hot - there was no air conditioning. This wouldn't normally be a problem but it was around 30 degrees when we stayed. We had the windows open and the reception staff were happy to bring some fans up to us. The road at the front of the hotel is busy and so it was a bit noisy with windows open. But we still all had good nights' sleep.

Room tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWYpsilon, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Ben:

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment here on TripAdvisor.
We would be very pleased to be you host again in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
Ralf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

I stay in this hotel whenever I travel to Essen for business. Underground parking, breakfast, bar all good. Rooms are a bit small. The staff is helpful and recognized returning customers - thats a nice touch.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juergen_4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf H, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018
Google Translation

Lieber Jürgen,
ein herzliches Dankeschön für Ihren Kommentar hier auf TripAdvisor. Unser Gastgeberteam freut sich sehr über
ihre Worte und würde sich sehr freuen, Sie recht bald wieder in der Ruhrmetropole begrüßen zu dürfen.
Glück Auf! und ist - freundliche Grüße,
Ihr
Best Western Hotel Ypsilon
Ralf J. Hofmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Was here for a business stay, good hotel meeting my expectations. Due to high booking and a fair going on, I got a smokers room and being a none-smoker this was terrible.
The breakfast buffet was good and defintly meeting my expectations.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RicTheStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf H, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Sir:
We do apologize, that there was no non-smoking room available for you, due to the high demand during the fair period.
if you place your upcoming reservation in advance, this should not be a problem at all and we can make your stay a perfect one.
Thank you very much for your comment,
Yours sincerely,
Ralf J. Hoffmann
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. It was acceptable, but nothing superb. The breakfast was great, but the rooms facing the street really noisy. The staff were nice and helpful.

+ parking
+ breakfast

- noisy rooms

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ZakiK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWYpsilon, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Zaki:

Thank you very much for your response here on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry, that the rooms facing the street where to noisy when comes to your expectations.
But we are happy, that we did meet your expectations when it comes to the breakfast buffet.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again at the Ypsilon Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Ralf
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Clean , comfortable and convenient. 500m form the nearest underground. The staff were superb and deserve a special mention.
There was a large extensive choice for breakfast and the quality was good.
Would book again if I was staying in Essen.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWYpsilon, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Sirs:
Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor, it's wonderful, that you gave our hosts a special mention.
We wold be very pleased to welcoming you soon again at the Best Western Hotel Ypsilon.
Yours sincerely,
Ralf J. Hoffmann
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews