We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy accident.”
Review of Hotel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Residence
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Essen
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A happy accident.”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Residence purely by accident. After a long day of driving, we needed a place to stay for the night and we decided that Essen was about as far as we would be able to go. My spouse opened the Michelin guide, called the Residence, and we had a wonderful evening as a result. The hotel is quaint, but the rooms have all of the modcons and amenities one would expect. The service was friendly and attentive while not being overbearing. But the true gem is the restaurant. The chef's skills are remarkable and the meal was outstanding, as were the wine pairings and the service. When we complimented the chef on a particularly wonderful asparagus dish, he sent out a second helping by way of thanks. Although I would generally rate the hotel more in the Very Good range (verging on the Excellent), the restaurant definitely puts it solidly in the Excellent category.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Flier07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    6
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Went there only to eat, and it was worth traveling from Dusseldorf for just one night.
The service was - if possible - even better than the food. Everyone was so polite and even though they all could not remember every name of the food items, it was ok.
And much cheaper than a Michelin-restaurant in Finland.
After finishing dinner they called us a taxi and took us to a cosy "smoking room" where we could have a cigarette and relax for a few minutes rather than standing outside in the rain waiting for the car.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranunculus-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I stayed at the Residence over the course of over a year in 2006 and must say that this place is one of the best places I have ever been to in my life and by far the best hotel in Germany. I have been back there a few times since.

It is a small hotel with 19 rooms located in a residential area in the south of Essen. The hotel has an aclaimed Two-Star Restaurant (which I enjoyed dining in a few times) and a nice bar.

In the time I stayed there, the staff made every effort to make my stay enjoyable, from Birthday gifts, Card for Christmas and Easter, congratulations at the birth of my son, wonderful dinners, invitations for dinners, champagne testing, etc. etc. etc. All this at an extremely competitive price.

The breakfast buffet is absolutely perfect, and they will cater to any wishes you may have, room service at any time required and any special services that you may need.

Having said all of that there are a few minor drawbacks: At the time, the hotel had no WIFI and being an old house the sound insulation was not perfect.

Nevertheless, the few opportunities, when I am back in the area (which is maybe once a year), I always stay there.

  • Liked — 10/10 Hotel!
  • Disliked — A bit noisy.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This hotel is located in a residential street, 5 minutes from the train station.
It is very quaint,just under 20 rooms I beleive, but they would do anything for you.
On arrival ,you do have some sherry wine as well as some fruit basket in the room.
By USA standart rooms are small, but for Europe is is quite fine.
We did get turn over service every night, with a bedtime story as well as some chocolate.
Every evening at our return ,always somebody at the reception desk to hand you your key, and by the way they know who you are , no need to specify which room , they know.
We ate almost every evening in the restaurant, this was heaven.

  • Liked — All the attention to details, you do not find in big chains of Hotels
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Franceflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed in the hotel because of the great reputation of the restaurant - truly one of the great culinary experiences in Germany. The hotel staff was friendly and very professional and because the hotel was not full, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite where we found many delightful welcome gifts, like excellent sherry and a delicious fruit basket. The suite was elegant and most comfortable, we could have spent weeks there! The number one reason, however, to stay at hotel Résidence is the innovative, superb cuisine of its restaurant. Our seven course "summer night's dream" menu was a succession of startlingly original, harmonious plates that left us in postprandial reverie for hours. Even though we dined at other highly praised restaurants in Germany, none could match the unique dining experience we had at Résidence. A gem! The hotel-restaurant is located in a suburb of Essen, so going by car is a big advantage. Otherwise simply take a cab, you will be happy you did.

  • Liked — generous, comfortable rooms, superb breakfast (the restaurant is one of Germany's best!)
Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Epices6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essen
Kettwig
No photo provided
Kettwig
Hotel & Restaurant Sengelmannshof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Garni Haus Schonberger
#2 of 2 in Heiligenhaus
6 reviews
Hotel Gastgeb
#26 of 67 in Essen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence

Property: Hotel Residence
Address: Auf der Forst 1, 45219 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Kettwig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Essen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,690 - ₹ 17,816
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Essen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing