We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
17
10
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
10
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

The hotel ist extremely new and well located. The decoration combines in a great style with the industrial region. We reserved a room plus a additional bed for our daughter. It was clear that three people were hosting the room. But during the entire stay, the hotel management was not able to deliver three sets of towels each day. The breakfast buffet offered a large variety and is well offered. But each day we observed that the re-fill of items was not really agile. I would say it is part of the brand new staff on board.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Frank_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhessen, Rooms Division Manager at NH Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Dear Frank,

thank you very much for staying in the NH Essen and your feedback - especially for your note regarding breakfast and room service.
Indicates like this helps us plenty to improve our services - we already discussed your notes with our team.
We would be glad to welcome you back soon in one of the NH Hotels.

With best Regards from Essen,
Dany Pascal Teerling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

I checked in on December 28 together with a friend, for the first time in Essen. Hotel beds were good, clean room. We stayed in room 609. I have nothing to say about that. Only my friend forgot his expensive white electric toothbrush from Braun. It costs 140 euro. It was a gift from his aunt for his birthday. We checked out on December 29 and on December 30, my friend called the hotel for his expensive toothbrush. Hotel worker said; we have never seen anything like this. And we never found your electric toothbrush. How is this possible?!! He lay in the bathroom, next to the sink. Every good hotel has a room for found objects. or do you have problems with your pickpockets from cleaners? What a very bad service and handling! Every hotel works with found objects, in this case an expensive equipment. I want a fee for this! Very bad of a new hotel. Never again to NH in Essen. VERY BAD SERVICE!!!!!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Alev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhessen, Rooms Division Manager at NH Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2019

Dear Alev,

thank you very much for staying in the NH Essen and your feedback.

We regret your loss very much, however after several searches and consultation with our housekeeping team we have to tell you that no toothbrush can be found from your room.
Also our Frontoffice/Housekeeping team checked everything shortly after your call.
You can be sure that we have fix lost&found procedures in our hotel / company which we follow very strict.
Even though we have only recently opened, we already have a lot of funds in the house.

Our team would be glad to welcome you back again in one of our hotels - especially to change your bad impression about our hotel.

With best regards from Essen,
Dany Pascal Teerling



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2018

Super convenient. Rooms are good and service is good.
nespresso in room and fridge, Tv sofa and good aircon
Parking is via the multi-level opposite = 15 euros per night.
walkable from the main station, and all the shopping is on your doorstep.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank walkerbrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhessen, Rooms Division Manager at NH Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2018

Dear Walkerbrierley,

thank you so much for staying in the NH Essen and your feedback on Tripadvisor!
We will share your comment with our team and we would be glad to welcome you back soon in one of our NH Hotels.

Best Regards,
Dany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Without going into great detail I will just say this. This hotel is worth every Euro you paid for it. The location to Essen shopping district and other things is fantastic. At the time of this review the hotel's systems were still having minor teething problems. Nothing serious and just minorly annoying.

Upon check in, make sure you are given the room style you paid for.
A standard room is very small and crowded.
A Standard XL is more of a typical hotel room.
I never saw a Junior Suite, but that must be huge!

If rooms are not ready, they will hold your bags for you, but be sure to get a claim ticket.

If your thinking of parking in the garage, just be aware that it is tight quarters down there and there are really only 15 places to park as 1 (which makes the 16 they advertise) is specifically for handicap persons. Of these 15 places at least 2 of them are really only for compact cars due to the ramp in and out of the garage being at the front the parking space.

The breakfast is filling, although at the time of this review it was always the same items on the hot and cold areas. Bread changed a bit each day as did pastries. They do offer something called "Fresh Egg Service" which I did not try and have no idea what that is about. Tea choice is quite extensive and one sack is more than enough for good flavor. Coffee was good (So I am told by my group) and there is a wide choice from a machine next to the tea with hot chocolate I think as well. There are two coffee machines in the breakfast room which has lots of room and is very open in its layout.

Staff for Front Desk and Breakfast are very friendly. Front desk will do everything in their power to make sure your stay is nice.

The directions from one of the staff for the underground were not that clear. But I can clarify that. Just go over to the center of town and look for the big shopping gallery and go inside and in the middle you will see signs for the underground. There are no U lines here, just local lines that will zip you up to the main station where you can transfer to a U tram to go to other major locations.

Rooms at the time of this review seem to have their environmental controls disabled for user input even though it appears you are controlling the temperature. Room was hot and due to street noise we could not leave the window open at night. Pillows are really really soft! You can ask for a few more and they will bring them to your room.
Bed is comfortable. Shower (I had a handicap room even though I am not in a wheelchair) is a nice flat floor with a seat and a rain shower head and a handheld "wand" that has a high intensity massage option you can click on. You just have to turn a knob to supply water to one or the other.(Same option is all rooms) Water is instantly hot and you can really steam up the bathroom. I saw the standard tub/shower in another room and its a low wall bath with the above shower components in it. A wall mounted hairdryer is by the sink. Shower gel and shampoo are good. Did not use bar soap.

Curtains are great blackout curtains! Just be sure to overlap them correctly

Other features in room are USB charging ports at desk in the room and on the wall at the bedstands. Lights next to the bed can be turned inward or outward depending on what you like. TV channel selection is 99% German original programming or overdubs in German on American series or other non German programs.
Only English is the news channels.

There is strong and fast WIFI through out the building. There are at least 2 repeaters on each wing of each floor. The hotel was maxed out in capacity and I never once had a slowdown or a crash like I had 2 years ago at a another name brand hotel.

The only significant downside to this place is the lack of ventilation in the hallways and in the rooms.

Be sure to try the bar, its just off to the left of the front desk. Lobby seating is nice. Lemon water and sometimes small cookies are available. Just to the back of the seating area in the lobby is a small business center with PC and printer.

Handicap guests, Hotel is 100% accessible for chairs and for walkers or other assisting devices. I occupied one of the rooms or the only handicap room and everything is up to code for wheelchair users. There are 3 alarm cords in the room if there is a problem and you are alone. There is just one allocated space down in the garage, providing no one has parked illegally. The door from the lift to the garage opens automatically inward via a sensor. Breakfast room level is accessible via the lift as it is a half level down from lobby level. Front entrance is flat from the sidewalk into the lobby. You can also park in front of the hotel if you are able to walk, but there are no wheelchair cutouts on the street.

For those of you staying for SPIEL there are no game rooms in this hotel (at the time of this review) as the hotel is still new and does not know if there is a demand for their 60 person conference room to be opened. If you want a room to play in, in the future, be sure to let them know and be sure to let other players know to tell the hotel they would like a room. Your are a good 15 minute walk from the nearest game hotel.

Summary....4 stars only because of some technical issues in the room and problem in the garage and a few other things that the hotel has been made aware of. Despite the one start downgrade, I would come back and stay here again. It is convenient location to visit the shopping district and it is quiet and easy to get back on the expressway to go places by car. Breakfast is good even if the menu does not change, there are other options to be had. Fruit is ripe and has good flavor most of the time and is not rock hard. Had a great stay despite some minor issues.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Expat_American
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhessen, Manager at NH Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the NH Essen and your kind feedback. I am glad to hear your opinion about our service performances and our product.

I am very sorry that you were not fully satisfied during your stay. As you know we are a new opened property, so of course we need to develop our offer in price achievement and customer’s service. Continues feedback helps us to get even better each day.

Please, be sure that we do our best to present an even better NH Essen to our guests. I commented your opened points directly to you by mail. I would be glad to welcome you again at the NH Hotel Group especially at the NH Essen, may be to the next Spiel Trade Fair 2019 than we will organize our restaurant as a Gaming area, which was a completly new wish for us right after the opening, but this will be easy to implement next year.

Thanks for your very positive feedback especially regarding my staff.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Recently Opened hotel 15 minute walk from the Essen central train station and surrounded by excellent restaurants and shops. Excellent and very friendly and on the ball staff, superb breakfast and marvellously spacious and comfortable Rooms. Only Issue here is the architect. The lounging area is a bizarre mix of wooden wall cabinets and very Low hanging metal light features designed to knock you out when you sit around them. Room had a slanted mirror that looked like it was rested against the wall at an angle because it wouldn’t fit. Very powerful and wonderful shower - but in a basin that is too low, and no door resulting in water seeping out onto the bathroom floor - making it lethally slippery. Hope they have
Insurance as there is a high probability that someone will slip, get hurt and sue. I paid €230 for two nights - double the normal rate owing to fair time in Essen Messe. Highly recommend this hotel. Hopefully they will sort
Out the bathroom issues.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank BrendanKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhessen, Manager at NH Essen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thanks for your kind feedback. I am very happy to here that you like our new property and the issues regarding bathroom and lobby decorations have been forwarded to be solved quickly. Your feedback helps to improve our new product and services and of course for our future openings. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Your NH Essen Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews