We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel!”
Review of Max Hotel Garni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Max Hotel Garni
Ranked #26 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Coogee, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Like other reviewers, we loved the Max Garni...what a charming excellent small hotel! And at a very reasonable rate. We only had 2 days in Dusseldorf, and the hotel suited us perfectly, near the station, and not too far to walk to the main sights and shopping etc. The hotel provided us with transport tickets so it certainly wasn't a problem to get around. The room was compact but had everything we wanted. It was nice and bright with big opening windows looking out onto the street. Everything worked well and the room was immaculate. Normally we like to have a minifridge for our milk and drinks, but this hotel had a common small fridge in the foyer (along with a coffee machine) and drinks including water, soft drink and beers!! were available free of charge. The 2 lovely ladies who looked after us for our stay were terrific...friendly and efficient, no-fuss etc. Breakfasts were great too...in a lovely breakfast area...not too elaborate...but a lovely spread of fresh food...and eggs cooked to order. The hotel has a lot of nice little touches, everything well planned and thoughtful...but still quite minimalist and altogether perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the stairs may be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    60
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
106
40
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I booked this because of good reviews and because of the free Rhine-Ruhr transport pass that lasts the duration of your trip. I was travelling around the area visiting museums a lot and the pass saved me a lot of money compared to buying day tickets.

I was very satisfied with the room in general and the comfiness of the bed. I was in room 15 and couldn't get wifi most of the time on phone or laptop: ended up taking a chair out of the room and sitting by the guest laptop using my own.

The free mineral water, cola and beer is a nice touch.

My only complaint is that there are no opaque curtains on the windows: only nets and a peculiar sliding vinyl blind that only covers a thin vertical slice. If I hadn't brought a sleep mask the streetlights would have kept me awake.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KdSLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at the Max Garni for a few days whilst visiting our son in Dusseldorf. We booked after looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor and the good ratings are very well deserved. We found all the staff to be really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was large, with a good sized bathroom and comfy bed (apart from the huge, soft pillows, but that's just the way they are in Germany); everything was immaculately clean. It was great to have free coffee and cold drinks (water, coke and beer) throughout our stay and access to cutlery, crockery and a microwave was a thoughtful touch. There's a REWE supermarket just around the corner, so you could prepare your own food if you needed to keep costs down.

We had no problem with wifi connection (room 20) although other reviewers have experienced problems, so perhaps it's down to the location of your room. Our room was at the back there was no noise from the road, but the floors are tiled, so if you have noisy neighbours it does echo a bit. During our stay there was only about 1 hour where we were kept awake by people coming in late. Other than that we didn't hear the other guests.

The area is good and the hotel is surrounded by flats, with a few small shops. It's only a short walk to the main train station and to the metro or tram stops. The free travel card is an excellent idea. This and the coffee and drinks throughout the day more than make up for reception not being manned 24 hours. It looks like someone has thought very carefully about what travellers really want and has tried to provide it for a reasonable price.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but on our last morning we went to Rosie's, just a short walk away (Adersstrasse 21). It was crowded every time we walked past and we wanted to know why. It's a lovely place to stop for a coffee or snack/meal.

Room Tip: Number 20 was large, quiet and had good wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacopeland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

If you want a simple no fuss place to stay in Dusseldorf, then this place should fit the bill.
For a base to explore, or a quick overnighter between trains it’s ideal.
It’s clean, tidy, small and functional.
Our room was a good size with a small shower room attached, all clean and modern fittings.
We were placed next to a family with screaming kids, so soundproofing is questionable if you get a noisy group booked in alongside.
Breakfast is typical B&B continental style, tasty and easy.

The hotel is an easy walk from the Hbf railway station, your stay will probably include a local transport pass for the days you are resident – a very useful addition.
The Alt Stadt (Old Town) is a 25 min walk or 15 min walk/U-bahn. (You would need to take 2 VRR trams or 1 U-bahn train)

There’s a laptop for your use in the shared area, along with a punch bag and some small dumb bells for a workout.
Wi-Fi was very weak, iPhone’s connected intermittently, laptop could not pick up a signal. The WiFi code is over 25 random characters long, which is a slight pain on an iPhone.

I like the fact that this is not a chain, it was personally ran and friendly. You were left you your own devices, with a front door key.

We paid £213 for 3 nights B&B Friday - Monday, so be aware this is by no means a cheaper place to stay in a city with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I booked the Max based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated ( crisp and clean ) throughout . The rooms are well appointed . The bed and pillows extremely comfortable , fresh crisp linen, fresh decor and a daily bottle of mineral water. The bathroom was well appointed and my husband loved the taps where water temperature was set and remained constant. A cabinet with toothpaste , toothbrush and deodorant for purchase a considerate touch.

Breakfast was included: juice, coffee, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, meat and cheese. Always fresh and more than sufficient way to start the day. On our first day Petra asked whether we would like pot of tea instead of coffee and offered us eggs cooked to order ( poached was not a problem).

A transport card was also included enabling us to use the buses, trams and trains. We used our transport card to travel to Recklinghausen ( about 60 minutes away) ( a saving of 34 euros for that trip).

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main train station, 10 minutes to the Old Town and the Rhine and the city's most elegant shopping area. I was a bit concerned on arrival at 6pm as we walked past some of the businesses in the surrounding streets. That said, the neighbourhood ( primarily residential) is safe and we had no problems walking back from the Old Town at midnight.

Whilst Petra is not at reception 24 hours arrangements can be made if you are arriving after 9pm.

Petra was extremely helpful even before we arrived in providing details of train timetables to Recklinghausen as we were going to my stepson's performance at the Fringe Festival. Petra also obtained tickets for the performance as I was having difficulty obtaining them online.

The lack of a lift is not a problem as it is only one flight of stairs and Bilge offered to help us with our bags.

Little touches like a computer and printer in the hallway, a library and some weights if you wanted to do some exercise.

We discovered whilst at Dusseldorf Airport that we had left our portable safe bag with passport and money in the hotel room . Bilge went up to the room immediately, located and posted to us back home....and refusing our offer to reimburse the postage cost and cost of locksmith detaching the safe.

This hotel deserves its No 1 position on Tripadvisor. We loved Dusseldorf and will be back again and looking forward to another stay at the Max Hotel Garni.

Thanks again Petra .

Room Tip: We had Room 11 not facing the street. Plenty of natural light. I don't believe noise would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triciav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#13 of 237 in Dusseldorf
570 reviews
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
#20 of 237 in Dusseldorf
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#65 of 237 in Dusseldorf
197 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Hotel Garni

Property: Max Hotel Garni
Address: Adersstr. 65, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#10 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#20 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,065 - ₹ 7,001
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Max Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing