We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Acon

Hotel Acon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acon
Ranked #132 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Hamilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Hotel Acon was surprisingly good. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and were multilingual which was great for us. It was pretty cheap at 65 euro per night, our room was spacious and sunny and had everything that we needed. The hotel was handy to the train station, although it was in a street that seemed a bit dodgy with three or four nudie bars, and I'm not sure that I would have felt comfortable walking around the area on my own at night. The decor was a little dated, but we wanted for nothing when it came to amenities - including free wi-fi - which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennytalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    30
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
20
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savonlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Being a railway enthusiast, I found this hotel to be an ideal location for both local tram and distant train travel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, including serving coffee at our early departure time of 2.30 am. The room was spacious, clean and quiet, the beds comfortable, and although we slept on the street side, the double-glazing baffled out the sound of tram and road traffic. The only street disturbance was the honking of horns when Germany won their game in the World Cup - that was just an unfortunate exception! LOL The breakfast was good and more than adequate. Allan - Finland

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finntrainfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

I have stayed here few times really helpful staff and clean basic hotel great location 5 mins from train station free wi fi.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

We had a team overnighter in Hotel Acon and it was a good hotel,

The staff were friendly and all spoke good english, which saved me making a fool of myself trying to speak German. Rooms varied from a huge apartment, my room, to a smaller less well appointed room. However all were wel equipped and clean.

Some members of the party said their rooms were cold the next day but I put that down to an inability ro work the heating out.

The rooms decor was something out of a cold war spy thriller complete with bakeolite phone which Im sure would go straight through to the Kremlin if you picked it up.

Breakfast was typical european fair, cold meat and cheese and toast etc, not really what you want after a night partying but what the hell.

The only grumble, which I didnt personall have an issue with, was the location the road the hotel is on has a lap dancing club over the road and 4 doors down, and a few sex shops around the corner.

However saying that we walked down that road a couple of times late at night and there was no hassle at all. The upside is its mega close to the centre of Dusseldorf so only about 5 euro after a night out for a cab back.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phatbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Free wi-fi internet service and breakfast, close to the main train station and the Altstadt. That's what sold me on this small hotel, and why it's a good deal in Dusseldorf. There are few bargains downtown during a major fair, and this hotel was not cheap, but it was comfortable, convenient and worked fine for an English-speaking traveler. Internet service can be spotty, but it's secure (get the password from the front desk). The immediate neighborhood looks a little rough at first glance, but it's fine. Staff is friendly and accommodating, and available 24 hours - even offered me breakfast when I had to check out at 5:30 a.m. for an early flight.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Friedrichstadt
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel
#116 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
CVJM Hotel
CVJM Hotel
#71 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Friedrichstadt
CENTRAL Hotel Dusseldorf
CENTRAL Hotel Dusseldorf
#151 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Max Hotel Garni
Max Hotel Garni
#22 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Wurms Hotel
Wurms Hotel
#160 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Novum Business Hotel New Madison Dusseldorf Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acon

Property: Hotel Acon
Address: Mintropstr. 23 | Zentrum, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,148 - ₹ 16,704
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acon 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Acon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acon Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing