We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very rude staff ruins the impression” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Duesseldorf City Nord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
Ranked #12 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prague
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very rude staff ruins the impression”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel only for one night and i was hoping it to be better than the previous night in one hostel where i could't get enough of sleep. Well, the room was clean, but not better then average in any way, just simple 4 star hotel room with nice view on the family houses part of town. I came to the room pretty late and after the wine fair dinner I was very tired. In the morning the cleaning lady woke me up twice! When she entered room for the second time without knocking she eve said "what, you're still here?". The problem is that happened one hour before check-out time! Then the receptionist (young blonde in the bad mood) "finished" me with very rude attitude when I asked her very politely to show me how to get to the nearest tram stop on her map. In the meantime I realized I'd better take a cab because of lack of time, she just crumpled a map and threw it pointedly in a bin. Well, I would expect much better treatment in a hotel like this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourWineGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeG, Guest Relations Manager at NH Duesseldorf City Nord, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor which we really do appreciate.
Not guest orientated working cleaning staff is as unsatisfying as the service you experienced during check-out.
We took your comment as a chance to discuss all points mentioned with the team to ensure that those happenings remain the exception.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and hope to welcome you once again at one of our NH Hotels to convince you of our quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    414
    99
    26
    14
See reviews for
54
183
52
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is located two S-Bahn stops away from the airport, but is a little bit out of the way of the city centre. The location isn't great in my opinion for tourists, but is fine if you are happy to spend time travelling to the Altstadt/sights or you are specifically visiting Northern Düsseldorf.

The hotel itself was very comfortable, staff were friendly and the bar/restaurant was very pleasant. My only gripe about the hotel itself was the quality of internet access. Wired internet in the rooms was chargeable (10 cents/minute) and the free wifi signal was only available in some parts of the hotel. (It was too weak to reliably use on my phone in the bar/lobby for example)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is truly a business hotel so you might will not find children or family there. Dusseldorf is a business city and I will recommend this hotel if only in a rush business trip where you just need to sleep for night. Otherwise this hotel has no frill.

Liked:
1. Clean
2. Efficient front desk.
3.Good location for easy move.
4. A gas station shop is opposite the hotel where you can buy a bottle of beer or a pack of cigarette easily.

Did not like :
1. Expensive internet. They were charging 6 euro for per hour wifi.
2. Expensive breakfast. 19 Euro/PP. Though breakfast had good options.
3. No other cafe, restaurant or super shop near by for your needs.
4. No smoking area, so lots of people always hanging on front door and smoking.

In a rush business trip, I might will come back again in this hotel. But for a relaxing trip, definitely this will not be my choice.
Hope this review is helpful but feel free to message me if you need further information. Enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: Breakfast area is really very busy 7-8AM, try to avoid this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DhakaPagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I have stayed many times in this NH hotel and I always find it clean, good services at reception desk (sometimes it is a little bit crowded but the staff is very professional and significantly reduce the waiting time) and restaurant. The breakfast is very good and you can find a lot of quality food, friendly staff and clean tables.

The hotel is 10-15 minutes away from the city center by either car or tram (there is a tram station right next to the hotel with direct linked to Jan-wellen-platz).

The rooms are clean and spacious enough, well equipped with modern furniture. There is a fitness room with sauna in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presov, Slovakia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I spent only one night in this hotel. Getting there from the airport by taxi was approx. 20 euros.

Although the non-smoking room was booked in advance, they accommodated me in the room for smokers. I was said that because of fully booked hotel. I do not understand why they did not warn me while booking. The room including the bathroom was nice, big, modern, clean, the bed was comfortable...but all around I could smell the cigarette stink.

The buffet style breakfast with quite big choise was nice, although it is questionable if 20 euros are worth it. But I think it is a common price for breakfast in this kind of hotels in Germany.

The service desk lady (M.N.) who was checking me out looked very unfriendly and when I asked her for the corrected invoice for my company, because of mistake she did, her eyes could kill. Maybe she had only bad morning:-)

The hotel itself was quite nice, but due to mentioned shortcomings it became average for me.

I would like to mention also the italian restaurant La Tosca, maybe 10 min walking distance from the hotel. The staff there were wery friendly and food and wine were amazing. It is very recommended.

Room Tip: non-smoking room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matadorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 236 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Duesseldorf City Nord? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Duesseldorf City Nord

Property: NH Duesseldorf City Nord
Address: Muensterstr. 230-238 | Duesseltal, 40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#16 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,540 - ₹ 21,876
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Duesseldorf City Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star NH Dusseldorf City Nord hotel is ideally located in the northern part of Dusseldorf, the NRW state capital, also widely known as a metropolis for trade fairs and fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your NH Duesseldorf City Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duesseldorf City Nord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing