We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms mix up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Duesseldorf City
Ranked #27 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We booked and paid for, a twin room, for 2 ladies. We arrived late, but I did ring the day before to advise them of this. When we got to our room it had a double bed. We said we booked a twin, but were told there were none left. We refused to take that room, and so they told us that after all there was a twin room! gave us the new key, but on opening the door....it was a double bed!! we were really tired by now, and hungry;we had been expecting to drop our bags off, and go out for a meal. So reluctantly, we agreed to have a put-you-up bed in the room, which, by the way, was a bit dated and miserable looking. It had a kitchen with no utensils;pointless! We said the least they could do, was to give us a drink in the bar whilst they reorganised the room, and so we had a small beer each on the house. No time for dinner though. We only stayed the one night, as we were taking a train the next day to Salzburgh.

Room Tip: double-check that you have the room you have booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline777Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

The NH Dusseldorf City Hotel is mainly used by business people. Staff at reception is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are okay, but one could expect more from a four star hotel - it looked kind of old fashioned and it was not very spacious. Also, it was annoying that I heard everything going on outside such as other guests going into their rooms and people talking. However, all in all it was okay. Breakfast is good, but you have to get your own coffee, it is not served. Choice of food is good.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
Thank TripReporter177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The NH Dusseldorf City is within walking distance of the main railway station (some 10 minutes). It is spacious and modern styled. My room was moderately spacious although the bathroom (with bath) was a bit small. Good beds. High-speed internet was expensive but, surprisingly, truely high-speed (over 140kbps!).
Breakfast was great, with a wide variety of choices, although no breakfast potatoes or hashbrowns. Also, drinks in the bar were not excessively expensive and staff service was very friendly.
Still, check-in and check-out took too long, even though there were 3 agents at the front desk. Apparently the NH system is slow, since I've had similar experiences at this hotel before, as well as in another NH hotel (in Amsterdam). And, do bring more than one credit card since my VISA did not go through and I had to use my MC.
Good to see a row of taxis waiting at the hotel: and with a major fair going on in Dusseldorf that certainly is a great thing. Value-for-money is excellent. I'm not sure there was a group discount since I did not make the reservation myself, but at € 104 this was definitely a bargain.

Room Tip: If you like sleeping with open windows, do not take a street-side room: that is one busy street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Good: We got a nice warm welcome from the lady checking us in, before taking the glass box lift up the side of the beautifully open atrium, to our room on the 4th floor. The room was reasonably spacious, very clean, and with kitted out with most of what one would expect in a hotel like this. Before heading out, we took time for a drinik in the bar and choose from the cocktail menu. A good option, the cocktails were delightful, and well recommended.

The Bad: We booked through HRS.de and got a deal considerably lower than the advertised rates of nearly €400 per night! At that price, this hotel would be a rip-off. In fact anythinbg over €150 would represent bad value.
There were a couple of annoying things about the hotel, that made me think they took a leave from Ryanairs' book, i.e. - get the customer in, the charge silly prices where possible. Wifi in a business or decent hotel should be included, but not here. A small bottle of still water in the room is €4, ridiculous. Breakfast, though very good, is €19!

Whilst I would stay here again, it won't be my first choice when I go back to Dusseldorf. I fgalls just short of the mark between good service, and good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Spending a weekend at Dusseldorf, we booked two nights at this hotel. Staff were very friendly and for breakfast there was plenty of choice. Our room was probably not the most modern, but it was comfortable and delivered everything we needed. Connection to the Altstad is really easy by metro. Recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thierry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#10 of 241 in Dusseldorf
936 reviews
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#42 of 241 in Dusseldorf
572 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Duesseldorf City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Duesseldorf City

Address: Koelner Str. 186-188 | Oberbilk, 40227 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#13 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: ₹ 3,908 - ₹ 17,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Duesseldorf City 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to NH Dusseldorf CITY, a hotel with bold and exciting architecture and conveniently located in the center of Germany's fashion metropolis. This hotel is a practical place to stay both for business travelers and tourists visiting Dusseldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Duesseldorf City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duesseldorf City Hotel
Nh Hotels düsseldorf
Nh Dusseldorf City düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing