We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Dortmund
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

firstly got to say the reception staff made me feel more like i was at home then at a hotel welcomed me with a smile got to my room found it was not ready as the cleaner was still in there so had to go back to reception and wait the room was a bit small. The bed was a lot smaller then i am used to not very wide so had to lay in a position i'm not used to,The breakfast was good. The main draw back was that the pillows on the bed looked like they had seen better days and no milk in the room had to go out and shop for that only one english chanel on the tv and that was cnn. also watch out for the city stay tax that they hit you with as you book out for my 5 day stay it was 15 euro but you are not told when you get there so save some money for this. the bathrooms are good .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay4371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    36
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
11
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night, because I have an early flight in the morning. The room was nice and clean, but a little old. The bed was very cosy, but the pillow too soft. The people at the reception spoke English and were very kind. If you leave the hotel even in 5 a.m. in the morning you can have breakfast if you want. The location is 5 min walk from the central station.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Very warm welcome from the start. All staff very friendly and helpful. Loved the decor in the lounge & bar Large double room fully equipped.Kettle & cups hidden in drawer! English version of information book very entertaining! News & sport in English on TV. Wide variety of food at breakfast & very tasty! Ideal location. Just a 10 minute walk from Main train station. Handy for the Airport Express bus too. Even closer! Wide variety of shops & restaurants on the doorstep! We really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Very good location near the railway station and shopping streets. At least those rooms which have windows to backyard are quiet. Nice warm colours though the bed could be softer. Friendly staff but not many of them, so be prepared to wait a while. Good breakfast.

No air-conditioning in the room which is normal in this price category.

They didn't tell about city tax before I was paying - so it cost some 4 euro more than confirmed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maril_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We booked a family room as part of a package with easyJet which included flights to Dortmund Airport and six nights stay in the City Hotel.

Getting there was straightforward - it's a 5 mile (25-30 min) "Airport Express" bus trip from the airport to Dortmund Hauptbahnhof (the main train station), costing 6 Euros per adult and 2 Euros per childone way. Beware, though, the bus only runs every 90 minutes, and the last bus from town Mon-Fri is at 17.30!

Details are here: http://www.dortmund-airport.de/fileadmin/user_upload/Fahrpl_ne/AirportExpress_26_10_09.pdf

It is possible to take a shorter, more regular bus - the "Airport Shuttle" - to Holzwickede station (1.50 Euro per person), and from there to Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, but we didn't do that!

From the station, it's a very simple five minute walk up to and across the pedestrian precinct (past the gun shop on your right!) to Silberstrasse,

On entering the hotel, we were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist, who allowed us to leave our bags in the conference room, since we arrived long before check-in time (midday according to the website, and 1pm from the in-room guide), and our experience of the helpful and friendly staff started there, really - they spoke excellent English, and took good care of us during our stay.

The family room was simple (with more 'character' than, say, a homogenous Travelodge or Premier Inn room, and a little more spacious, and was ahead only a little in faciliies) but it had what we needed - plenty of mains sockets, a TV (flat screen, but had analogue channels, and no dedicated radio), an en-suite toilet and shower room, and two double-beds, which were made up with four duvets and pillows.

This meant that our two children had to share (we used rolled-up throws as a barrier between them!) which could be a matter of concern.

Since it was summer, to keep the room cool at night, we left one of the windows open - because the hotel is located in the town centre, however, this led to some disturbed nights' sleeps, since merry-makers were quite vocal in their singing and shouting on the way home from pubs and clubs!

The breakfast buffet was available between 7.30am (6.30am on weekdays, I think!) and 11am, and once we were finally out of bed, showered and dressed it tended to be about 9.15am, at which time there was a fair amount of food left, although on a couple of mornings there had obviously been earlier risers who had made the most of the foodstuffs on offer (several varieties of cereal, youghurt and dried/fruit purées, cold meats and cheese, bacon, sausages and eggs - boiled and scrambled & seasoned, bread rolls and croissants - and a particularly ineffectual toaster!) so we had far less to choose from.

Coffee came from a Tchibo machine that ground and poured fresh coffee, espresso, hot chocolate and hot water for tea.

We didn't make use of room service, but I believe - from my poor translation of the hotel guide that was left in each room - it was possible to have breakfast served in the room at an extra few Euros' cost. We didn't go to the bar or have any other meals at the hotel, either.

The rooms were cleaned every day, with good attention to detail - the squeezy soap dispenser ran out, but had been replaced when we returned from a day out. The cleaning staffer were also friendly and accommodating.

Checking out was easy - once again, we could leave our cases in a back room, so we could return to collect them before getting the bus to the airport. One thing to note, though, is that there is an additional Dortmund "City Tax" of a 5% of the room price, which we had to pay when we were leaving. I guess it would have been nice if this had been mentioned up-front (we could easily have run out of money!) but that was the only surprise in an otherwise very satisfactory stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families staying around Dortmund - since it was my family's first trip abroad, the hotel experience was definitely one thing less to worry about!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacophonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.4 km away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
0.7 km away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
0.2 km away
Novum Hotel Excelsior
Novum Hotel Excelsior
#23 of 55 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#13 of 55 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 55 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 km away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Dortmund

Property: City Hotel Dortmund
Address: Grafenhof 6, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,685 - ₹ 9,053
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Dortmund 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your City Hotel Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing