We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
0
4
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
4
9
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2016

This is a basic clean hotel but if you are going to a match at Borrussia Dortmund it's a good place to stay.Come out hotel turn right walk under the bypass and you are there a brisk 5 minute walk for the money couldn't fault it.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Peter Barcham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We stayed here for one night to watch Dortmund vs. Arsenal. The price of the room was what you would normally pay for a 4 star hotel but I suppose this is the only time this hotel is guaranteed any bookings and can ask whatever they like. The room was dingy and very dated. The bathroom was old and a bit unsanitary. The only positive is that it is in close walking distance to the stadium.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larkspur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

You will be staying at this hotel only because of its close proximity to the football stadium or to the Messe (Trade Centre). The fact that it is only 400 metres walk to the stadium or Messe was great.

Yes, it is basic and in need of updating and upgrading but as I said you will stay here for convenience. The staff were friendly and helpful despite not being very good with English. You eventually get what you require and always with a smile and politely.

When I first arrived I thought it was a great mistake choosing this hotel but I will probably go back there next year for the annual fair. The convenience is more important to me than the very basic amenities.

The breakfast is acceptable. Final word - you will see all the positive comments are about the location. or else it would have been difficult to maintain its price range.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

If you are looking for a basic local hotel to stay in for a visit to the Dortmund football stadium or Westfalenpark, then book here and you will be happy.
Easy to find off the main B1 route into and out of Dortmund city towards Essen and Bochum.
The hotel is sited on the corner of a quiet residential area on a road in to the city centre.
Plenty of bars and cafes nearby for pre-match drinks and food.
Literally 10 minutes walk to the Westfalenstadion for the football and local metro.
Really nice welcome at reception. If you travel by car, ask to book one of the 3 garages at the rear.
Otherwise it's pot luck for a space outside on the road or nearby grass verges.
Hotel is basic and clean. I had room 317, which had a separate bedroom and TV area.
Bathroom and shower was clean with towels and soaps etc provided. Good powerful shower.
No real view from the hotel so suggest you ask for a room at the rear rather than the road out front.
My room at the rear was quiet so i had a good sleep and heard no banging doors.
Beds are great too.
Breakfast is fine, but not full english - just eggs. Therefore, might be worth going to a local cafe for a better start to the day.
Really pleased with visit, nice staff - would recommend.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the rear and nearby garages for a quiet night sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RUSS1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Gildenhof is a reasonable place to stay. It is fairly close to the football stadium and a 5 minute walk from the U-Bahn station that takes you to the city centre,

Rooms are fairly basic but do have a small minibar selling beer and water. Soap is provided, but no other toiletries. Everything was very clean and in good working order, although the style of decoration is quite outdated. No air conditioning, but there is an effective radiator. The beds are quite basic and nothing feels especially comfortable.

Breakfast was fairly good, with bacon, eggs and a wide choice of continental options.

In a country where English is widely spoken, it is quite poor that the receptionist cannot speak enough words to facilitate a checkout or even translate a room number.

This hotel is clean, feels safe and is fine for a short stay, but if visiting again I would look for somewhere more comfortable and modern nearer to the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bard_Lucy_Hume_XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews