We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Value, but not outstanding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Star am Dom
Ranked #221 of 277 Hotels in Cologne
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Value, but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed here with my family during half-term whilst I was working in Cologne. We had a 4-bed room which was adequate, and very good value, with comfortable beds, but that's all really. Bar and breakfast rooms nicely appointed but rooms themselves are very basic. Would recommend if you are on a budget, but I suspect there are better hotels for not much more in Cologne.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    58
    47
    39
    34
See reviews for
43
35
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zaventem
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Nicer looking inside than outside. Cosy, small bar. The breakfast area was too small for the amount of guests. Rooms very clean and staff helpfull and friendly. Perfect location for a city trip. Close to Dom and shoppingstreets.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back if you want to sleep with an open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anaZaventem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great hotel for the money!rooms were reasonably big,quiet ad comfortable!staff were friendly,especially to a group of 11 men on a stag do!would recommend to anyone wanting to visit cologne for very little money

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRichards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed on a very hot summer night so the windows had to be open. The hotel was on a very busy noisy road and was close to a railway line which meant we were treated to the sound of loud klaxons through the night. The hotel itself was very basic. Staff were friendly but I'd say 'Go somewhere else.'

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Motty001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

I booked the hotel based on what looked like a good location on the map and a good price online. The hotel is located on a very busy road, but I found the hotel was well insulated from the noise outside. The area is not very nice - I thought the roads in the vicinity had some pretty dodgy characters hanging around.
The staff were excellent - very helpful and pleasant. They gave me a map and pointed out the sites.
My room was located under the stairs on the ground floor - this had a main room with 2 single beds and another room with a single bed in (there was only me, so it wasn't useful). The room was quite cold and the bed covers were very thin and basic. It was very noisy and I could hear people walking upstairs all through the night. The furnishing of the room was not very nice, and looked very cheap and flimsy. The bathroom was small and was not cleaned very well.
There was free wifi, and it was quick and easy to log onto. The breakfast was good - nice ham, cheese, bread, cereal and fruit.
Overall I thought the place was very poor value for money, and I would not return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BreakfastButty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#89 of 277 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#45 of 277 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Central Hotel am Dom
#214 of 277 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Drei Koenige
Hotel Drei Koenige
#196 of 277 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#152 of 277 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#139 of 277 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star am Dom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star am Dom

Property: Star am Dom
Address: Ursulastr. 4-8 | or Marzellen Strasse 58-60, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 277 Hotels in Cologne
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,065 - ₹ 12,266
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star am Dom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Im Herzen von Köln finden Sie unser exklusives 3 Sterne Hotel Superior Star am Dom, das nur wenige Schritte vom Hauptbahnhof entfernt ist. Entdecken Sie die beachtliche Vielfalt unserer Zimmer.Das Star am Dom gehört zu den modernsten Kölner Hotels seiner Kategorie. Es verfügt über 40 geräumige Zimmer mit Domblick in über 20 Zimmern.Mit seinem eleganten Interieur (Designer Möbel kombiniert mit warmen Farben und internationalem Style) und der modernen komfortablen Ausstattung (Bäder mit Fußbodenheizung / 32 Zoll LCD / safe). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Star am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Am Dom Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing