We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
261
363
96
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
363
96
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station ice machine frosted glass nice hotel minute walk free wifi walking distance stayed one night main station comfy bed centrally located hotel public areas old town nice room early check reception staff city tax
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

This is not a new type hotel in USA
But in Germany it new idea no fills basic hotel no concierge no room service
But we found it a nice place to stay!! the front desk was extremely helpful and nice special-thanks to mr robin who was always friendly and upbeat and helpful!!rooms are large to most European hotel standard they had coffee and tea instant (hard to fine in black box under coffee pot ) in room !!!! Nice towel room clean small size but shampoo and conditioner and body gel ( no body cream Why ) they have a small store to buy snacks on Premises( over price)
Rewe and many more grocery stores within a 5 min walk !!
Also breakfast was very over price for the choices and quantity 18 euro per person
The staff was very nice and did make me oatmeal when I ask at no additional cost
We had lite dinner 2 x it was ok nothing special but good to have when you return from touring all day
Walking to old town a good 20 min
Lots of restaurant and coffee cafe within a 10 of hotel
Hopefully Europe would embrace this type of hotel !!!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank harriet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel, ultra modern, spotlessly clean and not a thing out of place. The rooms are comfortable with all modern amenities one would expect, powerful shower, comfortable bed etc. The staff are efficient and friendly. The breakfasts are highly recommended. The only negative was the fact that the wi-fi was not free which is something one would expect nowadays.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MiloRubix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Nice little bar area at reception. Good check in. A Very good breakfast quality. Rooms ultra modern, sharp and clean. 15 mins walk to the Alstad so good location, and short walk from the train station.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank FranCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We stayed here for the weekend and whilst it is a nice hotel the cost of the extras such as parking ( in their own car park) was quite ridiculous . I thought it might be free considering the room rate was not budget by ny means. The bar prices were also quite high and 3 euros for a small bottle of water is just taking advantage.

Room Tip: Didnt relly spend time in the room except to sleep
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bolligboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Booked my stay as a Marriott Platinum member, and was somewhat disappointed. The location is super central and convenient, but there's no free breakfast or exec lounge for Platinum members. Also no room upgrades because management told me "all the rooms are the same." I was checked in by a trainee whose English wasn't great (did not know what the word "fee" meant) but this hotel clearly serves international customers, so one expects better. There's many other hotel options in Cologne, so I'd personally not stay here again but if you're looking for something basic/no frills, this is fine.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, no view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagementCGNCY, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Cologne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Lisa W.

Thank you for your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel Cologne and your recent review on trip advisor after your stay.
We appreciate your loyalty towards Marriott as a Platinum Member and apologize that your property did not met your expectations.
Indeed we are a limited service Courtyard not offering an Executive Lounge nor we do have any physical upgrades available.
We still hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Courtyard or our Full Service Marriott Hotel in Cologne for future stays.
Best regards

The Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews