We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Ranked #15 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good place for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed there for carnival and although fully booked they managed very well.

Rooms: extremely clean, beds are good, bathroom is modern. The rooms are nice, I guess renovated about 8 years ago but still in good shape. However first time I have seen for a while a hotelroom not equiped with a plasma screen, but thats just a detail :-)

Breakfast: Outstanding breakfast with huge choice, fresh orange juice, eggs,...Especially the choice of bread is impressive.

Fitness/Pool: You can use the fitness center next door, connected by elevator. Price is 15,20 per 24h! Well, pretty expensive but you get value for money.

Conclusion: It is called a 5* property but I would rate it 4*+ compared to Hotel Ernst or Domhotel. You will have an excellent stay, located in the city center and if you are lucky you find it even around 100€ for 2 breakfast included.

Good to know:

Rooms: request a courtyard room, noise of the street can be heavy

Parking: use the Kaufhof Parking P2, much cheaper than the hotel and only 200m away. 15€ per night.

Fitness: If you decide to go a second time to the gym within 24h you do not have to pay again the 15€ according to reception.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j75fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    293
    92
    30
    25
See reviews for
95
256
49
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Dorint Hotel is 200 mt far from Heumarkt square, it's really good one; rooms are large and clean; some of them are looking directly Koln Cathedral.(more expensive).
There are also a gourmet resturant (Maulbeers), fitness &SPA ( Holmes place) and indoor pool, all those facilities of 5 star hotel.

Breakfast is high level, you can have almost evrything you like to eat.
You can also go to Harry's New York-Bar for listening live music..

Well located near to Heumarkt, subway station (200 mt), from which you can go to Central railway station or to go to Koelnmessein in 10 minutes.
I'll suggest to stay at Dorint also because price perfromance ratio is outstanding (€75 1 nigth B&B) is not bad at all, isen't it?
I'll be back my next trip to Koln area for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roccoandhisbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed here with two friends at the begining of December for the xmas markets. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready yet but they let us into our room anyway and put the 3rd bed in when we went out. They gave us a map and directions to the best markets and allowed me to try out my (bad!) German. They had forgotten to give us a 3rd set of towels but these were in the room along with a dressing gown and slippers but the time we got back from dinner. The room was spotless, spacious and comfortable -the third bed fitted in easily and didn't make us at all cramped. The hotel was very close to everything (closer than we had expected when we booked). Any time we wanted a cab it arrived within minutes and all of the staff were very helpful. The price might be a bit (and only a bit) more than some people want to pay, but the facilities and service we recieved were above our expectations. Still a fair price though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hotel located in the heart of the city, 10 minutes on foot to Cologne Cathedral. The hotel is quiet, despite the construction work in front of the hotel. Staff was very helpful, fluent in English. Large room is equipped with everything necessary. Very delicious breakfast, one of the best in Europe! Every morning fresh fruit juices! More than 20 kinds of baking!
The main drawback of the hotel - high cost of room and breakfast, in my opinion (breakfast 29 Euro per person)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta_Novakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We loved this hotel. Its very modern and centrally located. The room was beautiful and restaurant / bar are all tastefully decoreate. I overheard the staff speaking very good English and they were always helpful and polite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln

Property: Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln
Address: Pipinstr. 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,921 - ₹ 36,390
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Heumarkt Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cologne Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing