We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cologne
Ranked #3 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed just for one night but couldn’t be more impress ! From the very beginning service was perfect, staff super friendly but at this same time very professional. Because I only planned to stay in Cologne for one evening (was travelling through Europe) I booked standard room, when usually I go for suite, so my expectations were not too high. The room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. In bathroom all necessities from sleepers to cotton wool pads, even my baby boy got his own selection of baby cosmetics. Also would like to mention –useful info for parents travelling with babies – that this was the only 5* hotel I stayed who provided not only proper wood made cot (not travel coats like most hotels) but also changing station with bath. I was very impressed. Then came the breakfast! Great choice of high quality food and friendly staff that could not do enough to please them guests. I also had lunch in the hotel restaurant and that was the best homemade ravioli I ever had !!! and I just came back from Italy. I travel a lot and from my experience I can say that this place is as good as Palazzo in LV or Sofitel in Agadir or Waldorf Astoria in NY and so on….
I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. I hope that all Hyatt hotels are as good, because I will definitely book the brand from now on.
Also is worth to mention that the hotel is located opposite Catedral and old city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Cologne, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly words concerning your stay at Hyatt Regency Cologne on Tripadvisor. It will be my pleasure to share your kind remarks with our department heads and the entire Hyatt Regency Cologne team.

In order to make family stays as comfortable as possible, we have created our VIB (Very Important Baby) programme and I am happy to know that it appeals to you.

We really look forward to welcoming you and your loved ones back to Hyatt Regency Cologne on a regular basis.

Kind regards,

Robin Saunders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    641
    160
    46
    24
See reviews for
351
831
126
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Overlooking the Dom from the opposite side of the river but only a 5 minute walk into town the Hyatt offers luxury rooms and anticipative service that manages not to be obsequious.
The apartment I had was excellent, spacious, scrupulously clean and well provisioned. It was also tastefully furnished and offered excellent views of the Rhine and the Dom. Access to the Regency Club was also appreciated. They offer a selection of snacks and drinks throughout the day, ranging from a nice continental breakfast, to biscuits/coffee/soda and hors d'oeuvres along with acoholic beverages in the evening (beer/wine- no liquor). There is also an excellent pool and spa as well as a small gym area which, in the only criticism I can think of regarding this hotel, might be a little bigger. However as you can go safely jogging around the hotel, on the banks of the Rhine, I don't think this is a deal breaker.
What really made the stay special though was the staff and their attention to detail.
From a friendly welcome at the door, efficient desk staff, a barman who can make cocktails that David A Embury himself would hapilly quaff and a great team in the Regency Club (extra kudos to Jamie who made us feel really welcome).
This hotel is a masterclass in how to do it right. If I was CEO of some other chains I could mention I'd be sending some undercover operatives to work out how to clone this place. Unsurpassed.

Room Tip: Go for a regency club room, the extra service, amenities and view are 100% worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamCHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is in a league of its own. We arrived by car with a box on the roof and couldnt get into the garagedue to height. No worries, they took the car and parked it at their loading dock, and upon leaving we were not even charged for it.
Rstaurant is really good with excellent view of Koelner Dom and the river. Staff is incredibly helpful and sort out all issues without any problem.
Not the last visit to that hotel!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank esbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Within easy access across the river to the main attractions and near the conference centre, this hotel provides a classic example of how a high quality hotel should operate. Even allowing for the premium service on the Club Floor, the employees are universally smart, friendly and genuinely helpful. If you try your rudimentary German, they smile and reply in fluent English. The rooms are spacious,well furnished, and the food is consistently very good.
The Puls leisure facility is one of the best, and, unlike the sterile unmanned clubs in some of the Hyatt's USA properties, this is staffed, and has ample lockers, showers and towels. If you are there out of conference season, the swimming pool is not too busy, and has just the right temperature to be inviting - no matter what the weather is like outside.
The true test of a quality hotel is how they Management deal with problems. On my recent visit (the fifth), this time using Gold Passport points, the room thermostat did not satisfactorily cool the room despite attempts to repair it. I have subsequently had a call and email apologising and an explanation of steps being taken to improve the situation: the management concurred with my suggestion that half the points I used be refunded. The hotel has also adopted a recommendation that on the Club floor, to keep standing cold meats and milk cool over a two to three hour period, ice mats should be consistently used.
If it were not for these issues, this would be a five star assessment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quodnumquamscis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in the executive suite so our experience may not be typical but the Regency club rooms on floors two and six offered similar views and facilities. The staff were very helpful, hotel facilities were good including the spa/gym/pool area and location was a walk across the "luurve" bridge into town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank userid_unavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Savoy Hotel
#21 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Cologne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Cologne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cologne

Property: Hyatt Regency Cologne
Address: Kennedy-Ufer 2A, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#1 Business Hotel in Cologne
#2 Family Hotel in Cologne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,173 - ₹ 43,085
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Cologne is a luxury hotel in Deutz near Cologne trade fair. The 306 luxurious guestrooms and suites of our 5 star superior hotel located directly at the River Rhine offer a beautiful view of the city centre with its famous Cathedral and the Old Town. Additionally, Hyatt Regency Cologne features the Glashaus restaurant offering regional and international cuisine as well as the Legends bar and our popular Hyatt Beer Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hyatt Cologne
Cologne Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing