We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in a Great City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Ranked #35 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in a Great City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I spent a week in Cologne during a trade show and had a great experience during my stay at the Mercure. The rooms were comfortable for a European hotel; there a some rooms with balconies (ask for those). The rooms on the street side could get a little loud weekend nights as Friesenstrasse is full of great bars and restaurants and a hotbed for nightlife. Since it was the summer I left my windows open and could hear the hum of music and revelry which didn’t prevent me from sleeping at all. The breakfast buffet is well stocked and well worth the price. There are a ton of options for food nearby so I didn’t eat dinner at the hotel. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the Dom Cathedral/Centre City. There didn’t seem to be any air conditioning so leaving the windows open during the day/evening was a must during hot days.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on the street for a better view of the Dom from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJEM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    379
    140
    31
    12
See reviews for
48
292
74
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Somehow I had managed to book myself into a "superior" room, I'm not sure how. I was amused to be told I was to get a free bottle of water! However once in the room I found a coffee maker and there was also free wi-fi, which is important to me. It's not the hotels fault that there was what sounded like a rock concert took place nearby on my first night. This is all part of the fun in a city centre hotel. I have stayed in this hotel several times before and just wish that wi-fi access was standard, not an expensive extra or only "free" as part of the superior room package.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very good room, good staff service,very good breakfast selection and evening meals.
Quiet location, would revisit

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjansengc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eschborn, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is just as every Mercure, nothing fancy but nothing much to complain about as well. Everything is clean and the service is to standard. I really liked the breakfast buffet but the best thing about it is the location. Very close to many bars and shops and also public transport.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeokiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Friesenstrasse from 23-30 June. Had a room at the back which was very quiet which was a good thing as Germany had not then been knocked out of the Euros and the bars in the front were packed with supporters - not doubt things changed the week after.

Room was clean and up together - slightly on the small side but what you expect for a city centre hotel. As other reviews have stated the bathroom was small (but big enough for what you normally do in a bathroom!) all the facilties worked well and were clean and overall fully satisfactory.

Breakfast was a bit pricey but had an excellent choice of food to start the day. The breakfast staff were particularly helpful in accommodating some of the more eccentric English requests, to europeans, such as cows milk to have with tea!

Parking was available which was a bonus in a city centre.

Location good - about 10 minutes walk to the centre - all in all would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Back rooms will be quieter as the street at the front has numerous bars. Try to avoid football tourn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_CT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#7 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
#25 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#47 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
NH Koln Altstadt
NH Koln Altstadt
#14 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Property: Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Address: Friesenstr. 44-48, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#48 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,351 - ₹ 11,720
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Cologne from up close: The 4-star Mercure Hotel Köln City Friesenstrasse is located in the heart of the Rhineland city. All 103 rooms have free WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel is ideal for your meetings with up to 200 people. The four flexible conference rooms are air-conditioned, with WIFI and the latest technology. The hotel is also in an easy-to-reach location. The main train station is 0.6 miles (1 km) away and the airport 11.2 miles (18 km) away. You can park your car in our garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Accor Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing