We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 479
US$ 456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NH Collection Koln Mediapark(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$ 347
US$ 319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 363
US$ 347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 210
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$ 360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Wyndham Koeln(Cologne)
US$ 273
US$ 261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 202
US$ 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Koln-Mulheim(Cologne)(Great Value!)
US$ 197
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 399
US$ 359
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
23
40
32
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
40
32
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Our nearby hotel did not have restaurant facilities so we tried this and were extremely disappointed. I had the lasgne which was little more than a large pile of spinach with a few noodles. No cheese, tomato sauce or flavour! My husband had "ceasar salad" (so called) which had little dressing, and was nothing but chopped iceberg lettuce. Do not bother to patronize this restaurant.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank raetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes A, Inhaber at The New Yorker | HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Raetrip,
thank you for your critical comment.
To avoid misunderstandings - we do not have a restaurant. We just have a bar with a little selection of bar-food, which is obviously not to be compared to a restaurant menu.
However, we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your meals and we will pass on your critic to our kitchen.
We would be happy to welcome you again at The New Yorker | HOTEL.
Kind regards,
Irina Luxem
Online Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Great little boutique hotel, about 30 mins from Cologne airport.

Stayed here as part of an event that was taking place at the adjacent conference centre - no more than a 5-10 min walk away.

Hotel was clean, staff very friendly. I had breakfast & dinner here too - both good.

The docks are nearby if you want to go for a run, so nice easy 5k nearby.

Rooms were a good size and clean.

Would stay again, thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ndwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes A, Inhaber at The New Yorker | HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear ndwalsh,

thank you very much for your ranking and positive feedback.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
We hope, to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards,
Irina Luxen
Online Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We stayed at The New Yorker for two nights. The room was pretty small but it was clean and well looked after. The shower needs some work done and when we started it there was a very bad smell. Be aware that there is no aircon. Furthermore there is a noise issue. Our room was facing a side street and street noise was OK. But the guy snoring happily in the next room was hard to overhear.
We had a chat with several people of the hotel staff on different occasions and they were very nice. They seemed authentic, helpful and professional.
Now I need to explain my mixed feelings ... We experienced a few awkward situations. We noticed a menue for a few food items at the reception desk. When we ask for it we were warned by a staff member, that these are convenience products. Fair enough! The other day we overheard people asking for food and they were told, that there is no food as no chef was available.
When we checked out we apologized for being late (12.30pm) and one of a staff member said: lucky you, soon we would have charged you. That felt really strange. What I am trying to explain is that the staff could be really outstanding if the would not create those little awkward moments.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Swiss1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes A, Inhaber at The New Yorker | HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you for your critical comment.
Due to the fact, that the hotel is located in an old building, we assume, that the unpleasant smell was caused by the slightly old pipes.
Specialists are already working on the problem and will surely find a solution.
If anything like this should happen again - please do not hesitate to contact our reception.
We apologize for any inconvenience and impolite statements made by our staff.
We do have a few convenience products of high quality like tarte flambée, but we also serve fresh homemade salads, soups, pasta and other dishes.
We would be happy to welcome you to our hotel again.
With kind regards,
Irina Luxem
Online Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

This hotel is not in the best part of Cologne but it makes up for that in every other aspect. It is the definition of bijou, with small but well-designed rooms and a lovely common area. The restaurant is primarily for breakfast but has a limited menu throughout the day and night which is great for a tired business traveller. Many low cost hotels don't provide food at all after breakfast.

It is walking distance to the Messe (20 minutes) and a longer walk (45 mins) through the lovely Rheinpark to the Cathedral, the museums and the shopping district. If you're not up for the walk it's about 10 minutes by taxi to the centre and about 5 to the Messe.

It's meticulously clean and all the members of staff are a delight.

We travel to Cologne regularly on a modest budget and this is the best place we have found for our needs, we are very fond of it.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trepidexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes A, Inhaber at The New Yorker | HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for your positive feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards,
Irina Luxem
Online Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

I came here on business trip for 5 nights.

The hotel is nice.
I had a comfortable 38m2 room pretty well decorated (even if the bathroom looked a little aged especially the shower). It has a big dressing (but no iron for my shirts).

For breakfast you'll find all you need to well start your day (both sweet and salty)
For diner, let say that you don't have much choice but all seems to be good (soup / burger / pizza). As an alternative you can find a really good sea food restaurant close by.

About the employees, all are really friendly. They try to help you as much as they can.
I'll keep a good memory of Tanita (a newly employed receptionist) who's doing a really good job and who's charming. She helped me out finding a shoe shop address on Internet as I forgot mine at home.

I just regret few things:
- it's really close to an industrial building so the neighborhood is not pretty and in the morning you can eventually hear some noise, but don't worry, it wasn't bad enough to wake me up.
- you have stairs everywhere, to enter the hotel, to get access to the elevator, to your room, to the restaurant...

Anyway, if those are not an issue for you, you should have a good stay.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Gargalhada S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannes A, Inhaber at The New Yorker | HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Dear Gargalhada S,

thank you for your detailed comment.
I will pass your compliments to my colleagues.
We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t like the atmosphere of the industrial surrounding, because this is part of our unique feature.
We hope to welcome you again to our hotel.
With kind regards,
Irina Luxem
Online Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews