We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
28
64
54
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
64
54
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi the river mins walk away city centre stayed here for nights no air conditioning yogurt vodafone station
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is not too far from the motorway, Koln city centre and the airport. We would normally look for a hotel with a good bar and restaurant, within walking distance of the city centre - but this hotel ticks none of these boxes and the photographs don't do it many favours either.

Thankfully we booked anyway, based on the quality of other Mercure hotels - and what a great decision that was. We were just here for one night and planned to drive into the city centre to have a wander round. This hotel is 2 minutes walk from the Rhine and we decided to go for a walk along the river which turned into an extended and lovely stroll - a pleasant alternative to investigating another city centre.

Unless you stay in a very good hotel many restaurants and bars don't do the best food and lack atmosphere. Fortunately there are a few good bars and restaurants very close to the Mercure and the the Argentinian steak restaurant we went to was fantastic. Great beer, great wine and the steaks are to die for (and reasonably priced). I would recommend this hotel just for a visit to this restaurant.

The hotel has a secure car park at a very reasonable rate. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are large, modern and very clean. It's easy to find and fantastic value.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thanks for a great stay.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

I stayed here with two colleagues whilst on business in nearby Cologne-Deutz - we chose this hotel because of its proximity to the city with easy access on the S-Bahn. At check-in, we were informed about a rail strike planned to start the next day and that pro-active help enabled us to secure a taxi booking to get us to our meetings with a minimum of delay. The hotel was clean and functional with free wifi in the rooms and despite being an "airport hotel" was sufficiently far away from the airport so as to not notice aircraft noise. The hotel has a bistro and bar in the evenings but I would strongly recommend the nearby Himmel un AD restaurant 5 minutes walk along Hauptstr. at number 293. The breakfast the following morning contained a good spread of hot and cold choices although the scrambled egg had seen better days.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WilfordTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

The hotel is about 4-5 miles from the airport. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is very helpful, children (1) stay free with adults, including free breakfast. There is a nice little shopping area just across the road with a good Turkish fast food outlet. Hotel has a parking for 9 €. Breakfast is very good. For us, the location was perfect since we had to return our enter car at the airport before a flight out Germany.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NadeemKureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

The hotel is very nice and clean, with free wifi in the rooms. It has it's own parking.
The breakfast was really nice.
There is a shopping area nearby with night shops also.
You can take the S7 tram to go to center town .
On Sunday morning you may hear the bells of the church in front of the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adellyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015 via mobile

Only a few hours before flying back home. Comfortable, clean, enough space, complete service, fair price, taxi in 3 minutes and another 5 minutes to the airport. I recommend it for business trips. I didn't try the restaurant and I didn't need the garage, but everything is available and promising. Next time.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Aldo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews