We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, on the banks of the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Mariella Airport
Ranked #144 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 31 May 2015

This modern clean hotel is 10 minutes drive from the airport and on the blanks of the river, with some great walks and restaurants close by, the staff were very helpful and the rooms large, quite and clean.
Only down side was the 9 euro for parking, although there is street parking close by by

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen-surreyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is not too far from the motorway, Koln city centre and the airport. We would normally look for a hotel with a good bar and restaurant, within walking distance of the city centre - but this hotel ticks none of these boxes and the photographs don't do it many favours either.

Thankfully we booked anyway, based on the quality of other Mercure hotels - and what a great decision that was. We were just here for one night and planned to drive into the city centre to have a wander round. This hotel is 2 minutes walk from the Rhine and we decided to go for a walk along the river which turned into an extended and lovely stroll - a pleasant alternative to investigating another city centre.

Unless you stay in a very good hotel many restaurants and bars don't do the best food and lack atmosphere. Fortunately there are a few good bars and restaurants very close to the Mercure and the the Argentinian steak restaurant we went to was fantastic. Great beer, great wine and the steaks are to die for (and reasonably priced). I would recommend this hotel just for a visit to this restaurant.

The hotel has a secure car park at a very reasonable rate. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are large, modern and very clean. It's easy to find and fantastic value.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

I stayed here with two colleagues whilst on business in nearby Cologne-Deutz - we chose this hotel because of its proximity to the city with easy access on the S-Bahn. At check-in, we were informed about a rail strike planned to start the next day and that pro-active help enabled us to secure a taxi booking to get us to our meetings with a minimum of delay. The hotel was clean and functional with free wifi in the rooms and despite being an "airport hotel" was sufficiently far away from the airport so as to not notice aircraft noise. The hotel has a bistro and bar in the evenings but I would strongly recommend the nearby Himmel un AD restaurant 5 minutes walk along Hauptstr. at number 293. The breakfast the following morning contained a good spread of hot and cold choices although the scrambled egg had seen better days.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WilfordTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

The hotel is about 4-5 miles from the airport. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is very helpful, children (1) stay free with adults, including free breakfast. There is a nice little shopping area just across the road with a good Turkish fast food outlet. Hotel has a parking for 9 €. Breakfast is very good. For us, the location was perfect since we had to return our enter car at the airport before a flight out Germany.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NadeemKureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

The hotel is very nice and clean, with free wifi in the rooms. It has it's own parking.
The breakfast was really nice.
There is a shopping area nearby with night shops also.
You can take the S7 tram to go to center town .
On Sunday morning you may hear the bells of the church in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adellyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hotel Terminal
#217 of 262 in Cologne
63 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#70 of 262 in Cologne
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Mariella Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Mariella Airport

Address: Hauptstr. 369, 51143 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Koeln Airport)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: ₹ 3,389 - ₹ 16,251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Mariella Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Mariella Airport is in close proximity to public transport and the airport Cologne-Bonn. All our rooms are equipped with practical amenities. Free wireless Internet access Modern comforts. The central location of the Novum Hotels are the ideal starting point for activities of any kind. With an extensive breakfast buffet to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Mariella Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing